We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful setting, but once the novelty wears off the hotel is just so-so.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We drove up from Atlanta to have look at lake properties on Lake Lure and spent the night at the inn. My first impression was of a very charming, nostalgic lake front hotel. We were originally booked in the beach motel but wanted to stay in main building and the staff was very accommodating to our request. The bed was quite comfortable but the room was indeed tiny and there was no closet. Since we were only on an overnight, it wasn't a terrible inconvenience but if we'd had more luggage it would have been problematic. The bathroom was also very small and there was nowhere to put our things. There's a window a/c unit in the room which in such tiny quarters make an awful lot of noise. I didn't get a good night's sleep but my husband had no complaints. There was an expensive bottle of water ($8) left on the table and a small TV overhead. Our experience with the staff was very satisfactory and they were professional. We walked over to the cafe for breakfast and found the food to be hearty and portions were huge. The prices were very reasonable. The hotel itself has a lovely feel to it, slightly dated but that is what brought us there. Not much connection to the Dirty Dancing moving that they are fond of associating themselves with though. A small giftshop in the lobby had some memorabilia but that was about it. The area itself was amazing, peaceful, and picturesque. We liked the sandy beach area across from the hotel with picnic, swimming and fishing access. Also boat rentals were very close by. It was a nice place for a very short stay, but a bit over-priced for the room size and quality. The pool and gardens are lovely and we did have a small view of the lake out our window. We stayed in room 217, which is supposed to be haunted, but the only thing that haunted me was the noisy air conditioner. I would have welcomed a ghostly visitor rather than trying to sleep with a pillow over my head all night.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terrygatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (965)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

907 - 913 of 965 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2009

This hotel was a great experiance for my wife and I. We live in NC and ride up to Lake Lure a lot but this was our first overnight stay and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel. The staff was friendly and the place was sparkling clean. The room was a little small but for its age the place was wonderful. Be sure if you stay here to read about the ghost, we didn't see anything about it till we were checking out and it would have been cool to check out the areas it is suppose to roam.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BadX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

My hushand and I stayed at this inn on June 27. We were greeted by the doorman with a warm smile. The inn is a true southern beauty! The antique collection was extensive and a pleasure to see. The staff was friendly, and everything was clean and tidy. Our room was a bit small, but full of histoic charm. Our stay was a pleasure, I hope to be able to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeepin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2009

My wife and I stayed last week for two nights for our anniversary, and as a getaway for a few days. Lake Lure was just the right distance from home, so we chose the 1927 Inn and Spa. Upon arrival, we were greeted at the door, and were able to check in even though we were several hours early. Of course it rained, but we found the Inn to be a great place for some "down time". The room was a bit small, but we were comfortable. The room was nice and clean. We chose the Outdoor package which included a lake tour, carriage ride, tickets to Chimney Rock, and 2 nights. We were very close to the lake tours, Chimney Rock, and shopping.
We chose to eat breakfast and lunch at the restaurant located just around the corner; an informal place which has great food. We received a discount since we were guests at the hotel. We celebrated our anniversary at the restaurant. Service was great, and the food was outstanding. Earlier in the day, we were told that the carriage ride was not available, so instead we were offerred dinner which we gladly accepted. The front desk and housekeeping staff were all great. The only thing that I did find a problem was that the wireless internet was not always strong enough to maintain a good signal.
Now, I want to comment on some of the reviews that I have read below, and written prior to the new year. Do not expect the 1927 Inn and Spa to be a 5 star hyatt regency or the Biltmore. This facility was built in 1927 and rather than destroying history, they have opted to restore the hotel to its original charm. We came here expecting to stay at a historical site and were not disappointed. Take a walk in the hotel and you will see a lot of history. Next time, we will probably reserve a larger room, but we were very pleased with our stay. If you stayed here prior to 2009, try the 1928 Inn and Spa again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmpmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the 1927 Lake Lure Inn in May for his birthday. It was fantastic. The reception was quick and easy. We stayed in the lodge behind the hotel and was discouraged at first until we opened the room. It was comfortable and quaint. There were numerous weddings going on but the entire staff did everything possible to make our stay pleasant. They were extremely organized. We ate in the Veranda restaurant and the waiter was excellent. He was very informative about the weekend's festivities and recommended several places to see. The meal was incredible; very fresh.
We walked around the lake during sunset and it was beautiful. We came back to the hotel for drinks and the wait staff/bartender were everything they should be: Friendly, informative and warm. The lobby was simply divine. We sat in the lobby with our drinks taking in the weddings, music and hustle and bustle of the evening.
I highly recommend this hotel if you're looking for a quiet, comfortable and easy-going trip. Don't expect the Ritz but expect high class comfort and warmth.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilexleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

We stayed one night at the Inn, the room was nice with 2 queen beds, but very tiny, only walking paths in front of and between the two bed, bathroom was adequate and clean but you could not open the bathroom door and the door to the room at the same time...For almost 200 dollars for one night, the room was just average...

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovesSleep1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

The Lake Lure Inn and Spa is a really nice place for a getaway. All employees- from chef to front desk were friendly and made us feel welcome. Their spa is nice and worth visiting; Eric, the spa manager is doing a great job creating a comfortable retreat. Dinner was very good, especially the rack of lamb. Lake Lure is a pleasant town to walk around in. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lpnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
0.7 mi away
Chimney Rock Inn
Chimney Rock Inn
#4 of 4 in Chimney Rock
32 reviews
13.3 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#2 of 6 in Flat Rock
336 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
20 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
21.6 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa

Address: 2771 Memorial Hwy, Lake Lure, NC 28746-6320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range: $99 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mtns, The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa is a haven of peace and tranquility. Our spectacular setting has long been a favorite for weddings, banquets, conferences and retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1927 Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure
Lake Lure Inn
1927 Hotel Lake Lure
1927 Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing