We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View, Mediocre Food”

Larkin's On The Lake
Ranked #3 of 26 Restaurants in Lake Lure
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The food was disappointing even though the restaurant has a great location. There are better choices nearby.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jeff O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis B, General Manager at Larkin's On The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Jeff,

Thank you for dining with us up from beautiful Sarasota Fl. I hate to hear that you thought our food was mediocre and I assure you, we will make every effort to look into all product issues. We hope to get another opportunity to win your business on your next trip to our area.

Lewis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (878)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

646 - 650 of 878 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a restaurant to visit if you can be sure to sit outside on the terrace. The food and service is good and efficient but looking down the lake makes it special.

Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis B, General Manager at Larkin's On The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Brian,

Thank you for choosing to dine with us while you were visiting from the United Kingdom. We do have a awesome view here at the restaurant and are happy to provide efficient food and service to our guest.

Thanks' again,
Lewis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Ask for a table by the window so you can take in the view. You'll look out over the lake and immediately feel you're blood pressure go down. The food was very good, but I wouldn't say it was great. The bread was dry and tasted old, but the rest of the meal was very good. My husband ordered the prime rib, which he really enjoyed. I ordered the pecan encrusted trout. It tasted very fresh and the pecan crust really added to the flavor of the fish instead of overpowering it. I think we're going to try this place for lunch. The table next to us ordered a burger that looked great!

Thank Doreen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis B, General Manager at Larkin's On The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Doreen,

Good to hear you were able to join us and had a relaxing view of Lake Lure while enjoying your meal. Thanks' for the bread comment and we will look at our product and get that issue corrected.

Hope you return soon,
Lewis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here after a long ride from MD to Lake Lure.The restaurant looked very inviting in its location by the lake, and we decided to give it a shot. The inside has a vintage, mountain lodge look with a great view of Lake Lure. The food was also excellent with incredible warm rolls, german style sausage chowder, and pecan encrusted trout with a bourbon sauce that was mouth watering. Wait staff was great and attended to all needs. Overall, a great evening at Larkins on the Lake.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dandd01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis B, General Manager at Larkin's On The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dan,

Thank you for giving Larkin's a shot and we are happy that you enjoyed the food and service. Please join us the next time you're in our area.

Lewis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

I usually don't write reviews, but after reading the last few I felt I strongly needed to disagee with the negatves. We stopped here years ago when visiting from Pennsylvania and really enjoyed it, so had to stop in again on our way home from a rode trip vacation. Almost didn't stop because of the reviews, but decided to try it anyway. Really glad we did. It was as good as we remembered. If there were problems they must have been fixed. Won't disappoint!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beckyslaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis B, General Manager at Larkin's On The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Rebecca,

Thank you taking the time to write this review; we do appreciate it and hope to see you the next time you're down from Pennsylvania.

Lewis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Larkin's On The Lake also viewed

Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Larkin's On The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing