We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house, well stocked, awesome location”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Lake Lure, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JenKE23
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, well stocked, awesome location”
Reviewed July 23, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

House is beautiful. Everything was ready when we arrived. All linens provided. Kitchen well stocked with everything you need to cook. Bedrooms are slightly different configuration then the summary. There is a king suite on main level. Super comfy bed. Upstairs is king bed and another room with 2 singles and a bunk. In basement are 2 bedrooms both with pyramid bunks. One is good but the other pyramid bed is metal which squeaks a lot and uncomfortable. All other beds good.
The resort is great. So many fun things to do. Everyone on site is super nice and friendly. I highly recommend this location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large open floorplan, game room, lots of amenities
Liked least: wifi is not robust. Usable but only one device at a time or it crashed.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2016
Dear Jennifer
Thank you for the positive review. We do strive to provide everything possible for our guests. Please feel free to contact me for returning guest discounts. Peace, Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara P
Sarasota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A quiet retreat”
Reviewed July 18, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed the area of Lake Lure, and would definitely visit again. The cabin was tucked away in a quiet area, which is a bonus. Since we were traveling with 3 daughters 19-21 years old, the bedroom set up was not ideal for us. We would have preferred more bedrooms in the main area as to not alienate anyone. One daughter had to sleep in the basement alone. In some instances, many families may prefer this set up, so this was my fault. Unfortunately, we stayed a week after a big storm went through and the internet was down. We spent a few hours working with the owner (who was very accommodating) and workers to get us up and going again. Normally this wouldn't have been an issue, but it was a school-working vacation for a family member.

The cleaning service does a good job inside, but there was loose trash outside around the cabin. This was a little surprising to me, but that is something easy for the owner to take care of with a phone call since he does not live in town.

The owners need to consider new mattresses, comfortable outdoor seating, and potentially screening in one of the porches.

Overall, I think this is an up and coming rental unit. It's in a fantastic location and the arcade games were a hit with the whole family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: location
Liked least: lack of comfort outside
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 19, 2016
Dear Barbara
Thank you for your input and suggestions. Contact me anytime for returning guest specials.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ortonville, Michigan
Reviewed July 15, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view & amenities
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2016
Dear "mrsdubster": Thank you for the glowing review, and please contact me in the future for "returning guest" specials. It was our pleasure to bring joy to your family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David H
Newark, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This place is a keeper! ”
Reviewed April 3, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This is a beautiful log home in the Rumbling Bald Resort. The house is in excellent condition. It sits on a hillside and is surrounded by trees so there is no view of anything but woods and a limited view of the sky at night, so very private. There are two large decks, front and back, that need Adirondack chairs. The house is fully equipped and cooking was easy. We are not TV watchers, but if you are the TVs are dated, tubes not flat screens. The games in the basement, fuzeball and multicade were a huge hit with everyone on the day it rained and in the evenings. They need to coon-proof the trash cans. The Resort is the perfect place for a family vacation. We played golf on both of the championship courses located at the resort. We took a boat tour of Lake Lure on a pontoon. We climbed Chimney Rock. We hiked to the 410 foot waterfall that was featured in the movie The Last of the Mohicans. We also drove the relatively short distance to the Biltmore and toured it. We will definitely rent this home again, probably in June or later because the golf courses had not greened up yet. BTW - the golf courses are beautiful and challenging.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2016
Dear David, Thank you for your positive review and for the suggestions. We are changing the TVs over (3 are flat screens and more to come,) and the suggestion of Adirondack chairs is a good one. We look forward to hosting you again. Peace, Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaPiaK...
Kissimmee, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing family Time”
Reviewed January 7, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
3
people found this review helpful

I totally recommended this beautiful , cozy Cabin for any big family that wants to spend time together. This cabin have everything you need and more. Our family really had a great experience. The view was amazing, you can fell inside a great peace. Our kids enjoy completely the play room. Great rooms, great bathroom, loved the kitchen open to enjoy together.
I want to thanks Steve for letting us be in his family Cabin. Buy the way we enjoyed to see your family pictures that gives the cabin that family Spirit. We bless you and your family in the name of Jesus.
Sincerely,
Maria Keller

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2016
Dear Maria: Thank you so much for the glowing review. It was our pleasure to offer peace and blessings. Please contact me in the future for "returning guest" specials. Blessings
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ai004
Riverview, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“family friendly”
Reviewed December 28, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here after Christmas 2015 for 5 days, and it was wonderful. Our 4 boys ranging from 17-8 loved the game room, and talked about how awesome it is. we had more than enough room and loved every moment. Everything was provided and the owner was very punctual in addressing any questions we had. We came from FL., but were super happy to see how beautiful and spacious the house was.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet and house spaciousness
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2016
Dear "ai004" Thank you for the glowing review. It is our joy to bring happiness to our guests. Please contact me in the future for "returning guest" specials. Peace and blessings!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorganBun...
Wilson, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding/honeymoon”
Reviewed November 5, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Went for our wedding family stayed for the weekend then me and the hubs stayed the rest of the week for our honeymoon. The house was beautiful and very spacious, we had 9 adults and 4 kids and still had plenty of room in the house. I would defiantly stay here again you just cant beat this house!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: it was very private
Liked least: traveled with grandma and it was kind of hard for her getting up and down stairs to get to the car
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2015
Thank you for the wonderful review, Morgan. We do strive to please our guests. Please consider us in the future. We have great rates for returning guests. Blessings, Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing