We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mainly took this tour to see the Dirty Dancing location.”
Review of Lake Lure Tours

Lake Lure Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the beauty and charm of Lake Lure. Relax on one of our covered tour boats while your skipper guides you past local attractions and landmarks such as the locations used in filming the popular Dirty Dancing and the recently restored historic 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa. Listen to the legends, and learn about the natural and cultural history of Hickory Nut Gorge, home to Lake Lure, North Carolina.
Clover, SC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Mainly took this tour to see the Dirty Dancing location.”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We mainly took the tour to see the Dirty Dancing Location, but enjoyed the whole trip. It was a very relaxing boat trip and learned a lot about the surrounding area and saw lots of beautiful houses.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Petey05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    53
    11
    2
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
115 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Well worth the money.”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

If the weather is nice, you'll really miss an experience if you don't take this tour. It's very much worth the money. You'll learn a lot about the area and its history as well as see many beautiful and interesting houses. Plus, it's just great to get out on the water. We've been to Lake Lure several times and always enjoyed it but didn't know what we were missing until we took this tour this time.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank NC7007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Boat Tour in the Fall Foliage”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We did this during the feak fall period and it was great ,the guided boat tour will cost just $15 per person and children under 4 can go free .Small boat with guided tour was just perfect for a peak fall foliage trip. We need a hotel near this place around 30 minutes drive and that would very economical for 2 days stay instead of staying in Ashville and pay big hotel price during the peak folliage week. Also try the Chimney rock so one can do both attaractions the same day. Try to be early the first tour boat starts at 11 am and you can complete the trip by 12 AM and then get to Chimney Rocka and spend rest of the day there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank rams484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A relaxing way to see Lake Lure”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

While it is true that one family "owns the town" you have to admire the way the emphasis is on providing a low tech experience.

We enjoyed the pontoon boat tour of the lake. Our "captian" was informative although we did question some of his facts about the lake properties - but it was still an enjoyable 1.5 hours on the water. Prices were reasonable at $16.00 per person w/a senior rate of $15.00.

We would like to take the boat ride at the peak of leaf peeping season!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank flsunandfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“PONTOON BOAT TOUR OF LAKE LURE AT RUMBLING BALD RESORT”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We really enjoyed this boat tour. It encomposses 90% of the lake and the "captian" was informative though some of her "facts" about the lake properties a little shaky. $16.00 per person $15.00 for seniors. Takes about 1 hour 45 minutes to 2 hours so hit the bathroom, if you have a weak bladder, before you get aboard. There are no stops on the basic cruise. They also have a lunch cruise and diner cruise which you can check out on the Rumbling Bald web site.
You will see the site of the filming of the Dirty Dacing movie at Firefly cove as well as some beautiful mansions along the lake. Nice smooth ride. No waves, for those with motion sickness. Fantastic fall colors in November.

Now the lady from Boise was our guide and she was a hoot. She seems to enjoy her job.

As for the shaky facts, Just for the record there were no "two sisters" owning Blue Heron Point or family fighting to get a piece of the land when they died. It was one women who inherited the land from her father who purchsed large tracks of the lake during the 1930's depression. and left it to the school whe she died. The school sold it to developers. You can google "Blue Heron Point Lake lure" for the whole story. :)

The competition is theTown Marina pontoon boat cruise. We went on it last year and they only covered about 50% of the lake. Takes about 45 minutes to a hour. The guide had very little information except about the dirty dancing site. BY FAR Rumbling Bald tour was the best. The resort is about 5 miles from town center. Type in Fox Run Blvd if you have a GPS and it will take you right to the security gate where you will need to get a free pass to enter. The tour is right in front of the LakeView restaurant which is a few feet past the entrance. Just park in the adjoining parking lot and walk down to the little cabanna and dock at the lakefront and sign up. Cruises several times a day.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
15 Thank marci477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Lure Tours also viewed

Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
 
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Lake Lure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing