We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a wonderful place to get away!”
other travelers have booked this property
Total privacy.  No view of the neighbors here.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Total privacy.  No view of the neighbors here.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Total privacy.  No view of the neighbors here.
110' movie screen with popcorn maker
The kitchen cook has a perfect view of the 55 inch tv
Dining room
Fully equipped kitchen with coffee maker, toaster oven, and cookware.
Main floor bedroom with King pillow top mattress, 32 inch flat panel tv, and ceiling fan
Standard shower/tub combo across from main floor bedroom with king bed
View from living room to upstairs master bedroom
Custom craftsmanship throughout entire home
Master bedroom with Queen pillow top mattress, 32 inch flat panel tv, and ceiling fan
Ensuite bathroom with shower and Jacuzzi tub.
Listen to your music on the outdoor sound system.
8 foot wrap around deck
Stay in and cook out on the gas grill!
View of the backyard from mini zipline
Horshoe pits and a fire pit off to the left.
Take a ride on the miniature kid zipline!
Private entrance
Beautiful view at dusk
Listen to the water fall from the swinging bench
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Lake Lure, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ckincaidj...
Belmont, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place to get away!”
Reviewed October 18, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I spent a recent long weekend at this cabin with another couple as a Birthday holiday and what a wonderful place we discovered! Carl, ( the owner) built the cabin himself and has decorated it with hand-crafted one of a kind pieces that are absolutely fabulous!

The cabin itself has every modern amenity from a surround sound fully equipped theater room, to Blue Tooth, whole house music and full Direct TV.

We especially loved the outdoor wrap-around porch complete with a porch swing looking directly at a rock waterfall and pond which was full of delightfully playful frogs!

The yard had a fire pit, a horseshoe pit, and even a fully functional Zip Line which we played on like a bunch of kids!

Most importantly, the house is secluded, quiet, and very conducive to relaxation. It was also only 5 minutes from Lake Lure and Chimney Rock which we also enjoyed immensely.

I hope Carl will allow us to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wrap-around porch and the Movie Room.
Liked least: The view was not as nice as we would have liked.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2016
Thank you for the lovely review! Yes, yes your group is welcome back anytime:). Carl thoroughly enjoyed meeting you all. So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrolfs
Pensacola, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very comfortable Cabin”
Reviewed April 20, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I were on a business trip to Chapel Hill, North Carolina. We wanted to add a couple days of R&R to the end of the trip. We decided to go to Chimney Rock State Park about 3 hours away. We found this cabin online and was very happy we did. From start to finish, we had a great experience. Bridget and Carl took very good care of us. My only wish, was we had more time. The cabin is plenty big and very comfortable. Carl has really tricked out the cabin with some neat electronics. The theater was really nice and he has even built a waterfall outside the cabin. The cabin is very secluded, but not too hard to find or get to. I would recommend this cabin to anyone going to this area. The cabin is also pretty close to Ashville if you want to go there while in the area. Thanks for a great visit and we hope to visit again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Theater Room
Liked least: Short stay
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2016
Thank you for the review. Please come visit again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don D
Santa Maria, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pure Enjoyment”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Strikingly beautiful home and setting. Comfort and convenience. Everything at your fingertips. Amazing home theatre with huge screen and perfect sound. Beds were extremely comfortable. Excellent temperature control. Wrap around deck and waterfall make for superb morning and evening relaxation.

Location was very private but with quick access to the lake and new grocery store.

Hosts were amazing. Just a text or phone call away at any time. It was very difficult to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beauty that went into the construction and decor. Privacy
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2015
Don,

Thank you for the wonderful review! I am so glad you enjoyed your time at the cabin. I do hope you come visit again the next time you are in NC.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon T
Elizabethton, Tennessee, United States
1 review
“Everything you'd want in a mountain cabin”
Reviewed November 11, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed over a weekend in early November. The property manager and owner were both easy to work with, especially since we brought a pet. The property was clean and had everything we were looking for, and location made Chimney Rock and Lake Lure very easy to access. The theater room was a big bonus, especially with Sunday Ticket and all the HBO, Showtime, etc. channels. Highly recommended and we would stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marti S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and Relaxing”
Reviewed August 23, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed in this beautiful log cabin in August along with my parents who are both in their late eighties. We spent evenings and mornings sitting on the wonderful wrap around porch watching birds and listening to the waterfall at night. If you are looking for peace and quiet…this is the place. Inside there was plenty of space, a well equipped kitchen and flat screen TVs in every room, with all the sports channels so my Dad could watch his beloved Red Sox play! Lake Lure has a great little beach area just minutes away for swimming and renting kayaks. My husband tried fishing the Broad River but to no avail…but just an hour away is the Pisgah Forest with the Davidson River…fabulous trout fishing there. Carl is a great host and we would highly recommend this place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsgw0119
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful, beautiful log cabin”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our family of four stayed in this lovely cabin last week. The place is very charming and the detail that went in to building the home is truly amazing. Carl should be recognized by some type or building organization for his unique craftsmanship that went into the home and a lot of the built-ins and free-standing furniture in the home. It was really nice to be somewhere and not have any noise or distractions. Our boys loved the backyard zip line and we all really enjoyed hanging out on the deck. Bridget and Carl were both great to work with and very responsive to any questions that we had before or during our stay. The tech options are also great as wi-fi is an integral party of our lives (sometimes not a good thing?) but it made the kids very happy and we never had a problem. The media/theater room was great but we honestly didn't use it as much as we thought we would. The TV over the fireplace worked great and we could still see outside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The home itself, the wraparound, the waterfall, the beautiful woodwork, working with Bridget and Carl, a very homey feeling, speakers on the deck, availability of towels, toiletries
Liked least: Tiny coffee mugs and some fruit flies in kitchen sink area
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewed January 5, 2014 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing