We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They set the bar so high...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Such a great value. Breakfast was fresh, offered a large variety, and clean. The rooms were spacious and clean also. The front desk was friendly and welcoming. They even offered a complimentary bed for my dogs. The area couldn't have been nicer. The parking was abundent and the hotel itself is close to the highway but it's actually located right by a golf course so really it feels like a little "uppity" area but the price of the rooms left me feeling like I had gotten over on them! Just a great value.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MexicanReina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 328 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2012

Husband and I stayed for one night (Feb.27-28, 2012) for just one night. Wanted to be closer to Bolivia for a job interview on the 28th. Greeted warmly, front desk staff helpful. Fairly clean. Got into room to discover only a dorm size fridge and tiny microwave oven. Bed is made with an older blanket and duvet on top, not as clean as we expected. Extra blanket was cheap ("velour" type) and worn. Bed is within a foot of the loud heat/ac unit under window. So you get the cold drafts from the window (not sealed well) and the loud heat when it kicks on, all through the night. Also interfered with watching TV. Whenever the heat came on, we had to up the volume high and be sure to turn it back down when the heater fell silent again. Bathroom shower had spigot coming off wall, thick layer of caulk, not working. Takes a long time to get the hot water to start coming into the lavatory and tub/shower, then it quickly goes to 'scalding'. They need some kind of tempering valves or something. Also a boost for quicker delivery of hot water. Water pressure good. Bottles of shampoo/conditioner very small, needed more. Soap was also a sliver of the thickness we're used to in other hotels. No caulk around stem for shower control, so water is seeping behind and will eventually cause damage and leaking into ceiling below. Indoor pool water was cloudy, did not appear up to required standards of ph/chlorine. I used the excersise facility. Nice treadmills, stationary/recline bike and elliptical but none of the controls were easy to decipher and no instructions with them. Couldn't tell how to manually put in sex, weight, to calculate heart rate, etc. But it was good nonetheles. Also a tv with remote. I was the only one in there so it was great. Room is a "suite", but not very spacious or private. No separation from what would be the "kitchen", "guest" area and larger bed at end of room. Only cheap, plastic cups. We wanted a couple mixed drinks in the room, so I went to the lobby to ask if they had "glass" glasses. I was told even for breakfast these are not available. Breakfast in the morning was not very good. Some bananas, oranges, bread, bagels, a make your own waffle iron, juices, coffee, boiled eggs, cold cereal and yogurt. The "hot" bar consisted of heated from frozen breakfast "burritos", some very stale looking scrambled "eggs" and microwaved bacon. We drove across the street to a McDonald's for a much better, fresh-tasting breakfast.

Room Tip: Higher floor (there are 3) to minimize noise from above
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartineV77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Stayed the week of Jan.16,2012 and could not be more pleased. The auto doors at the
entrance are so helpful if you are bringing a loaded cart. The bed was loaded with
"COMFORT" SWEET SLEEP...The people wrere really concerned about our satisfaction
and our needs. From the people at the check-in..Malissa was the person who checked us in.
to John the maintenance man.. And we looked forward to the complimentry HOT breakfast.

j & J Rife

Room Tip: The King Suite is a great value.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Papariffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I have to agree with the 5 star ratings. My husband & I have stayed there 3 times. It is: clean, plenty of towels, the breakfast is great, complimentary newspaper and the nice staff!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is the place to stay in Leland. It is right off the highway, across the street is Walmart, and there are other stores in the small strip mall and various chain and other restaurants along the roadway. The hotel itself is very clean, the pool and exercise room also clean. The lobby is light and airy, sunlight bathes the area in the am. The rooms are immaculate. Heat and AC is controlled by the thermostat on the wall. The king size bed is comfortable. The breakfast has a variety of choices for everyone's taste. They are always making sure there is enough out there for guests. Hot coffee and tea all day long helps too! The Wall Street Journal is free every day here. The front end desk staff are very cordial, and accommodating. We even met the owner on one of our stays and he wanted to know if everything was up to par. The computers are located in the front lobby near the breakfast area and they too are clean as can be. We have stayed there two times while down in the Wilmington area. The hotel is about 15 minutes from Wilmington and about and hour from Myrtle Beach. While you do have to drive to get to Wilmington, you are out of the hustle and bustle if that is what you want. There is a golf course nearby too. The hotel would make a nice stopover if needed. We have stayed at other Comfort Suites and this is tops compared to others. It is also newer. Do consider this hotel when you are going through the area. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have a good view of the land. All rooms are quiet. King size bed is most comfort...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Okay, so they do not have an olympic size swimming pool or a hot tub, but what you get is a real bang for your buck. When we walked into the lobby we couid see that the place was immaculate. On top of that, they truly value their patrons. You immediately know that if there is any problem they are eager to make it right!! From Shirley (the gal who serves up the breakfast to Lee Ann (who I am sure would have tucked us in with warm milk and cookies if we asked) this staff really puts out an effort to make you feel special. We have not stayed at many of the motels in Wilmington but I can tell you it is worth the extra miles to stay here. And by the way, when is the last time you ever saw mounds of bacon on a breakfast bar?

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimsNewLondon_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

My husband and I have returned to this hotel for 3 more stays and the quality is still as good if not better than the first time..................which was AWESOME! If you are planning a trip to Leland this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathy_barfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leland
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Westgate Inn & Suites
9.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Medical Park
5.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area

Address: 1020 Grandiflora Dr, Leland, NC 28451-7454 (Formerly Comfort Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Leland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leland
Price Range: $110 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our all suite property is well appointed with custom designed décor and comes with amenities such as complimentary continental breakfast, wireless internet, heated indoor pool with outdoor patio, well equipped fitness room, lobby business library and pantry.We understand the need for spacious and comfortable rooms so we have gone to great lengths to give you what you desire. We have expanded the ceiling heights in all rooms creating an open feel. In addition, we have widened the king rooms and incorporated all queen size beds in our double rooms to give you the additional room and comfort you deserve.All of our suites come equipped with 37” LG flat screen televisions, wireless internet, sleeper sofa, ergonomically correct chair and work desk, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, luggage rack and much more. Exercise and Refresh your spirit anytime of the day by using our 24 hour fitness center or our indoor heated salt water pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, IHG, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Magnolia Greens Hotel Leland
Comfort Suites Leland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing