We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View and Food”

Larkin's On The Lake
Ranked #3 of 26 Restaurants in Lake Lure
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Antioch
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great View and Food”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

This restaurant is right by Lake Lure and has a wonderful view. We sat outside and enjoyed the sunset. Food was good - especially the clam chowder. We actually went twice.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lois225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    280
    138
    50
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Arrive by tour pontoon boat”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

The lunch pontoon boat tour with Sandy is the perfect way to arrive here. The view is great and the food average. The crabmeat on tortilla chips was nothing to rave about. The veggie burger was better.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank VAtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landrum, South Carolina
1 review
“Jill”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We Visited larkins on the lake last night and it was wonderful!! The view is incredible! The she crab soup was amazing and the bacon wrap scallops are a must!! We had the pecan trout and fresh corn on the cob for dinner and it was delicious! The Hubbabubba brownie dessert is awesome moist warm brownie, ice cream, and choclate yumminess!! Service was on point!! Our server Misty was very helpful with our selections and catered to our needs without hovering. We Will return to larkins again really soon!!

Helpful?
Thank Jillybean476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“View was beautiful but disappointed by service.”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Ate on Saturday night and enjoyed the outside seating. View was beautiful but service was a bit slow. Shrimp and burger were overcooked. Gave them the benefit of the doubt thinking they may have been over busy so visited again later on Sunday night. We were treated by staff like an imposition to their cleaning up to close or worse yet like we weren't even there as a server and hostess argued in front of our table about who had to sweep up! Food literally took forever, or glasses were empty, hamburger was dry and they conveniently remembered to charge is for 2 side orders of watermelon but never "had time" to bring to the table. There were approximately 10 tables full at the time. Next year there will be 9 because we won't be back. Keep it up and the view won't be enough to save you!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GAPEACHGABULLDOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great View, Decent Food ”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here after the evening Lake Lure Boat Tour for supper. Seating outside was nice and comfortable. Service was a bit slow. They had been a bit slammed at our arrival but not sure it excused the service speed. Server did not have many recommendations for us, so we made our own selections which were tasty and enjoyable. However food was delivered at the correct temp and all was enjoyable. We even had leftovers that were great. Recommended for a relaxing evening and a decent meal.

Helpful?
Thank DarkonIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Larkin's On The Lake also viewed

Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Larkin's On The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing