We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, very unique retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quinta do Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, very unique retreat”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

A wonderful place off the beaten track. Stay at the manor house in order to enjoy the very special atmosphere of Quinta do Monteverde. The staff is wonderful and will assist you with anything. The garden is just beautiful and offers various places to relax and maybe just read a good book accompanied by a glass of wine. While the kids enjoy the pool.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EatWithSven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
88
112
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

What a wonderful place Quinta do Monteverde is. I had to visit Northern Portugal for a business trip but did not want to stay in any of the chain hotels, since I wanted to get a feel of Northern Portugal. Usually it is nice to go home after a business trip but this time I just wanted to bring my family and extend my stay.

The staff were all wonderful and Fatima is the best host ever. You can tell she loves looking after this property. Although I was on my own they gave me a upgrade to a wonderful apartment, with a four poster bed. You can see the ocean whilst lying in your bed, amazing. If it is available book this one, you will not regret it.

On practical issues: internet is fast and breakfast is scrumptious. It is a bit hard to find.

Room Tip: Opt for the apartment with the four poster bed. It is huge, and has great views from the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haarlemfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Perfect place to spend a resting and romantic weekend or even a week with family in a rural town !!!

If you want to visit Northern Portugal, you should spend some days in this wonderful 16th century 'Quinta', located in an authentic old fashioned portuguese town (Castelo do Neiva) - 45 min by car from Sá Carneiro Airport, 15min from Viana do Castelo and 2min from the beach.

We choose to stay in the main house, with delightful infrastructures and classic furniture. Besides, each room as an exclusive decoration and the service is excellent !
You could also stay in the cottages oustide the main building with panoramic view to the gardens, swimming pool and tennis court.
There is an unique breakfast room where it is served delicious food, homemade cakes and fresh fruits from the farm.

You could also spend quality time with the other guests, playing chess or billiards and listening some good music in the common living room :)

If you want some tips for places or local estlablishments/restaurants to visit, just ask to the lovely owners (Fátima and José Mendonça) or the rest of the family/staff! They are always available to help you !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goncalo_Rios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wavre, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We spent 10 days in July at the Quinta do Monteverde. What a charming place to stay! Excellent location and wonderful guests. Fatima, Jose and all the staff can make you feel at home and are always there if you need something.

We rented the two-room apartment “terrace house” and had all the amenities at disposition. The Quinta sits in a beautiful park and is the ideal staring point to discover the north of Portugal.

We greatly recommend to anyone to stay a few days there, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivier H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lint, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

If you are looking for something special, if you want to enjoy luxury, good food and an excellent place to rest, don't look further, this is it!!!
Thanks to Fàtima and José and staff for an excellent stay at a wonderfull place....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We spent a delightful 11 days at the Quinta do Monteverde at the tail end of the 2013 summer season. Tucked away in the unassuming rural town of Castelo do Neiva, behind raised old stone walls, this Quinta is a little piece of 16th century paradise. The ample and well cared for grounds encompass the main house, a number of outbuildings, an ancient spring, orchards, a swimming pool, and a tennis court located on the edge of a small, shadowy grove of pine trees.
We stayed in one of the converted outbuildings, a small cottage with a westerly view across the luscious lawn, taking in the house and the neighbouring church, with the sea just over a kilometre away. In the main house several rooms, tastefully furnished in traditional Portuguese style, are also available. The cottages, however, of which there are four in the converted outbuilding, have the advantage of stepping out of the front door onto the terrace and into the early morning sun upon waking up. Each cottage is provided with its own table and chairs with a sunshade, which strengthens the connection of the cottage with the garden and the swimming pool is merely a few paces away. The cottage was well furnished and spacious with separate bedroom with en suite bathroom and a comfortable and cool living room with a small kitchenette. Again, tastefully furnished in Portuguese style; although the bed was a little small and, at 1.93 m, I would have preferred something a little roomier.
Breakfast was served in the recently converted building that was formerly used to press grapes to make wine. The tasteful furnishing, which features a number of local and family artefacts, was complemented by a very high standard buffet breakfast comprising local products, freshly squeezed juices and freshly baked bread and cakes. With some good strong Portuguese coffee the perfect start to the day.
There was nothing to fault regarding service. All of the staff were extremely friendly and obliging. A gardener worked continuously to keep the groups in perfect condition and the level of hygiene and standard of cleaning was very high. The owners, Fatima and José were a mine of local and historical information and tips regarding places to visit, the best beaches and where to eat were spot on.
A common room in the lower story of the main house was open to all guests and featured a pool table, a comfortable lounge and a reading/games room, all with the mellow, musky smell that goes with an old house. And of course, tastefully furnished, a recurring feature of the Quinta. A self-service bar/kitchen area is also included for that bedtime tipple: a glass of Port in our case.
If there is any drawback to this beautiful house and its grounds, it is the location. Castelo do Neiva is dominated by recently built holiday homes and the few original, stone-faced houses of the village are lost amongst this somewhat disorganised sprawl of dwellings, which occupy a fairly large area of the fertile agricultural shelf between the sea and the hills behind. Out of season, we found Castelo do Neiva a fairly lifeless place; and, although during the day, this was hardly an issue, in the evening the offering of local restaurants was limited to the cluster of 3 or four local establishments a short drive away in the Pedra Alta area, adjacent to the small fishing harbour. Of these, Quebra-Mar (Sea Breaker) was by far the best; two of the others offering somewhat indifferent food or service. Having said that, the rustic simple fare provided was very good value for money and, if you don’t mind eating fish every night, you will at least eat well. The next town northward, Amorosa also has couple of restaurants, but for a more comprehensive choice, a 7 km drive to Viana do Castelo would be required. Occasionally, Fatima and her crew will provide a five course typical Portuguese evening meal in the breakfast room. We were privileged to experience this once during our stay and a very pleasant and comfortable evening it was too. Making this a more regular feature would certainly alleviate the rather repetitive hunt for the evening meal for those who stay for a week or more.
During the day, there is a small but adequate local beach in the Pedra Alta area and a walk through the small holdings - a scruffy collection of cornfields and melon patches - down to the sea and the peaceful, meandering river estuary is pleasant enough. A short drive northwards leads to larger beaches and extensive, partially forested, sand dunes. Day trips to local sights such as Viana do Castelo, Braga, Guimaraes and up the rivers Lima and Minho and easily enough made and, with Porto half an hour away down the motorway, the Quinta Is a good base for visiting and exploring this North Western corner of Portugal, which certainly contains enough to keep you busy for a couple of weeks. The river Douro and locations such a Bragança further east and south are more of an effort to reach and relocating to visit these is probably a better option.
All in all, I would highly recommend the Quinta. Certainly for a short stay of a few days for those touring Portugal and, providing you are prepared to compromise regarding nightlife – and especially if you appreciate low key local living – you will certainly enjoy a nice relaxing time. And, should we return, I’m sure they will have found a way to – tastefully – make the beds larger!

Room Tip: Cottages give direct access to outside areas and view of sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Der_Reisender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

In September, 2013 my wife and I had the pleasure of staying at Quinta do Monteverde in Castelo do Neiva, Portugal. The location is excellent being close to the sea and only a few minutes from the beautiful and historic city of Castelo do Neiva.

From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Fatima we felt like were guests in a very special home. Fatima and Jose are the owners of his historic property which has been in Jose's family for hundreds of years. The attention to detail is remarkable. It truly feels like you are staying in a private residence and Fatima's tasteful and artistic touch is apparent everywhere. Jose is there in the evenings to have a glass of port with guests. He is a university professor and has a vast knowledge of Portugal as well a just about any other topic that comes up.

We met a German couple who had spent the week there for their honeymoon. They said they could not have found a better place. It has been a long time since my wife and I had our honeymoon, but we both agree that it would be a perfect place.

The breakfast was delicious and the building where is was served had a cozy and inviting ambiance. People were greeting each other as they entered the dining area. All the guests seemed to be very happy to be there.

We look forward to our next visit to Quinta do Monteverde and we would recommend it without reservation.

Scott and Inge

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelo do Neiva
5.9 mi away
Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel
Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Char...
#3 of 27 in Viana do Castelo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
4.4 mi away
Quinta da Bouca d'Arques
Quinta da Bouca d'Arques
#1 of 27 in Viana do Castelo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
5.2 mi away
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel
#2 of 27 in Viana do Castelo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Flor de Sal Hotel
Flor de Sal Hotel
#8 of 27 in Viana do Castelo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Laranjeira
Hotel Laranjeira
#5 of 27 in Viana do Castelo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
4.5 mi away
Casa do Monte de Roques
Casa do Monte de Roques
#11 of 27 in Viana do Castelo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta do Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta do Monteverde

Property: Quinta do Monteverde
Address: Avenida da Praia 338, Castelo do Neiva, Viana do Castelo 4935-567, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viana do Castelo District > Viana do Castelo > Castelo do Neiva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castelo do Neiva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta do Monteverde 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This manor house was built in the 16th and 17th centuries by the Cunha Lobo Barbosa and Sottomayor family just 1 km from the sea. In 1820, the Genoese Judge Luigi Vital Monteverdi married the owner of the estate and the house became to be known as Quinta do Monteverde. The manor house was completely renovated but the interior retains the touch of the seventeen hundreds. Quinta de Monteverde is a walled estate between the hills and the sea and close to the river mouth. In Castelo do Neiva, the sandy beach rolls on and on; sand dunes and unspoilt stretches lend a wonderful sense of isolation to the surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Quinta do Monteverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing