We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Lake Lure area”
Review of Huckleberry's - CLOSED

Huckleberry's
Price range: $5 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The History of Huckleberry's Lake Lure In the early mornings of high school, you could find Michaila in the kitchen at Huckleberry's Lake Lure stirring up all kinds of "goodies." In April 2012, she began serving a full breakfast and lunch menu six days a week. By May 2013, Michaila had hired an Executive Chef, Jim Camillo, to join her in bringing you the restaurant's fine international cuisine. She also expanded to seven days a week in the Lake Lure Season. In December 2014, she opened another location in Tryon, NC, "Huckleberry's Tryon." The Tryon facility took off so fast and furious, that in May 2015, Chef Jim and Michaila closed their Lake Lure location and moved to Tryon full time.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We were visiting Lake Lure and staying at the Wyndham. We came across Huckleberry's and thought it looked really neat. Checked trip advisor and it sounded really good. So we tried it. OMG it is the neatest place. We always look for quaint, small restaurants and this fit the bill. We are from Louisville, KY and are very spoiled because we have so many options for this type of restaurants. The menu was unbelievable for such a small restaurant. We had lunch and then went back for dinner. Everywhere we go, we try the fried green tomatoes and I have to say, these were the best we have every had. Dinner was great...they do a great job and the service is excellent. We recommend this place to anyone traveling to Lake Lure. The choices of restaurants in Lake Lure is very limited and this place is a gem!

Thank Ron and Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huckleberry959, Owner at Huckleberry's, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Wow Ron and Terry- what a great heading, Best place in Lake Lure Area. !! Thank you for that blushing compliment.
I am so glad we meet your expectations in dining. Yes, we are a small restaurant,
but we are mighty in spirit, taste, and hospitality.
Stop bye again and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 131 of 203 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

Small restaurant in converted house. Lovely homey decor relaxing and visually interesting. We had pumpkin stuffed french toast with real maple syrup and a wonderful omelette. I could eat breakfast there every day. Wholesome foods prepared by a talented chef.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huckleberry959, Owner at Huckleberry's, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Goodmorning Mr New York-
Great to hear you enjoyed our restaurant and the Lake Lure Area.
Yes, myself and two other members of my staff, including Chef Jim, are all graduates of
Johnson and Wales University. GO Wildcats!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

No matter if it is breakfast, lunch or dinner-great meal. The bakery is a plus for to go items. Wonderful and friendly staff working very long hours but always made you feel like family

Thank KB1718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
d p, Owner at Huckleberry's, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Goodmorning,
Many thanks for the positive review and help in bringing new guests into our establishment.
We are open Tues thru Sundays in Nov and Dec and we are closed Thanksgiving Day.
Dinner Reservations are highly recommended and all meals for parties of 4 or more.
Have a great winter 2013 and looking forward to seeing you in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

When vacationing with good friends at Lake Lure, we decided to try Huckleberry's based on Trip Advisor reviews. Are we ever glad we did!! The six of us had a really wonderful dinner (prime rib for some, trout, fillet, and the chocolate pork chop), and the service was excellent. Very comfortable and cozy and welcoming. I look forward to a return visit the next time we are in the area!

Thank JoanFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
d p, Owner at Huckleberry's, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Ms South Carolina-
Thank you for dining with us from SC. We do look forward to you all joining us again sometime. Our Chef changes our menu often, so please check back on our website for new menus. You may also follow us on facebook till you return.
Reservations are recommended for groups of 4 of more and we are always BYOB.
Have a great holiday season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We went for lunch came back for dinner then went the next morning for breakfast. Each meal was wonderful. The staff is friendly and attentive. The chef is a real gem. We will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chelewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
d p, Owner at Huckleberry's, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Good Morning repeat customer-
Thank you for taking time to write a review. Our staff is wonderfull and I just enjoy bragging about them, Debbie our head waitress, is a true one of a kind charm, always smiling. And works her heart out trying to serve her customers. Our Chefs are all wonderfull and do a great job in the back of the house for you all as well. Winter is arriving quick, and they are rolling out their many differant homemade soups for you all to try each day.
Please have a safe trip home and looking forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huckleberry's also viewed

Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
 
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing