We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a year ago and loved it very much, the service, the staff, the room, everything was A+. Was looking to stay here next month but learned you are no longer a Comfort Suites. Since my husband is a Choice employee, and we need the employee discount, we won't be able to stay with you again. However, we do want people to know that this is a good quality hotel. No worries here.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjyoung21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank for the great review. So glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes, we did covert to a Holiday Inn Express and understand that utilizing your Choice employee rate is hard to give up. Just remember us if you can't find a room in the area, we would love for you stay with us again. Again, thank you for the kind compliments. Barry Eagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 342 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

As the title states, the staff was most excellent. We stayed there for about a month while looking for a house. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They went "above and beyond" to insure our comfort. They always wore a smile. But you would expect that from a hotel staff, wouldn't you. Here the "above and beyond" part. Our boy experienced his first seizure one morning, and then again nine days later. While I was on the phone with emergency, a staff member sat on the floor cradling our boy's head and calming him. I will never forget that! Never.

Our boy is doing well and our family has made new friends.

Room Tip: We had a pet, so the room was on the first floor next to the parking lot. If you stay on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Wow, I'm not sure what to say about your review. I am a little overwhelmed on how our staff responded to your child. They always amaze me. Thank you for taking time to write a review and I was so glad to see that your extended stay met and exceeded all your expectations. We have decided to change our brand to a Holiday Inn Express on August 15th and we hope that you be able to stay with us again in the future. We are excited about the change and know that our loyal guests and new ones will like the changes we have made and the Holiday Inn Express brand as a whole. Again, thank you for the kind comments on our staff and hotel. Barry Eagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel and were very pleased with the rate, the location, the service, and the comfort. The hotel was quite full (a family reunion was being held there) and we were given a handicap access room, but that didn't detract from our comfort. The room was spacious and equipped with a small refrigerator and microwave. And even with all the people in the hotel, it was quiet. We worried that the breakfast room would be overly crowded in the morning, but it wasn't. All in all, a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you so much for the kind review. So glad you enjoyed the amenities of the hotel. We will be changing to a Holiday Inn Express on August 15th so we look forward to seeing you again under our new brand. Barry Eagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I travel with business quite often and stay in some of the best Starwood, Hilton and Marriott properties around the U.S. and internationally. When considering price, service and comfort, I would rate this hotel among the best I have stayed at. The Leadership, front desk, breakfast and room staff are all awesome, they go out of their way to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Book early, they fill up fast and you will get a better deal!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robertlovesgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you so much for the great review. I am very humbled that you would consider our hotel as one of the best ever stayed when comparing to some of the big names. Thank you for the kind words on our staff and management. They have a Can Do attitude and truly want each guest to have a great experience. Again, thank you and we hope to see you again in the near future. Barry Eagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Recently spent 3 nights at this hotel on a "getaway weekend" while the kids visited the grandparents. For its price range, this hotel is rather nice. Our room was exceptionally clean and everything was in good working order. The front desk staff and housekeeping staff were all friendly.

I personally found the bed comfortable and my only complaint is typical of a hotel room; the air conditioner was loud and woke me up repeatedly.

I didn't use the pool, but my husband and I used the fitness center multiple times and the equipment looked new. We chose not to go swimming because the pool is so small that you can't actually swim in it. If we'd had the kids with us, we definitely would have used it though because it was a very clean and well-kept pool.

Breakfast had quite a variety: waffles, sausage, eggs, bagels, muffins, yogurt, fruit, cereals, etc., but I must say by the 3rd morning, I was rather tired of this food and went out to eat instead. It would have been nice if they had offered something different (bacon, biscuits, flavored bagels instead of plain) while we were there.

Location was great. Only about 10 min. to downtown Wilmington and about 20 min. to Wrightsville Beach. There were several restaurants nearby (Pizzetta's was our favorite) and a Wal-Mart and two grocery stores within a mile of the hotel. I'd make reservations in the summer because the hotel was booked solid the weekend that we were there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dacc_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you so much for the great review. Our Management and Staff work extremely hard to give our guests the best experience possible. So glad you enjoyed the fitness center and thank you the comments on the cleanliness of our indoor pool. Glad you enjoyed our breakfast and the beds. Also, thank you for the great recommendations on local eateries. Hope to see you again in the near future. Barry Eagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Visiting family in the local area, there were really two choices in the area, the Western Plus, or this Comfort Suites. Due to a Hidden Deal on Priceline.com, we got the Comfort Suites and we were very happy with the stay.
We checked in around 2pm, and the young man at the desk was very friendly and helpful. He told us that we were assigned an Accessible Room on the 2nd Floor, and asked if that was OK with us. We said we didn’t mind at all, and he said that some guests do.
The room was perfect! Right off the elevator, it was a clean, well-equipped room with wider spaces, and a large walk-in shower.
Since we were here to visit family, we didn’t get to enjoy some of the amenities, like the indoor pool and the fitness center both on the first floor.
The lobby area is gorgeous and one side looks like a great sitting library area.
We enjoyed the continental breakfast which included make your own waffles, juice, yogurt and much more.
One warning, the roads in this hotel’s area are crazy! You can’t make a left at any of the lights, you have to make a right and continue to a left turn signal. Very confusing.
Also, you are very close to a shopping area, but that too is a confusing maze of stores and parking lots. We were searching for the Port City Java Coffee Shop, and even our GPS was confused and moments before giving up on the search we stumbled onto the small store!
When visiting the area again, we will stay here.

Room Tip: Don't shy away from an Accessible Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mscibetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for your great review. So glad you enjoyed your time at the hotel and the area. Our accessible rooms are the largest in the hotel so I'm glad you approved of them. Also, thank you for the nice comments on the lobby and our breakfast. We do our best to provide an expanded breakfast that will accommodate most needs. Sorry about the roads. The U-Turns seem to be new thing the DOT is utilizing. This was put in about 6 years ago and it does take some getting used to. Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope you will make our hotel your choice when visiting the area again. Barry Eagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I am really not sure what all the hype with this hotel is about. The beds are very uncomfortable, the pillows are rolled up balls of cotton smaller than my head. The front desk lady lied to me about the pool being heated. The pool is cold and while we were there many people got in and right back out. Not a big deal but don't lie and say its heated. The staff besides that was very nice and the facility was clean. To say this hotel is excellent would be not accurate compared to the other hotels we have been to in the same price range. To me, the main reason I need a hotel is to sleep, this hotel missed the mark with that.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Dnourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for your review. Obviously, we didn't meet your expectations and we truly apologize about that. We typically get great comments on our beds so I apologize that it didn't give you the experience you expected. We will have our management review our current mattresses to ensure they are meeting the quality we expect to provide our guests. I also apologize that you didn't like our pillows. They are what is required by our brand and we don't have any other option but we will address with Choice. We do have a heated pool but during the summer months we reduce the heat somewhat. We must have reduced it too much. I will speak to our management to ensure we are maintaining a comfortable level for everyone. Again, thank you for taking time to write the review. We can always improve on all facets of our service and amenities and appreciate your feedback. Barry Eagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leland
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Westgate Inn & Suites
9.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington
17.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Medical Park
12.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area

Address: 1020 Grandiflora Dr, Leland, NC 28451-7454 (Formerly Comfort Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Leland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leland
Price Range: $94 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our all suite property is well appointed with custom designed décor and comes with amenities such as complimentary continental breakfast, wireless internet, heated indoor pool with outdoor patio, well equipped fitness room, lobby business library and pantry.We understand the need for spacious and comfortable rooms so we have gone to great lengths to give you what you desire. We have expanded the ceiling heights in all rooms creating an open feel. In addition, we have widened the king rooms and incorporated all queen size beds in our double rooms to give you the additional room and comfort you deserve.All of our suites come equipped with 37” LG flat screen televisions, wireless internet, sleeper sofa, ergonomically correct chair and work desk, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, luggage rack and much more. Exercise and Refresh your spirit anytime of the day by using our 24 hour fitness center or our indoor heated salt water pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Magnolia Greens Hotel Leland
Comfort Suites Leland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing