We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A historic Portuguese home with a hearty welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quinta do Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A historic Portuguese home with a hearty welcome”
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Just returned from our 4th stay in Quinta de Monteverde - a truly magical place, steeped in history, wonderfully comfortable and altogether a delight. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts, Fatima and José Mendonça, and I am already planning our next visit.
The location is ideal - beaches, golf, historic sights, stunning national parks, lovely walks and delightful restuarants all virtually on the doorstep. There is lots to do, but it is also a wonderful place for doing nothing (or at least very little) if that is your preference.
I recommend this place unreservedly.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wils0ncapelrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
88
113
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

That was the Fourth year that we spent our vacation at The Quinta Do Monteverde. While crossing the freshness of a grass, steamed with morning dew, sounded only by falling kiwis, I looked at Her, sleepingly walking beside me, then glimpsed over the swimming pool, the tennis court among the pine trees, finally stopping at the ocean obscured by purple haze, realized "I don't want anything more than this". I felt completed. The moment's just perfect. Then, even more - Fatima's finest, The Famous Breakfast. Served in the dining hall of an old 16th century Manor House with home made cakes and pastry, home made jams, right next to the library full with ancient artefacts... Well, for I'm not going to start a novel, the place is what an idea of achieving a better state of mind is set for. Here, you may enjoy relaxing atmosphere at the gardens or by the swimming pool, to find your best tennis shape at the court, at last, but not least - the perfect reason to drink a glass of Porto, while contemplating the ocean breezes, what more. And still, there are some ... in a close neighbourhood you may eat fresh fish, sea fruits, have wonderful wine for best price in Europe. In ten minutes South is Esposende, next is Ofir wth a great nightlife. Porto is a half hour away. In the north - Viana Do Castelo is ten minutes away. The city is marvelous, combining it's medieval charm with all the facilities of new times. In mid of August the Feria is breathtaking. Further in the Nord, there are more than 40 beaches, Forte De Paco, Praia Do Arda, Afife, Moledo, many, many more where you can both relax in a romantic fashion, or have all kind of surfing and bodyboarding, if the hearts are still young ...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ivovelchevski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Quinta do Moneverde is located not far and with a wonderfull view to the ocean, The property is very well mainained: this is shown in lanscaping, pool or tenis.
Excellent brekfasts serviced on the terrace or inside of manor. Stylish frnitured appartmens, special care to details and cleaness makes the stay very comfotable.
Owners of Quinta are very kind. Thanks to their effort this place preserve acharm of old Portugal
We definitely recommend Quinta

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JUSTYNA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We were enchanted the moment we drove through the big entrance door ! The warm, discreet welcome, the relaxed atmosphere in a meticulously renovated and maintained elegant manor, the absolute coziness of the rooms and very good amenities, the heavenly breakfast, a view to the sea, tennis, nice big pool, a library, all was there to make us relax, recover force and spirit, in short holidays at its best. We visited the beautiful and interesting towns around, such as Braga and all added to our happiness.
We certainly will come back and hope that the internet would then work a bit better, which may have been the only little "b moll" to find if one wants to look hard for it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fouquet_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

This is is our seventh visit to the Quinta. Why ? We haven't found a better place to chill out and neither will you. The grounds are large, very well kept and fascinating. The pool is large and just perfect for relaxing or being active- my wife likes to swim first thing every morning. Fatima and Jose are perfect hosts with an eye for making the smallest detail correct. I usually get the milk chocolates left each day after cleaning the room (maid service every day).
The breakfasts are unbelievable and constantly change. Adventurous ? Turn right outside the Quinta and you are in old Portugal,very narrow cobbled streets and well maintained shrines and an old lady with her Friesian cow which pulls a cart; very easy to walk to a wide range of excellent restaurants or drive if you wish.Turn left and walk through fields to the sand dunes and beach.
Frankly you will be spoilt rotten;excellent hospitality, advice, guidance and standards of accommodation. After returning from a meal you can relax in the evenings with vinho verde, alvarinho or tawny port , chat with other guests or just look at the stars. An exceptional place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobH60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oviedo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

As always, It took me a long time to look for an appropiate place for my summer holidays.

For this year I chose Viana Do castelo. To be honest, I did not expect to find such lovely hotel/apartment: the gardens, the apartment where I stayed, the swmingpool, the big house, the lovely dog, and the please and warm owners, Fatima and Joao.

It is located in a lovely village, Castelo do Neva, only 10 minutes by car from Viana do Castelo. You can go by walk to the beach or by car. In the afternoons you can swim in the Quinta lovely swimingpool, and at night, when you come back to your apartment, you can stay in the terrace, looking at its lighted gardens and swimingpool.

Definitively, We will come back to this lovely hotel¡

Fatima, many thanks for your lovely hospitality¡
Mónica

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MONIQUILLAOviedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2009

We had a great couple of nights at the Quinta. Fatima was a great host, the breakfasts were gorgeous and the rooms were perfect. There were a number of people who were staying for an extended time which I can totally understand. There's lots to do around the quinta and lots of opportunity to relax.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bkbklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelo do Neiva
5.9 mi away
Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel
Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Char...
#2 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
506 reviews
4.4 mi away
Quinta da Bouca d'Arques
Quinta da Bouca d'Arques
#1 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
266 reviews
5.2 mi away
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel
#4 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Casa Melo Alvim Hotel
Casa Melo Alvim Hotel
#7 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
151 reviews
5.4 mi away
Flor de Sal Hotel
Flor de Sal Hotel
#8 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
224 reviews
4.5 mi away
Casa do Monte de Roques
Casa do Monte de Roques
#11 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta do Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta do Monteverde

Property: Quinta do Monteverde
Address: Avenida da Praia 338, Castelo do Neiva, Viana do Castelo 4935-567, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viana do Castelo District > Viana do Castelo > Castelo do Neiva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castelo do Neiva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta do Monteverde 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This manor house was built in the 16th and 17th centuries by the Cunha Lobo Barbosa and Sottomayor family just 1 km from the sea. In 1820, the Genoese Judge Luigi Vital Monteverdi married the owner of the estate and the house became to be known as Quinta do Monteverde. The manor house was completely renovated but the interior retains the touch of the seventeen hundreds. Quinta de Monteverde is a walled estate between the hills and the sea and close to the river mouth. In Castelo do Neiva, the sandy beach rolls on and on; sand dunes and unspoilt stretches lend a wonderful sense of isolation to the surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Quinta do Monteverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing