We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maybe TOO peaceful?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains
GreenLeadersSilver level
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Maybe TOO peaceful?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We exchanged our timeshare for a week here so we could visit the Biltmore and check out Asheville as a possible retirement community. The condos overlooking the golf course were in good working order, although they show their age. The spaces within the one-bedroom unit were adequate for the 2 of us. The small deck gave us a nice outdoor space for a cup of coffee. And the resort personnel were gracious and welcoming every time we talked to them. But we're not golfers, the lake is several miles away, and Asheville and the Biltmore are over an hour's drive. We took several enjoyable drives over 2-lane, twisty mountain roads through Chimney Rock and Bat Cave but, while the visit achieved our goals, I think we'll mark the area off our "must return" list.

Room Tip: condos are set either in the trees (so the views are obstructed; think "treehouse") or ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gretchen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    57
    22
    19
    6
See reviews for
53
69
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Trinity, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had a great time. The condo was beautiful, clean and better than I ever expected. The views of the mountains even without leaving the resort are breath-taking! Very, very impressed and ready to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KeriO351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

The resort was clean and our check in was a breeze. The unit had 1/1 and it was clean. The decor was somewhat dated. We were here for a week and there were only two things I was bothered with. The AT&T wi-fi was not working and the water pressure for the shower was just a dribble. We had the place for the week just before labor day so it was not real busy as the kids had all gone back to school in the area. We took a boat tour of the lake and it was very nice. It took over an hour to get to Asheville and the Biltmore so if you plan to see more of asheville, you might want to stay closer. All in all we had a good experience. Happy travels! Oh, and the restaurant in rumbling bald called the Lakeview was exceptional.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank BeautifulBonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just spent 3 nights in a condo at Fox Run with friends. Over all not a bad place to stay. Two bed, two bath unit with a fire place. Well equipped with the exception of the kitchen. I'll come back to the kitchen. Very nice decks, furniture and entertainment systems, although the mattress in guest room needs updating. Back to the kitchen. While the basic dinner set (plates, bowls, cups, glasses and flatware) was provided along with toaster, coffee maker, blender... cook ware and utensils were lacking to the point we had to buy some in order to cook a meal. A thirty dollar investment in a non stick set of pots and pans and appropriate utensils would make the kitchen a much better place to cook. I did leave the items I bought for the next occupants. Over all, I would come back to Fox Run but I would bring my own kitchen ware.

As for the resort itself it was well equipped to entertain young and old. There were multiple swimming options (pools inside and out)and the lake with beach. A lovely 18 hole golf course, tennis, volley ball, outdoor chess and checkers, putt-putt, boats for rent and a day spa. You could spend a week and never leave the resort. But don't, as the Lake Lure area has so much offer in the way of beauty and entertainment.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank whiskmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
466 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed in a 2-bedroom Fox Run unit with some friends. The master bedroom is on the downstairs level, with a nice deck and spacious bathroom. There was a bit of a moldy smell. The upper level had a nice guest bedroom, with a decent size kitchen area and living/dining area. Also another large deck. Both decks received a lot of use as we read books and enjoyed drinks in the evening. Even saw some deer strolling through the woods.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

The condos are old and worn, but we found them clean. Our 1 bedroom lock out unit had two levels with the small living area and front door on the upper level. The stairs descended into a kitchen-eating area that lacked exterior windows and the only light was an overhead fluorescent light. (This was most unpleasant...especially since the walls were painted an institutional green color.) The fridge had a healthy ice maker, but the rest of the kitchen was lacking counter space and adequate storage. I am tall (5'7") but still had to get my husband to reach the drinking glasses. The dishwasher and laundry worked well. The bedroom had a sliding door to the deck which over looked the 7th green. The air conditioning worked well. The bed was comfortable and there was a HUGE 2 person spa tub which had an exterior window and a window to the kitchen area. Obviously the interior window to the kitchen was an attempt to provide some natural light for the kitchen, but it was more bizarre than functional. We are Wyndham owners and used "Last Call" to secure this unit. Because we paid less than $50.00 a night for 7 nights, we were satisfied, but we would NEVER pay more or use our club points to secure this unit. On the day we left the maid showed us the other half of our lock out unit. It was attractive and nicely furnished with a fireplace a a floor plan that made sense. There was NO INTERNET access in the units. The girls in the main office were very helpful. We purchased our Biltmore tickets for a significantly reduced price from the resort !!

Room Tip: Do not select the lock out unit. How to tell the difference on line? If your unit has a fireplace it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CelticRainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

My family spent 1 week at the Fox Den location. The place was very clean, but what I like most was that everyone we dealt with was extremely pleasant and willing to assist in any way. From the guard gate attendant, to the ladies working in the on site restaurant at the golf club, there were plenty of smiles from them to go around! AND, when we got home to find out our son forgot his cell phone in the room, they MAILED it to us at no charge!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sbp0401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
0.9 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
18.8 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
1.1 mi away
Fairways of the Mountains
Fairways of the Mountains
#5 of 5 in Lake Lure
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
5.2 mi away
The Esmeralda Inn
The Esmeralda Inn
#1 of 3 in Chimney Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grafton Lodge
Grafton Lodge
#3 of 3 in Lake Lure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains

Property: Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains
Address: 747 Buffalo Creek Rd, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Lake Lure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Resort At Fairfield Mountains Hotel Lake Lure
Fairfield Mountain Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing