We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed 3 nights here. Room was very nice. They came in everyday and cleaned up. Breakfast was amazing. That was not your ordinary continental breakfast. Everyday they had something differant. Eggs, sausage, bacon, pancakes...cinnamon rolls were out of this world. Nice patio by the pool. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on the firsdt floor...easy access to car and lobby.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail22014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank you for the great review. So glad you enjoyed your stay and the great Express Breakfast. I also appreciate your comments on our rooms. Each room is considered an Executive room with a microwave/refrigerator and sleeper sofa. We also have expanded ceiling heights to give a more spacious feel. Hope you get to come back soon. Barry Eagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 328 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

My husband and I visited the HI Express-Leland with our yellow Labrador, a Guide Dog Ambassador, back in October. We enjoyed our stay - rooms are clean but a bit narrow in design, bed very comfortable, and we loved the pet-friendliness of the hotel. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was very nice, and Shirley made sure we knew where to find the delicious hot cinnamon buns and always kept the food supply flowing. Kudos to Shirley! We did, however, have an upsetting experience we could only determine might have been a scam, so dog-owners please beware. We were visiting the area to investigate a community nearby. Upon leaving our room, we were approached by a gentleman who accused our dog of biting his traveling companion. Of course our dog did not, as she is always leashed and with us and as a guide dog ambassador is impeccably behaved. In speaking with the man, we determined perhaps it was another dog down the hall and to be fair it very well may have been. But actually we think this couple might have been lurking in the hallways and preying on unsuspecting out-of-towners with larger dogs. This experience was upsetting and left a bad taste in our mouth with the hotel and the area in general, although we are willing to give it another chance in the hopes this was an isolated incident. We have traveled extensively with our dog with overwhelmingly wonderful experiences and will only stay at hotels that welcome well-behaved dogs and are thankful that this HI Express is dog-friendly. Responsible dog owners are key to maintaining this privilege we are allowed to enjoy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CtKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

I want to apologize for the unfortunate incident that occurred during your stay. I spoke to my management team and this is the first time hearing about the incident. We take great pride in our safety and security of the hotel and want to make sure all guests feel safe and secure. Being located in an upscale Golf Plantation our area rarely experiences any type of issues so to read this was very upsetting. We will have our management team reach out to you to get a better understanding of what happened and descriptions of the individuals that approached you. Although, you stayed with us in October we will do our best to investigate this incident to the best of our ability. Also, thank you for the kind comments on the overall property and Shirley who handles our breakfast. She is the best. Barry Eagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed here while looking at real estate in the Wilmington area. It is very clean, the staff is very helpful...and they had the most comfortable bed that we have slept in in a very long time! The hotel was also very well insulated, because we did not hear a thing all night even though the facility butts right up to Route 17. Every member of the staff greeted us with big smiles and made us feel welcome. Great value, okay breakfast. Good location if you are in the Wilmington area. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roseyeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Thank you so much for the kind review. Glad you enjoyed our beds and the overall amenities of the hotel. Also, thank you for noticing our employees. We are so proud of their efforts and can't thank them enough for providing the best in customer service. We hope see you again in the near future. Barry Eagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This HI Express location was very clean and the hotel agents were friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and my room was very nice. Everything worked properly, it was clean and well maintained. There is a free breakfast buffet for guests in the morning in the lobby. The selection at the HI express locations are always good. Unfortunately the eggs and bacon were lukewarm to cold. The sausage links were overcooked and chewy. I have had many good breakfasts at Holiday Inn Express locations and this one let me down. There were plenty of cold selections, so I did have the option of cereal and yogurt.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KENNETH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for taking time to write a review. I spoke to our management team today concerning breakfast. I assure you that we take the breakfast experience very serious and want to ensure we provide the freshest and highest quality food we can. Our management team will evaluate our serving procedures to ensure we are meeting and exceeding the brand standards. I appreciate you comments as it can only help us to improve our services and amenities. Also, thank you for the kind comments on the other parts of the hotel such as our staff, the cleanliness and maintenance of the property. Our General Manager will be reaching out to you. Barry Eagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This staff is the best collection of people I have had in a Wilmington area hotel! Because of that, the rooms are spotless, the pool is always clean and the breakfast is always perfect. The location makes it easy to grab a quick dinner, head to Wilmington or Southport or just drive to the beach. That said - it all comes back to the staff. FRIENDLY! THE MAIN REASON I SELECT THIS HOTEL OVER ANY OTHER IN THE WILMINGTON AREA.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JIMGLU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Jim thank you for taking time to write a review. We appreciate your kind comments on the staff and the hotel. It was good to see you visited the hotel as a Holiday Inn Express. So glad you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry the Bears didn't make the playoffs but my Carolina Panthers are rolling! Safe travels. Barry Eagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This is truly a wonderful hotel, Super clean rooms, very comfortable beds with actual pillows and convenient amenities. The staff are extremely helpful, Hannah, Jane, Jon, Melissa, Holden and Lindsey go above and beyond to accommodate guest. Miss Shirley makes sure everyone has an enjoyable breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VernThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you so much for the great review and recognizing so many of our staff members. We truly appreciate your comments on the cleanliness of the hotel and look forward to your next visit. Barry Eagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Our daughter lives in the neighborhood that is adjacent to the hotel. We decided to stay at the hotel to make our stay easier for her and her family. The room was very clean and comfortable. I also have to say that the bed was actually comfortable (not normal for a hotel). We slept very well and then enjoyed breakfast in the morning. I could not say enough about how friendly the staff was as well. We will be staying again and hope this review helps others to start a tradition of staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Thank you for the kind review. We appreciate your comments on our staff and our hotel amenities. Hope you enjoyed your time with your family and we look forward to you staying with us again. Barry Eagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leland
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Westgate Inn & Suites
9.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Medical Park
5.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area

Address: 1020 Grandiflora Dr, Leland, NC 28451-7454 (Formerly Comfort Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Leland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leland
Price Range: $110 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our all suite property is well appointed with custom designed décor and comes with amenities such as complimentary continental breakfast, wireless internet, heated indoor pool with outdoor patio, well equipped fitness room, lobby business library and pantry.We understand the need for spacious and comfortable rooms so we have gone to great lengths to give you what you desire. We have expanded the ceiling heights in all rooms creating an open feel. In addition, we have widened the king rooms and incorporated all queen size beds in our double rooms to give you the additional room and comfort you deserve.All of our suites come equipped with 37” LG flat screen televisions, wireless internet, sleeper sofa, ergonomically correct chair and work desk, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, luggage rack and much more. Exercise and Refresh your spirit anytime of the day by using our 24 hour fitness center or our indoor heated salt water pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Magnolia Greens Hotel Leland
Comfort Suites Leland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing