We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
tennessee
113
Reviewed June 14, 2006

we were going to lake lure inn to enjoy the weekend, it was nothing but.
Check-in went fine and we were going to have a coupled massage that
day (Friday) @ 5:00. We got to the spa, went to the massage room and
had a 45 min. massage with a manditory 20% tip. This I thougt was at
our discrection, otherwise it just should have been part of the price.
I didn't have a propblem with tipping I just felt the amount should have been
my decision. The rest of that evening was good.
Saturday morning we got up, had breakfast and planned on spending the
day by the pool and relaxing @ 10:30 a couple of people came and begn
placing decorations for a wedding all around us and other people there.
This was annoying so we ask what was going on, there was a wedding
scheduled by the pool @ 2:00 and it would be closed the rest of the evening.
This was VERY UPSETTING because this was what we had came here for,
come to find out there were 3 wedding taking place on the grounds and the
pool, dinning room, and parts of the grounds would be off limits. At about 4:00
we headed to the bar for a drink before going OUT to eat....the bar was full
of upset guest, so we were not the only ones. We all said we would meet
back there after dinner. We were there having drinks and @ 8:30 the bartender
rang the bell and said he would be closing! We were so upset we and some
other guest were going to leave but there were not other rooms available in
the area. I had ask before dinner what time the bar closed and was told
midnight on saturdays. We never got an answer as to why.
The music by the pool for the wedding was VERY LOUD! This was a very
disappointing trip and will never go back. If you have plans to go be sure
to ask if there are any events planned during your stay, if so, don't go.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

932 - 938 of 949 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago, IL
14
Reviewed May 30, 2006

We spent two nights at this beautiful old inn on the lake and didn't have a single complaint. The rooms were small, as would be expected in a 1920s-built inn, but they were well-furnished and clean, with comfortable beds and gracious wood armoirs. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, and we enjoyed lounging in the beautiful lobby area or the spacious hallways on the upper floors equipped with seating in the extra-wide halls. Our dinner at the restaurant was superb--diverse menu, good wine list, attentive service, and excellent food. Though we stayed in December, I'm sure a summer trip would be even more lovely as the hotel has direct lake and beach access across the street. For those of you looking for the conveniences or spaciousness of more modern hotels, you may want to look elsewhere. For those looking to step back in time to the days of gracious lakeside inns, this is your place.

  • Stayed: December 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2006

We just returned from a two-night stay at The 1927 Lake Lure Inn. The Inn (listed with the National Trust for Historic Preservation) reflects the gracious style of another era. Our suite (the Swayze) was beautiful and overlooked the lake. It consisted of a living room, small kitchen, bedroom and spa room with over-sized, jetted tub and two upholstered chairs. The complimentary continental breakfast, served in the elegant dining room, was the usual buffet of fruit, bagels, muffins and cereal -- but the orange juice and homemade granola kicked it up a notch. There is a small bar/lounge off the lobby and a covered terrace off the dining room. An exterior door at the bottom of the center staircase provides access to the pool. The housekeeping staff does a wonderful job of maintaining the common areas and guest rooms. The 1927 Lake Lure Inn is a gem and we will return.

11  Thank BTraveling47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Davidson, NC
19
Reviewed April 20, 2006

My husband and I went to the Lake Lure Inn for Easter weekend. We had a wonderful time and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. I was given much time on the phone to help us choose a room, and when we arrived we were shown two choices available. During our stay we were shown all the suites because we want to come back with some of our family and wanted a "gathering room". As we expected at an older historic inn, some of the features of a modern motel were not present, but we loved the warmth and elegance of the inn. The food was very good. We had a wonderful dinner cruise on the beautiful lake on a pontoon. We enjoyed several groups of people we met over the weekend. We may make this an Easter tradition. Nyra Brannan, Davidson, NC

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2006

Good things (see below for bad things):
I just returned from the 1927 Lake Lure Inn. I almost didn't stay there after reading the unfavorable reviews. But I decided to give it a try, since I have always admired the beautiful hotel from the outside while passing through the area. My girlfriend and I took a quick break from husbands and babies and went to Lake Lure to see the HGTV dreamhome. We really enjoyed the hotel. Our lake view standard room was very well decorated and very clean and appeared to be recently renovated. I think most of the rooms on the front of the hotel have a lake view, but not the kind you normally think of. Since it is a historic hotel, it just has standard windows, not large panoramic windows/sliding door like you have at a HoJo. But you can walk over to the window and look out of it (while standing) and see the lake. Our room was not the least bit dusty or dirty. It even smelled clean. The bathroom was spotless. Not a hair nor a spot of mildew in the shower, and clean in every way. The bath included a nice shaving/makeup mirror in addition to a large standard mirror. It had a built in hairdryer and a nice quality of individual shampoo, conditioner, lotion, etc. Our room TV was mounted to the wall, so that left the armoire completely open for storage. There was an iron in the armoire and two extra blankets. There was an overhead light and lamps, so there was plenty of light for reading. It had a wall unit for heating/cooling and the heat worked very well. The front desk staff was very nice, especially Christi (see notes below). The lobby was beautiful. The dining room was nice but I only ate the continental breakfast there. The continental breakfast was included in the price and it was the usual stuff: danish, yogurt, muffins, bagels (with toaster), cold cereals, a homemade-looking granola cereal, cut fruit bowl that tasted fresh, coffee, orange juice, etc. The pool was closed for winter but looked nice and had a lake view. (Contrary to a review I read, you do not have to walk through the dining room to get to the pool although you can reach it that way.) One of the best things about the hotel are that in addition to having its own restaurant and bar, you can also easily walk to other restaurant/bars. If you want to go out and get a few drinks you don't even have to worry about who's going to drive. There is also a boardwalk on the lake's edge, right across the street from the hotel. It would be a nice place for an evening stroll in warm weather. Hint: If you go to the dreamhome, show them your ticket stub at checkout and they will give you a big 15% off. Wow!!

The bad:
The room was pretty small, but I expected that in a historic property. I didn't find that it limited our enjoyment. There was an ice bucket and glasses and a very fancy bottle of water "branded" for the inn in our room. There was a note that said the water would cost $5 which is no different than paying for mini bar items in other hotels I guess. One major problem with the hotel is that they don't have ice/drinks/snack machines. However, you can get ice at the front desk and they will go and get you a nice icy fountain soft drink for free when the restaurant/bar is closed (Christi kindly brought me one and a refill because I was thirsty). The bar closed eariler than advertised in their paperwork. It was listed to close at 11pm but when we went to get a drink at 10pm, it was already closed. But we were there on a very slow, rainy winter night so I can understand an early closing.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank tarheelluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
North Augusta, S.C.
16
Reviewed February 17, 2006

Hotel was ok. The bed was too big for the room. Not much room to get around. Was charged $10 for taking the bottled water from the room. Didn't know the water had GOLD in it!

Stayed: May 2004
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2006

You cannot possibly pan this hotel adequately. Aside from some interesting lobby furnishings, this is a definite DON'T DO IT. Nothing could be more mismanaged than this "renovated" over priced, cramped, drafty, pitiful relic. The difference between a deluxe room and a standard is a closet. Want a drink? Cant have one. The only thing availble is a $5 bottle of water in each room, which Spa Manager Lori says was a mistake order that they didnt have to pay for but charge guests for AFTER they leave the hotel if it is missing. Ice is scooped from a cooler behind the front desk if you take your ice bucket all the way down to the lobby. Like coffee? Dont look to get any if the restaurant is not open....no coffee makers, no refridgerators except in the exceedingly over-priced "suites" and there isnt even a microwave for the employees, let alone the guests. Want to use the pool? You get to march through the dining room in your suit as it is the only access to the pool. I have a better tool shed than "Johhny's Cabin" which has an outstanding view of the parking lot and dumpster. Dirty Dancing may have been filmed in part there tho renovations have removed the resemblance to the movie. It is no small wonder Patrick Swayze never stayed at the inn despite the impression he did because of the "suite" that bears his name...which is the ONLY room that remotely has a "view" of the lake. And dont come downstairs in the middle of the night or you will probably catch the rotund General Manager sleeping on the couch in the lobby. The front desk clerk that has been there the longest has been working for an entire two weeks and heaven help you if you need an iron. Like the hanging lamps in the lobby....get your own at Lowe's. Like the totally non-period couch in the suite? Pier 1 imports. Walk around the second floor and you KNOW where the smoking rooms are as it reeks in the hallway! Your company picking up the bill for the room? They will tie up your credit card with the full charge until check-out and if you are very lucky, someone at the front desk will figure out how to untie it. Want to treat your spouse to something special? Get it somewhere else. The $25 for a tray of chocolate covered strawberries is a joke with about a buck's worth of content that may or may not get delivered to your room as/when requested. Want satisfaction from the General Manager? Good luck finding him as the staff notes he is rarely there. I would stay away too if I were him. And dont bring a cell phone, there is no signal for miles and miles and miles. And miles and miles is what you will drive if you follow the directions on their website. Just dont do it. Motel 6 will keep the light on for you but the tacky heat and cool air conditioners in your drafty cramped room will not make you feel at home. Of course, if you want to pay $10 for a Margarita, the converted porch bar is the place to go to get warm. Hope that the wind does not blow during your stay as the hotel front doors continually slam with each gust and will keep you up endlessly. Haunted? Hardly. The "face" that appeared in the woodwork in the dining room, which quite frankly I dont see, is a result of poorly kept wood whose finish has disappeared and is screaming for a touch of lemon oil. No small wonder the last important person to stay there was FDR. If YOU stay there, you will see just how unimportant YOU are, and be treated accordingly.


  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Kandiandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
0.9 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
117 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
139 reviews
3.1 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Esmeralda Inn
The Esmeralda Inn
#1 of 4 in Chimney Rock
600 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lodge on Lake Lure
The Lodge on Lake Lure
#2 of 3 in Lake Lure
350 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riverside Lodge at Chimney Rock
Riverside Lodge at Chimney Rock
#3 of 5 in Chimney Rock
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa

Address: 2771 Memorial Hwy, Lake Lure, NC 28746-6320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range: $116 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mtns, The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa is a haven of peace and tranquility. Our spectacular setting has long been a favorite for weddings, banquets, conferences and retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1927 Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure
Lake Lure Inn
1927 Hotel Lake Lure
1927 Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing