We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a great time at a great place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had a great time at a great place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

We were only able, on this trip, to stay for two nights. It was our first trip to this area. The Inn was not exactly what we expected. It was better. It was 1927 or more probably a 1950s 1960s era Inn. Window air conditioning, and a small shower with a lot of water from the shower head. It felt wonderful. The windows open to let in the clean mountain air, if you like. The furnishings in the Inn are worth taking the time to examine. The Inn staff and the Spa staff were very helpful and friendly. We visited Chimney Rock for the first time and also the village of Chimney Rock. We did not have time to use the beach facilities but we plan on returning soon to do so. It was a great get-a-way for my wife and I.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    197
    72
    52
    35
See reviews for
234
296
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Port, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

Amazing location next to Lake Lure. Where Jennifer Grey & Patrick Swayze stayed during the filming of Dirty Dancing. Pet friendly. Neat history. Small room with huge king bed. Friendly staff. I'd go back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, GA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

My visit was during the beginning of the week and I enjoyed the quiet time and great location. Accommodations were very comfortable and the staff accommodating as well. Beds were comphy! Recommended! Beautiful area of Western NC.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maloftin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

This is a lovely, old (historic) property. Do not expect large rooms and for everything to be "perfect" as in a new facility. That is part of the charm. The pool is absolutely beautiful and it over looks the lake. Be sure to eat breakfast on the veranda over looking the pool and pool grounds (they offer complimentary coffee and danishes/fruit every morning). The little town of Chimney Rock is super touristy, but really quaint and the riverwalk area is so beautiful and peaceful. Of course, Chimney Rock state park is not be missed. Skip swimming in Lake Lure at the beach across the street. Just enjoy the pool over looking the lake for free!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nktraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful old inn. Rooms were small however we truly enjoyed our stay. Would recommend Madinas for breakfast and Larkins boat house for dinner. The inn was filled with antiques. Just fun to walk around and look at all the clocks and music boxes from a different Etta. Especially enjoyed the player piano on Sunday in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marywootten100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovettsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for my daughter's wedding. We stayed in the Swayze Suite, which is, in our opinion, the best room in the hotel. My daughter and her new husband stayed in Johnny's Cabin. Some of our guests stayed in the main hotel and some in the motor lodge rooms. The staff was friendly and helpful. The Suite and the cabin were roomy, but some of the rooms in the main hotel were barely big enough for the bed and had tiny bathrooms. All the rooms were clean and beautifully decorated. The event manager, Patrick, did a wonderful job of seeing that all our needs as a group were met. We were so busy we never did get to the pool! We had a bonfire and S'mores on the beach arranged by the hotel which was great fun. My brother and his wife took advantage of all the nearby hiking trails. Asheville is about 45 minutes away if you want to experience more of the city life. There was a nice range of prices on the rooms. Only problem we had during our stay was the inability to get cell phone service inside the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dalawon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archdale, North Carolina, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

I love historic buildings and vintage/antique appointments and the inn delivers on the atmosphere. I was visiting for a cycling event and stayed in the motor court, so I didn't get the full on experience of the main building. The room was nice and very clean. The shower was a little small but serviceable. The staff was all wonderful and friendly. I was in a corner location, so I did not get a view out my window and the parking space outside my room was not accessible. There were two weddings that weekend, so I didn't have access to the pool area but was made aware of this immediately upon making my reservation and decided to stay anyway. Overall, I was very pleased between the quality of the room, the location in relation to all the attractions of the area. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Melissa0migod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
15.4 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
4.4 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
21.6 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
2.1 mi away
The Esmeralda Inn
The Esmeralda Inn
#1 of 3 in Chimney Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lodge on Lake Lure
The Lodge on Lake Lure
#2 of 3 in Lake Lure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa

Property: The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
Address: 2771 Memorial Hwy, Lake Lure, NC 28746-6320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mtns, The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa is a haven of peace and tranquility. Our spectacular setting has long been a favorite for weddings, banquets, conferences and retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1927 Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure
Lake Lure Inn
1927 Hotel Lake Lure
1927 Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing