We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Visiting family in the local area, there were really two choices in the area, the Western Plus, or this Comfort Suites. Due to a Hidden Deal on Priceline.com, we got the Comfort Suites and we were very happy with the stay.
We checked in around 2pm, and the young man at the desk was very friendly and helpful. He told us that we were assigned an Accessible Room on the 2nd Floor, and asked if that was OK with us. We said we didn’t mind at all, and he said that some guests do.
The room was perfect! Right off the elevator, it was a clean, well-equipped room with wider spaces, and a large walk-in shower.
Since we were here to visit family, we didn’t get to enjoy some of the amenities, like the indoor pool and the fitness center both on the first floor.
The lobby area is gorgeous and one side looks like a great sitting library area.
We enjoyed the continental breakfast which included make your own waffles, juice, yogurt and much more.
One warning, the roads in this hotel’s area are crazy! You can’t make a left at any of the lights, you have to make a right and continue to a left turn signal. Very confusing.
Also, you are very close to a shopping area, but that too is a confusing maze of stores and parking lots. We were searching for the Port City Java Coffee Shop, and even our GPS was confused and moments before giving up on the search we stumbled onto the small store!
When visiting the area again, we will stay here.

Room Tip: Don't shy away from an Accessible Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mscibetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for your great review. So glad you enjoyed your time at the hotel and the area. Our accessible rooms are the largest in the hotel so I'm glad you approved of them. Also, thank you for the nice comments on the lobby and our breakfast. We do our best to provide an expanded breakfast that will accommodate most needs. Sorry about the roads. The U-Turns seem to be new thing the DOT is utilizing. This was put in about 6 years ago and it does take some getting used to. Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope you will make our hotel your choice when visiting the area again. Barry Eagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 337 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

I am really not sure what all the hype with this hotel is about. The beds are very uncomfortable, the pillows are rolled up balls of cotton smaller than my head. The front desk lady lied to me about the pool being heated. The pool is cold and while we were there many people got in and right back out. Not a big deal but don't lie and say its heated. The staff besides that was very nice and the facility was clean. To say this hotel is excellent would be not accurate compared to the other hotels we have been to in the same price range. To me, the main reason I need a hotel is to sleep, this hotel missed the mark with that.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Dnourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for your review. Obviously, we didn't meet your expectations and we truly apologize about that. We typically get great comments on our beds so I apologize that it didn't give you the experience you expected. We will have our management review our current mattresses to ensure they are meeting the quality we expect to provide our guests. I also apologize that you didn't like our pillows. They are what is required by our brand and we don't have any other option but we will address with Choice. We do have a heated pool but during the summer months we reduce the heat somewhat. We must have reduced it too much. I will speak to our management to ensure we are maintaining a comfortable level for everyone. Again, thank you for taking time to write the review. We can always improve on all facets of our service and amenities and appreciate your feedback. Barry Eagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I recently stayed in a Home2 hotel and I found myself comparing this one to that one. This is your average hotel room. The rooms are nicely decorated and the hotel looks nice. The beds are very uncomfortable. The pillows are lumpy and almost toddler sized. There was black things floating in the apple juice during breakfast. I would have appreciated this hotel more if I had not stayed at the Home2 in Jacksonville the previous night. It is still a good value.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajnourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

We appreciate your review although we didn't give you the WOW experience you expected. We are sorry that you had a problem with your bed. It seems that you and your travel companion who wrote a review also had the same experience. As I mentioned in their review we will speak to our management team and do a comprehensive review of our bedding to ensure it meets the expectations of our guests. We want all of our guests to have a restful and peaceful experience when staying with us so we are very disappointed that was not the case with your stay. We will also address the juice situation and try to determine what may have caused it. Again, thank you for your feedback and your attention to detail. We are always looking to improve the quality and service of the hotel so your review is taken very serious. Barry Eagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I've been staying at this property now every other week for about the last 1 1/2 years, depending on my route .Staff is very helpful and its exceptionally clean hotel. As a truck driver, my ONLY COMPLAINT is there is just two places walking distances, Subway and Bar/restaurant called PT'S Grill, both are almost next door.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkgrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you for your nice review on our staff and the property. We appreciate your loyalty and business. Barry Eagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in May, 2013 and we were very pleased with the hotel as well as all the staff we interacted with. The hotel was nicely furnished and very clean. The entire staff, the front desk personnel, the housekeeping staff and others that we had interaction with were very friendly and helpful. This hotel is located in a beautiful area and we would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

We truly appreciate you taking time out of your schedule to review our hotel. Thank you for the great comments on the staff and the property. We hope to see you again soon. Barry Eagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Front desk provided kind, helpful, pleasant, knowledgeable assistance and more importantly always followed up on requests to ensure satisfactory completion. They provided insight about the area and suggested places of interest in surrounding area.

Housekeeping did a terrific job.

Maintenance was prompt, courteous, knowledgeable and helpful explaining how to change the treadmill program setting, in addition to activating air conditioning for early morning workouts.

Breakfast service was fantastic. Food was hot, area was spotless, personnel was very pleasant and attentive, ensuring timely replacement of items, keeping area enjoyable.

All associates displayed exemplary customer service. Definitely plan to stay here on future visits.

Room Tip: 3rd floor side room was quiet, clean and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you so much for the great review. We work so hard to keep our hotel immaculate and our staff truly wants each guest to have a great experience. Glad to know you will be coming back in the future. Barry Eagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you find yurself in the Leland NC area on US 17 and are looking for a clean comfortable sleeping experience and you have Fido with you this is the place to go. Please NOTE there is a $40/day charge for Fido but there is a large expanse of grass out the back door along with a doggie poop station for cleanups.
The rooms are comfortable, free wifi and there are several good to very good eateries nearby, the best one is Pizzettas off of US 17 and Brunswick Forest Parkway in Leland. There is also within walking distance PT's Olde Fashioned Grill and a Subway. The Comfort Suites offers 24 hr coffee, a mini mart and a hot, though not too adventure some free breakfast. The staff is very friendly and they offer a military discount for retirees.

Room Tip: The pet rooms are on the first floor so any room toward the end of the hall would be closest to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for the kind review. We understand how many people are traveling with their pets today so we want to make sure they are well taken care of as well. We have a great pond to walk your dogs around and lots of open space to give them a little freedom. We also truly appreciate your kind words about the cleanliness of the hotel and the friendliness of our staff. Barry Eagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leland
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Westgate Inn & Suites
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
17.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Medical Park
9.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area

Address: 1020 Grandiflora Dr, Leland, NC 28451-7454 (Formerly Comfort Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Leland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leland
Price Range: $100 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our all suite property is well appointed with custom designed décor and comes with amenities such as complimentary continental breakfast, wireless internet, heated indoor pool with outdoor patio, well equipped fitness room, lobby business library and pantry.We understand the need for spacious and comfortable rooms so we have gone to great lengths to give you what you desire. We have expanded the ceiling heights in all rooms creating an open feel. In addition, we have widened the king rooms and incorporated all queen size beds in our double rooms to give you the additional room and comfort you deserve.All of our suites come equipped with 37” LG flat screen televisions, wireless internet, sleeper sofa, ergonomically correct chair and work desk, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, luggage rack and much more. Exercise and Refresh your spirit anytime of the day by using our 24 hour fitness center or our indoor heated salt water pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Magnolia Greens Hotel Leland
Comfort Suites Leland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing