We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveler rating
106
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews life changing strength training wellness retreat healthy eating week stay fitness classes eating habits physical limitations farm to table everyday life whole foods great results fly fishing active vacation each guest body fat healthy lifestyle
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 108 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2017 via mobile

I searched & searched for years for a place I could go to be one with nature, to learn how to be more healthy in general & get the kick start I needed to believe in myself again. I chose Skyterra!!!
I stayed in a cottage by choice & I LOVED IT! The cottages have every amenity as I’m sure the houses on the grounds do as well. Screened in porch with chairs to relax, gas fireplace as soon as you walk inside, couch , chairs, rocking chair, AC in living room & bedroom, dishwasher, washer/dryer, full size refrigerator , my own golf cart to get around & so much more. You don’t need to bring too many cloths because you can wash & dry in your house or cottage. Anything you forget or need the staff is on hand 24 hours a day. The doors on your houses & cottages have a key pad lock so you don’t have to carry keys around & when I forgot my code late at night I texted the GM Theresa & in one second she texted me right back with what I needed. The instructors jackie, Jeff, Amber, (just to mention a few) are all knowledgeable, helpful, encouraging, caring & patient.
Chef Michael is superb!! Although all the meals that are prepared are all healthy & delicious, I asked Chef to prepare my meals low sodium & he was happy to do so. Sue, Theresa, Mackenzie and the entire staff were absolute angels. Going to Skyterra was one of the most extraordinary experiences of my life. I left there with more knowledge, power & self confidence then I walked in with.
Thank you to the entire SkyTerra Family! I look forward to my return next year!
G Carrington

Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
Thank Gina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue C, Owner at Skyterra Wellness Retreat & Weight Loss Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Skyterra! Your review is so thorough and helpful to other travelers. We enjoyed having you here and are super excited to see you again next year! In health, sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017 via mobile

I came to Skyterra last June only for 3 days to check it out, as I have had a couple of bad experiences with other wellness resorts and did not want to commit to more than that. Well Skyterra was so fantastic that I booked 2 weeks this September !!! It truly is the "real deal" when they say small classes they mean it! Never had more than 7 people in a class. They do not take anymore than 16 people period !!! The individualized
attention makes all the difference in the world , you don't get hurt because they are watching your body movements during strength training, yoga, Aqua classes , tabata, primal strength, hiking, team up and elevate. Amber , Anna and Jeff are gifted Trainor's with Jeff's emphasis on strength and cardio, Amber strength and yoga and Anna on mindful meditation and mobility. The food is beautiful to look at and eat !! The surrounding mountain views are stunning.!I did Stand up paddle board on their own lake just a short walk away and you can take canoes out anytime. They also take you on canoe trips on Lake Toxaway and hiking to several amazing National Parks where you see beautiful waterfalls .
If you need a golf cart to get around they give you one but encourage walking to the outdoor salt water pool and classes and culinary center.
I also took a survival class with Elwood who also teaches you how to cast for fly fishing and will take you to a steam where you just might catch one! This is my favorite wellness resort and I have been to many, can't wait to come back. Eric is the go to guy if you need anything and has a wealth of information on the area. Theresa is one of the owners and giv

Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
1  Thank carol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue C, Owner at Skyterra Wellness Retreat & Weight Loss Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

Hello and thank you for sharing your experience on your stay at Skyterra Wellness! We value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share with other travelers! We can't wait to see you again soon. In health, sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017

This is a beautiful location with incredible staff that accommodates all levels of fitness. They model all of the values they teach - starting with be good to yourself and others. The housing makes life easy, the food is yummy and the workouts are very rewarding with personal attention to the details that improve performance and fitness. I was further along in my life of fitness than some and I learned a lot. I promised myself I would do more than my usual routine, otherwise why go, and I came home with a better body and more knowledge than I took with me! Why a 4 instead of a 5? ONLY because they need to finish the spa so there is more room to exercise!
Go early or stay later to see Asheville and Brevard but this is the way to come home from vacation feeling better about your life.
Final advice, stay two weeks if you can!

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dwilliamscnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue C, Owner at Skyterra Wellness Retreat & Weight Loss Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Hello and thank you so much for your review. We enjoyed having you come to Skyterra Wellness and we appreciate your feedback! I am pleased to announce that our spa is just days away from being finished and we are excited to open it for our guests! We will now not only offer massages but will be able to offer facials and pedicures! We look forward to your return and wish you continued success on your journey! Healthy regards, sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017 via mobile

The first year I went for a week November 2016, I came home rejuvenated, enlightened and simply could not believe that such a place existed!
Same thing happened again this year- I just got back and I am stunned at their continued commitment to the individual needs of the clients they serve- and how genuinely much they make your life 100% fantastic during your stay- this is a remarkable place run by remarkable staff and I could not have had a better experience... Not to be missed if you seek health and fitness, peace in your mind and the utter joy and serenity that only a small personalized place can provide. Plus it's a lot of FUN!!!!

Skyterra is set in a stunning part of NC surrounded by lakes, waterfalls, forest and mountains and the facilities are beyond top notch.
If that wasn't enough- it's the staff- they are over the top with enthusiasm
My second time back, the same amazing people brought it home to me once again and once again I saw great results on the scale and I felt great results in my heart and head
Thank you so much Skyterra- I will be back!!!

Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
Thank sdlpras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue C, Owner at Skyterra Wellness Retreat & Weight Loss Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with other potential guests! We are thrilled that you came back for your second stay and during the summer so you could experience a different time of year! We are excited about your results, when you live the Skyterra philosophy it's not only fun but the results follow! Congratulations for giving yourself a week at Skyterra. We're excited to have you return! In health, sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017 via mobile

My friends and I were staying up at the lodge and learned about the retreat. They were so kind and allowed us to work out at the HIIT class with Jeff. Was an awesome work out! Can't wait to come back for the full experience.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
2  Thank mollyv105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue C, Owner at Skyterra Wellness Retreat & Weight Loss Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2017

Hello, I am so glad you enjoyed Jeff's HIIT class! He's a talented expert in fitness! We look forward to you coming to Skyterra Wellness for the entire experience! In health, sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews