We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff, very nice hotel, PET OWNERS please read!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Westgate Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I booked this hotel b/c it was close to Wilmington and Southport, both of which I planned to visit...I booked the hotel through the 800 reservation line..I do not recommend that you call that number, book through the hotel so you can get all the facts. I must say the hotel was very clean, the king sized bed was very comfy, everything worked, very big, nice shower...The staff was very friendly. I would recommend this only to people with no pets...

PET OWNERS:
When I booked I was advised that there was an 80lb weight limit per dog, that you didn't have to keep your animals crated, and that it was $20 a day TOTAL pet fee...As I was checking in, they made me sign a pet form..The form stated that dogs must be under 40 lbs. (mine was not) That you can't leave your animals unattended. If you leave they must go with you. And that they must be crated when housekeeping comes in. (I don't use housekeeping when I take my pets). Also, the pets can't be on furniture or beds. I specifically asked those questions when I booked the room and was told they could be left and they could sleep in the bed....Anyway, after reading the "pet rules", I told the front desk that I would just find somewhere else to stay..There response was ok, but we have to charge you a night's stay...Really??? I booked a room through your corporate and everything they said was a lie, and I'm still going to have to pay??? Ridiculous. So, if you are taking a pet with you..make sure that you are planning to take it everywhere with you...The staff was very nice and agree that I could leave them, but if they barked they would have to call me to come back...So, needless to say, it ruined my trip...Not to mention when I checked out they charged me $20 per pet, per day..Fortunatly, the manager was nice enough to only charge me $20 a day...Only positive about pets, they have one of the best pet walking areas I've seen, just to bad your pets have to be under 40lbs and kept with you at all time..

So, with all the being said...The breakfast in the morning was great, the rooms were great, the service was great, the location was great, everything about it was great...except pet policy..So, if you are traveling without pets I would def. recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Choose a king size bed, plenty of room and very comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (953)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

742 - 748 of 953 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

First-class room, large, spotlessly clean, and quiet, real quality cotton sheets, several pillows and a bolster, upscale furniture. iron and ironing board, hairdryer, fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, 36" LCD, WiFi, large shower, great AC and hot water.

Great front-desk service, nice free breakfast with waffle station and fresh eggs, very good coffee. Place looks good when you pull up, too. 20 mins to Wrightsville Beach, 20 mins to Oak Island, 90 mins to Myrtle.

Best of all: DOG-FRIENDLY. My dog travelled with us, and everyone loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fast E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zgooden, General Manager at Best Western Plus Westgate Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for your feedback about our property. It is greatly appreciated and will allow other travelers to see your thoughts about your stay and our amenities. Please remember us on your next vacation or business trip to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The problem started when we arrived at the hotel, When I was checking in I was asked to sign a form that said that I would not pull the sprinkler and that if I did I would be subject to a fine. Apparently there have been some prank phone calls where people were calling hotels and telling them that they had to engage the fire alarm system or the sprinklers. I've been traveling now for more than 25 years and had never heard of that, however I suppose anything is possible so I was more than willing to sign the form. The person checking me in took my credit card, swiped it on the computer, looked at the back of the card, and then handed the card back to me. There was a slight pause, he asked me for ID, I showed him my drivers license, and then for some reason he insisted that he make a scan of it. As no one has ever made a scan of my drivers license in the United States, I asked him why this was, and he proceeded to tell me that in case there were any security issues in the hotel that they would know was staying there. The interesting part is that my wife was staying with me and they didn't ask her for her ID, so apparently they were only interested in making sure that I was safe and not my wife which I found both troubling, puzzling, and offensive. Given that it was late at night, the room was already paid for, and I really didn't feel like pursuing it further with the associate, I accepted it with the idea that I would send something later on. It really didn't sit well with me. My wife and I went up to the room went to bed and proceeded to try to sleep with lumpy pillows and a refrigerator ticking all night long. We got up the next morning, I went downstairs for some breakfast, got some very cold eggs and some very chewy bacon, packed up and left the hotel. Needless to say was completely unimpressed with this place and I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I have stayed there several times now. It is nicer than other hotel options in the Wilmington region and this Best Western is well kept and has pleasant employees that are helpful and friendly. The amenities are great for the price. Pool, Jacuzzi, breakfast included, clean rooms and well kept hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zgooden, General Manager at Best Western Plus Westgate Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

All the other hotels in the area with about the same service wanted $15 to $35 more. I was there only one night to visit with family that lived near by. The room was vey clean and the decor was nice. The king size bed was plush and very clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzieQDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The staff is extremely helpful especially since we had multiple rooms. They were able to get us checked in quickly. The rooms are large and the beds were comfortable. The location is near restaurants making it easy to find a good place to eat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Dona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zgooden, General Manager at Best Western Plus Westgate Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

We are pleased you enjoyed your visit Nicole. Please remember us for any hotel needs you or your friends may need in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Best Western has excellent customer service. The staff was very courteous and friendly. They were very professional. Moreover, the room and the facilities were very clean. I would definitely return to this hotel, and I highly recommend it to others. I plan to return to this area soon and I will request this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Felicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leland
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
11.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
12.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
11.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Westgate Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Westgate Inn & Suites

Address: 1120 Town Lake Dr, Leland, NC 28451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Leland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leland
Price Range: $96 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Westgate Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Westgate Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Westgate Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Westgate Hotel Leland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing