We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to spend an hour”
Review of Lake Lure Tours

Lake Lure Tours
Ranked #3 of 20 things to do in Lake Lure
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the beauty and charm of Lake Lure. Relax on one of our covered tour boats while your skipper guides you past local attractions and landmarks such as the locations used in filming the popular Dirty Dancing and the recently restored historic 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa. Listen to the legends, and learn about the natural and cultural history of Hickory Nut Gorge, home to Lake Lure, North Carolina.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great way to spend an hour”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My family was on our usual fall folliage trip to the Blue Ridge Parkway and we decided to go thru Chimney Rock/Lake Lure. Never considered taking the boat ride before, but, saw the tour sign, said "Let's turn back and do it." Great idea. It was fun, informative, relaxing, and the tour boat guide was very good. Sometimes you take a boat tour like this and you can't wait to get off the boat because the stories are boring, but this captain was entertaining and told the stories in old southern Andy Griffith style. Don't recall his name but he has been at Lake Lure since 1975. The best photo opportunity is at the far end of the lake where the boat turns around and shows you the million dollar view looking back at Chimney Rock. Also have camera ready for the Bald Eagle who lives in the tree tops. I was so impressed with the beauty of the lake that I am planning a trip next summer and stay at the lodge.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kedron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    50
    11
    1
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
eL cAJON
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is an excellent narrated tour of the lake. Loved it and learned so much about the area. It is well worth taking. J.C.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joyce c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Lure, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lake Lure Beautiful”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I moved to Lake Lure from Pennsylvania in 2006 and knew I found heaven.We took the boat tour so we could learn the history of the lake. It was a great learning experience and a wonderful way to see our beautiful lake. Since than we purcheased our own boat so we could experience this wonder everday.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lakelover28756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lake Lure Memories”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very good tour guide. Loved seeing where my husband stayed at age 12, and enjoyed learning the history of Lake Lure. Worth every cent!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wvpud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GREAT local history & FUN!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Our tour guide knew so much about Lake Lure and it was fun learning as he was telling the stories. We felt very safe as the pontoon boat traveled around the lake (one hour tour). Have recommended it to everyone who visits us. They, too, really enjoyed it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Lure Tours also viewed

Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
 
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Lake Lure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing