We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Laurinburg
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Laurinburg
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Visit”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful with directions and eating recommendations. The rooms were clean and quiet which considering the hotel was full was amazing. Although not the most modern hotel have stayed in everything was fine and worked. Mattress was soft and prefer a hard but that is personal choice. The breakfast had variety and was slightly different on the 2 days which was nice. Down side was no fresh fruit but still a good value with lots of choices.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anglophile_girl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    22
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
26
9
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Had stayed here in the past and was quite impressed with everything. Not this time.

Apparently, not ALL the rooms are fresh and new. I stayed in one of the old ones this time. The plunger next to the toilet (the whole stay, so it wasn't like someone forgot it) really set the tone. Room was old style Holiday Inn. Vintage TV, vintage carpet, vintage hand made closet fixtures. Peeling wallpaper.

It's a perfectly adequate hotel. Staff was friendly and responsive, including a couple of special requests. Bed was comfortable. Couch was comfortable, but stained and in need of replacement. I could have lived with the 1980's TV -- I still have one of these at home -- except you could only see it from the bed. Could not rotate it sufficiently to see it from the nice little sofa/coffee table area. AC worked well. Shower pressure was good. Place, including common areas, were pretty much clean and well maintained, though ice machine was broken during whole stay (maintenance man said you had to wiggle the chute to get ice).

If I stay here again, i will absolutely ask if one of their new rooms is available.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the new rooms... it is hard to believe that the new rooms and the old rooms are in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Stayed here June 6 and 7, 2011 on business. Room was good size, but lack of maintenance and cleaning showed. Visible dust on all surfaces not regularly touched. Toilet loose, seat discolored and broken. Unpatched holes from previous mountings of shower rods. Slightly musty. Water stains on ceiling. 26" tube TV's (seriously?). Telephone by bed obviously broken and untouched for a long time. Alarm clock not working. If you need a place to sleep cheap ($115) this is it. If you're looking for more, stay away.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpeedyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

I stayed at the Hampton in Laurinburg several weeks earlier and was a little concerned about the bad reviews of the Holiday Inn Express posted here, but the Hampton didn't have king sized beds available during this time period. so we tried the Holiday Inn Express.

It was actually very nice. The lobby is big, clean, and comfortable. Checkin was quick and without issue.

The rooms very nice. They were bigger than the average hotel room with a separate sofa and work area, a wet bar with fridge and microwave, and big jacuzzi tubs. Air conditioning worked properly. Room was clean. Bed was soft and cozy, and there was a large assortment of pillows.

Free breakfast was good, and staff was friendly. Nothing to write home about, but tried the sausage gravy and biscuits one morning and the cinnamon rolls the next, and both were good.

The hotel loses a few points on a few issues: first, the room temperature was set to 86 degrees and the heat was going full blast upon arrival. Cooled off eventually. Second, the matting in the tub is peeling around the edges. Hate that kind of thing. Third, internet speed varied from good to snail's pace. Always worked everywhere in the room, it just got very, very slow from time to time. Fourth, there is some upgrading overdue... the TV's were old, and as noted, stuff like peeling mat in the tub go unfixed. And fifth, actually having to check out??? I haven't had to do that in America in 20 years. Just slip the bill under the door, people.

Overall, though, this was a fine hotel and a fine stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Since I travel for work, I have stayed in many Holiday Inn Express' and this is, by far, is the worst one I've ever seen. First, I reserved a nonsmoking room and when I walked into the room, there was an ashtray on the nightstand and a cigarette wrapper on the floor in the bathroom...nice. The room also had a nice stale smoke smell. Oh an I also noticed that I didn't have an alarm clock. I went down stairs and spoke with the receptionist. She said there were no more rooms left and that's fine but why didn't anyone tell me that there were no more nonsmoking rooms when I made the reservation or even when I checked in? Then, I asked for an alarm clock and she said they didn't have any. They ran out... A hotel ran out of alarm clocks... That's a first for me. She was nice enough to offer to schedule a wakeup call but I just like having a clock in the room. Finally, as I lay here writing this, there is a weird, musty, moldy smell coming from between the wall the the mattress. I tried switching beds since this room has double beds but the smell is coming from both. Gross... I can't wait to check out and never see this place again. ::shudder::

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninacan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

I'm both a Priority Club and a Hilton FF with a whole ton of points each. I originally chose Hampton Inn partly to continue with points and partly because of prior reviews about this Holiday Inn posted here. Since I come to the area frequently for business, I decided to check this out for myself. So to compare with the Hampton In (which I also reviewed):
- public spaces appears newer and fresher. I think part of it is styling and lighting, but also the architecture of building.
- breakfast, I think, is slightly better mostly because the food is already out on a line unlike Hampton Inn's, which are prepackaged and you have to microwave yourself. Really the only difference is that the Holiday Inn staff heated it up for you already...the food quality is the same. Hampton Inn serves those yummy flavored coffee creamer tub things...but Holiday Inn seems to have more choices. Since I try to eat healthy while on the road, I buy at the supermarket so Hampton Inn keeps out disposable tableware, etc for guests. Holiday Inn: you have to bug the staff to get it for you, who keep it under lock and key.
- Rooms: you can tell this is an old hotel/motel with new Holiday Inn furnishing/styling. I think the mattresses could use some replacing, but I do like their pillows more (seem firmer). Hampton Inn water pressure, I think, is stronger...but then again maybe my Holiday Inn room is just underpowered.
- Wireless: no improvement over Hampton. At night, signals can be VERY slow but it's not every night. Very irritating but it's free. Just wish it was more reliable.
Staff is great, they pick up the front desk phone more quickly than Hampton Inn (key when receiving outside calls to your room).

Haven't experienced anything unpleasant at this hotel so far, so if you want to stay in the Holiday Inn family check this one out!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank setiramm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2009

I was unimpressed by this Holiday Inn. The hotel itself was poorly maintained and shabby, and my room was not cleaned two of the three days. In addition, my bill was not put under my door on my checkout day, and when I went to the desk to get a copy, there was no one there and it took me 20 minutes to get a copy. The location is OK, with a Smithfield's restaurant next door and the freeway next door. Overall, I would reccomend the Hampton Inn across the highway.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WI_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laurinburg
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Laurinburg
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Laurinburg
Hampton Inn Laurinburg
#1 of 5 in Laurinburg
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Laurinburg
Quality Inn Laurinburg
#4 of 5 in Laurinburg
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Rockingham
15.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 3 in Bennettsville
39 reviews
15.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pembroke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Laurinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Laurinburg

Property: Holiday Inn Express Laurinburg
Address: 400 Plaza Dr, Laurinburg, NC 28352-0501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Laurinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Laurinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Laurinburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Laurinburg is the newest hotel in Laurinburg, NC. Located directly off Highway US 74 at Highway 401 South. We are convenient to downtown and located near many restaurants and corporate businesses. Hotel features include free local phone calls and a complimentary Express Start continental breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hardboiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Laurinburg, NC and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Laurinburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Laurinburg Hotel Laurinburg
Holiday Inn Laurinburg
Laurinburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing