We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“our favorite in the Cashiers Toxaway area”
Review of The Brown Trout - CLOSED

The Brown Trout
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The Brown Trout Mountain Grille's signature dishes are our 10 different ways of Trout: from our Traditional with Lemon Caper Cream, to the Pecan Encrusted and even a Jalapeno Honey Trout. We also have weekly specials inspired by our head chefs. On weekends we have live music,so come in and enjoy our great food and drinks!
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“our favorite in the Cashiers Toxaway area”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were among the first customers and have continued to be be good customers. Food is excellent, service and atmosphere uplifting. It is also a favorite of our family and when we ask the grand children what they want to do when they are with us, they always put the Brown Trout at the top of their list. It brings to mind the Cheers Bar. We may not know everyone by name but we recognize many as regular customers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EugeneLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    22
    7
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lake Toxaway”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were staying on Lake Toxaway across the street from the Brown Trout. We had dinner there the first night and the last night we were there. The food was great and the service was excellent. I had the Jalapeno & Honey trout the first night and the eggplant tower the second visit both meals were better then expected. Our party was of 6 and everyone enjoyed their meal. This is a must if you are ever in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wernock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zachary, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
“Experince At The Brown Trout”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The service and food was excellent. Our first time here and will go back again.
Love the decore and the veiw traveling to your resturant was awesome.
Liked the paved parking lot. Motorcycle trip would be awesome.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flowery Branch, Georgia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“food and decor special”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

The trout is beautifully prepared. Actually so is every thing else. Great wine list. Twinking lights are s special romantic touch. Owner is very friendly. He has another restaurant nearer Lake Toxaway that serves a very gourmet panini turkey and brie sandwich. It was so huge I ate the rest for dinner that night. Quite a suprise to be in the mountains of NC. Will return with friends

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank chezchea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
1 review
“Jalepeno Trout”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Nicely cooked with a taste delight. I'm going tomorrow for my 5th time. A real surprise in the middle of nowhere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twsc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brown Trout also viewed

Lake Toxaway, North Carolina Mountains
Lake Toxaway, North Carolina Mountains
 
Lake Toxaway, North Carolina Mountains
Lake Toxaway, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing