We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, Nice People but the breakfast needs work.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leland
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Place, Nice People but the breakfast needs work.”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This HI Express location was very clean and the hotel agents were friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and my room was very nice. Everything worked properly, it was clean and well maintained. There is a free breakfast buffet for guests in the morning in the lobby. The selection at the HI express locations are always good. Unfortunately the eggs and bacon were lukewarm to cold. The sausage links were overcooked and chewy. I have had many good breakfasts at Holiday Inn Express locations and this one let me down. There were plenty of cold selections, so I did have the option of cereal and yogurt.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KENNETH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review. I spoke to our management team today concerning breakfast. I assure you that we take the breakfast experience very serious and want to ensure we provide the freshest and highest quality food we can. Our management team will evaluate our serving procedures to ensure we are meeting and exceeding the brand standards. I appreciate you comments as it can only help us to improve our services and amenities. Also, thank you for the kind comments on the other parts of the hotel such as our staff, the cleanliness and maintenance of the property. Our General Manager will be reaching out to you. Barry Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    55
    12
    10
    2
See reviews for
103
85
19
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This staff is the best collection of people I have had in a Wilmington area hotel! Because of that, the rooms are spotless, the pool is always clean and the breakfast is always perfect. The location makes it easy to grab a quick dinner, head to Wilmington or Southport or just drive to the beach. That said - it all comes back to the staff. FRIENDLY! THE MAIN REASON I SELECT THIS HOTEL OVER ANY OTHER IN THE WILMINGTON AREA.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JIMGLU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Jim thank you for taking time to write a review. We appreciate your kind comments on the staff and the hotel. It was good to see you visited the hotel as a Holiday Inn Express. So glad you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry the Bears didn't make the playoffs but my Carolina Panthers are rolling! Safe travels. Barry Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This is truly a wonderful hotel, Super clean rooms, very comfortable beds with actual pillows and convenient amenities. The staff are extremely helpful, Hannah, Jane, Jon, Melissa, Holden and Lindsey go above and beyond to accommodate guest. Miss Shirley makes sure everyone has an enjoyable breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VernThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review and recognizing so many of our staff members. We truly appreciate your comments on the cleanliness of the hotel and look forward to your next visit. Barry Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Our daughter lives in the neighborhood that is adjacent to the hotel. We decided to stay at the hotel to make our stay easier for her and her family. The room was very clean and comfortable. I also have to say that the bed was actually comfortable (not normal for a hotel). We slept very well and then enjoyed breakfast in the morning. I could not say enough about how friendly the staff was as well. We will be staying again and hope this review helps others to start a tradition of staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. We appreciate your comments on our staff and our hotel amenities. Hope you enjoyed your time with your family and we look forward to you staying with us again. Barry Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Northport, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Front desk associates were friendly and helpful in answering questions about the area.
The room was more than comfortable with convenient amenities; microwave, small refrigerator,desk, complimentory wifi.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to review our property. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the comments on our staff and the room. We hope you will make our hotel your property of choice on your next visit. Barry Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I will say upfront that the staff is very good. However, This is one of the hotels that you hear about "Paper Thin Walls" - This is one of them. You can hear people talking in the next room at normal conversation levels, people who leave their TV on all night - you can hear domestic disputes, the floors are poorly constructed so get a room on an upper floor or listen to the people above you every move they make. ALL rooms are "Pet Friendly" so, keep that in mind when booking a room here. If you have pet allergies - I would go 100Ft. accross the street to the Best Western where they have the proper Pet Friendly rooms etiquette. I stayed for four nights and every once in a while I could smell urine - lovely. I was getting on the elevator and some pet owner came up behind me with a skittish looking pit bull mix and got on the elevator - I got off and let them go instead of being cornered in a closed elevator with them - If you have children, keep that in mind. I would not let my child crawl around on the floor of a "Pet Friendly" room - gross. I am on a six month assignment in the Leland area and have changed my reservations to the Best Western so, to the owners of this Holiday Inn there is six months of four nights a week of revenue lost because "ALL" of your rooms are "Pet Friendly". How about some "Human Being Friendly" rooms? The coffee in the breakfast area is extremely weak. I do not recommend this hotel unless your are a pet owner who travels with your pet.

Room Tip: Get an upper floor and try to get a standard room that is NOT Pet Friendly - Good Luck
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
I appreciate your review. As I am the owner of the hotel I apologize that you had a problem with our hotel. We are pet friendly and have designated rooms on the first floor. There are those rare occasions when those rooms are full and we try to accommodate those traveling with pets the best that we can. I assure you that all of our rooms are not open to pets and we do our best to make sure all pets are located on the first floor to ensure they have easy access to our walking area. We have been open for 4 years and have an excellent track record when it comes to cleanliness with our public areas and our rooms. I will speak to our team to ensure that there wasn't something else we could have done to accommodate you or the guest who had the pet on a separate floor. I will also reach out to you to discuss in person. In addition, I will review which room you stayed in to determine why you were having issues with noise. We installed additional sound proofing several years ago in a few of our rooms that were having some concerns. I will personally test your room to see if we need to add more sound proofing. Again, thank you for you review as these help us to improve our amenities and services. Barry Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn in Leland while doing some work in anticipation of moving to the area. All of the staff were courteous, the rooms clean and breakfast was very good. But there was one thing that earned this hotel the excellent rating in our opinion. We prepared to leave on our last day, checked out only to discover a dead battery in our rental car with only 2 hours before our flight home. Holden at the front desk was coming off shift at 9:00 am. He calmly looked up some phone numbers for us, but no fast solution was available. Then we were able to borrow some jumper cables from a person at the gas station across the way and this young man immediately offered to jump start our car as soon as he got off his shift. So after being on duty through the night and early morning, he took the time to help us out. I'm sure he was eager to get home and sleep or move on to his next commitment - but he put that aside to help out customers truly in distress!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review. I appreciate the great comments on Holden. Holden does a fantastic job and has such a great demeanor. I am always so proud when I see that our staff continues to go above and beyond the call of duty. Again, thank you for the review and we hope to see you again. Barry Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leland
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Westgate Inn & Suites
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
11.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilmington
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Medical Park
18.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area
Address: 1020 Grandiflora Dr, Leland, NC 28451-7454 (Formerly Comfort Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Leland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our all suite property is well appointed with custom designed décor and comes with amenities such as complimentary continental breakfast, wireless internet, heated indoor pool with outdoor patio, well equipped fitness room, lobby business library and pantry.We understand the need for spacious and comfortable rooms so we have gone to great lengths to give you what you desire. We have expanded the ceiling heights in all rooms creating an open feel. In addition, we have widened the king rooms and incorporated all queen size beds in our double rooms to give you the additional room and comfort you deserve.All of our suites come equipped with 37” LG flat screen televisions, wireless internet, sleeper sofa, ergonomically correct chair and work desk, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, luggage rack and much more. Exercise and Refresh your spirit anytime of the day by using our 24 hour fitness center or our indoor heated salt water pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Magnolia Greens Hotel Leland
Comfort Suites Leland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing