We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent family mini-vacation !!!!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Toxaway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Earthshine Discovery Center
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent family mini-vacation !!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

I am a grandmother of 8 ranging from 4 years old to 18 years old. Every Christmas I present my two daughters and their families a "trip" - just to get us all together at the same time. We have been to 5 star hotels, to Resorts and to Earthshine. Earthshine was by far the favorite of all !!
It is a wonderful spot to get away and enjoy each other. The activities were amazing and something for everyone. The food was outstanding - the whole atmosphere was wonderful and the people there were fantastic. The accomodations are rustic - but because of all the other advantages you don't even mind being "rustic". The children are begging me not to look anywhere else for next year - they all want to go back to Earthshine !! We may just do that.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nani28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
4
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

When looking for a vacation for our family before my husband left on a deployment, we wanted something that centered on family fun. We found that and so much more when we spend a week at Earthshine Mountain Lodge!! We have 3 children, 8,6, and 3 and all 3 had a marvelous time! From the exceptional staff, to the incredible excursions everything was just incredible. IF you are looking for a luxury resort, this is not for you, but if you are looking for a rustic mountain lodge, where the focus is on you having incredible time together as a family this is the place for your family. The other incredible thing was how you connect with the other families there. There were 2 other families there that were there the entire time we were and we got close to them. At the end there were lots of tears saying goodbye from all the kids! It was a fabulous week filled with many memories and we can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMWags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We have been to Earthshine 3 times! And since we did disney this past spring my kids (ages 7 and 11) had something to compare and EARTHSHINE was the hands down favorite vacation. The staff is super engaging and friendly. and the food is wonderful. Our youngest has taken an interest in reptiles due to Steve, the naturalist on staff. Every staff member is there to make you happy and genuinely seem happy to be there. The rooms are clean and comfortable. and there are activities for the adventurous or you can spend your days just relaxing.

As soon as we pulled in the drive way my kids got out of the car and started hiking and couldn't wait to see the staff members that they consider friends. I enjoyed resting on the porch before dinner, reading my book and enjoying the view.

Sample menu from our week: salmon w/hollendaise, BBQ ribs and chicken, Chicken pot pie, pork chops for dinner. Breakfast was eggs, grits, chocolate chip pancakes, blackberry pancakes, blueberry pancakes, sausage, bacon, biscuits with gravy ALL HOME MADE. and the deserts were decadent.

We are already planning our next trip to earthshine!

and make sure to pack extra clothes! you will get dirty!

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally good but if you have a particularly large family ask for the bear den or s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

My husband and I always have a hard time trying to find the right vacation spot to please our large family. Earthshine was great! Although, we only took three of our five children on this trip we plan on going back with the whole family and a few friends. The staff were amazing and adjusted well with the different ages of the kids. I highly recommend Earthshine for anyone seeking outdoor adventure!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

We spent a lot of time trying to find a vacation location where everyone might be happy. We have 2 kids, 17 and 4. They both enjoyed all their waking moments and didn't want each day to end. This is a mountain top lodge, for sure. Rustic, outstanding views of mountains, meadows and wildlife. Staff is outstanding, lots of excellent activities and things to do, TONS of great country-style food and fun for all ages. If you're an outside-type person, you're in heaven. If you're not, you will still enjoy the serenity of the place.

We booked the Memorial Day weekend. The days were great. At night, there were more fireflies than I've ever seen before. This is so much of a must-do, we're already excited to book this place again in the future IT'S WORTH THE VISIT!

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain-facing room with a balcony. These are typically for guests with more than 2 peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gwwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

I took my college students for an eco-tourism field trip last Fall and was very impressed by the Earthshine's amazing facilities, courteous staffs, and delicious foods. If you are looking for a family vacation destination and want to give your kids an educational exposure (e.g., knowing history of native people, understanding/appreciating nature, leadership development, team work etc.) this is the place to go. Many of my students described the experience as "Best Trip Ever". In fact, after reading the best seller book "last Chile in the Wood: Saving our Children from Nature-Deficit Disorder" by Richard Louv, I was looking for a place like Earthsine to bring my own kids.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neelam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

It was an unexpectedly great trip to the Earthshine Mountain Lodge. I was expecting a lot less and I was pleasantly surprised by amazing service, friendly people, incredible scenery, great food, and an overall wonderful experience!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 777JaneB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Toxaway
13.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Brevard
Hampton Inn Brevard
#1 of 2 in Pisgah Forest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#1 of 4 in Brevard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard
22.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Sylva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
5.4 mi away
Brook Trout Inn
Brook Trout Inn
#1 of 2 in Sapphire
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earthshine Discovery Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earthshine Discovery Center

Property: Earthshine Discovery Center
Address: 1600 Golden Rd, Lake Toxaway, NC 28747-5717 (Formerly Earthshine Mountain Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Toxaway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Lake Toxaway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remember that sense of wonder and adventure that gave childhood its magic? Well, get ready to feel it again. Escape to a storybook place guaranteed to exceed your expectations. Your family can unplug and reconnect with one another in an environment free of digital distractions. Earthshine is "unforgettable." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Earthshine Mountain Hotel Lake Toxaway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing