We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Home Cooked Meal”
Review of Huckleberry's - CLOSED

Huckleberry's
Price range: $5 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The History of Huckleberry's Lake Lure In the early mornings of high school, you could find Michaila in the kitchen at Huckleberry's Lake Lure stirring up all kinds of "goodies." In April 2012, she began serving a full breakfast and lunch menu six days a week. By May 2013, Michaila had hired an Executive Chef, Jim Camillo, to join her in bringing you the restaurant's fine international cuisine. She also expanded to seven days a week in the Lake Lure Season. In December 2014, she opened another location in Tryon, NC, "Huckleberry's Tryon." The Tryon facility took off so fast and furious, that in May 2015, Chef Jim and Michaila closed their Lake Lure location and moved to Tryon full time.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Home Cooked Meal”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We saw Huckleberry's on our drive to Rumbling Bald Resort in Lake Lure and wanted to try it for breakfast. We thoroughly enjoyed the home cooked meal of eggs, bacon, & blueberry pancakes. Everything is made fresh from scratch. Prices are very reasonable and we will be back. A neat idea is a booklet is at each table so one can share their experiences while at the farmhouse restaurant complete with front porch and big rocking chair. What a find!

Helpful?
1 Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huckleberry959, Owner at Huckleberry's, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Morning Greg,
Can not wait for your return visit, but in the meantime, please upload your big chair photos onto our facebook page. I think yesterday alone, I saw over 50 people taking their photos on that huge purple rocking chair.
Have a safe holiday weekend, and thank you for a nice review.
Huckleberry's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    38
    13
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Quality Breakfast”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

A very enjoyable breakfast. The food was great and all the waitstaff went out of there way to make sure we were well taken care of. Be sure to try the the huckleberry jelly. A real treat.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huckleberry959, Owner at Huckleberry's, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Good morning,
Thank you for joining us for breakfast this holiday week. Our Huckleberry Jam is one of the only items, that we do not make on site, it is made for us out of Kentucky. (no local Huckleberry's here), and we are so thankful for the amazing family that makes it, and for Hector who trucks it in.
Michaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Breakfast”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We were looking for a late quaint breakfast and and we found it at Huckleberry's. We got eggs, bacon and pancakes, cooked to perfection. The house was very quaint, relaxed and pleasant. Perfect for our quick little get-away from our busy lives.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dotila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huckleberry959, Owner at Huckleberry's, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Morning Dotila,
Was wonderful to see you both in the early mornings. We agree, Ms Jackie is a awesome breakfast cook, and I am so pleased to hear, your meal was cooked to perfection.
Please stop in the next time, you come to the lake.
Michaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamondhead, Mississippi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday Dinner”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I liked everything! The restaurant is in an old house which is cozy. The wait staff were attentive and helpful. The food was wonderful! And the chef was very personable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Divadi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huckleberry959, Owner at Huckleberry's, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Happy Birthday, and Thank you for spending it with us. I am so glad you had great weather while you were in Lake Lure and please have a safe trip back to Mississippi
Michaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Didn't stay for dinner.”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We like to have a glass of wine with dinner. Aside from not serving any, it felt like we were walking into Grandma's. Though there were several tables filled, it was quiet enough to hear a pin drop. We read the menu and left.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank AlbertAnsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huckleberry959, Owner at Huckleberry's, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Okay,
first review ever, that I do not know how to respond to.
So I am guessing, I got points off for not serving wine??? But that's a guess.
Like walking into grandma house,,,,Again not sure what that means, when previous guests wrote that it was good, but maybe this person did not have good grandma house experiances???
Quite as a pin drop, again no clue,,,we are casual, romantic, country establishment, not a nite club, applebees, fatz or a beach front club, so again no clue if that was good or bad, that our place is quiet.

Overall they did say they were looking for a wine with dinner, so that is the only hard comment I have to go by, that we are just a BYOB establishment.
I am going to assume they were looking for a bar/casual fast food establishment like a chain theme or beachfront establishment, and I apologize we were not a match for them this night.
Maybe when they are looking for some dim lighting, casual romantic, homey feel they will return with their own bottle of wine, (which saves $$$$$$$) and dine with us.

Sorry, folks I have no answers here.
Michaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huckleberry's also viewed

Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
 
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
 
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing