We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip back in time ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Certificate of Excellence
Central IL
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A trip back in time ...”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

If you want to step back into the 1920's AND the movie Dirty Dancing, this quaint little place is a must see! We stayed in the beach view rooms, which were like a "motor court" from the 1950/60's, but conveniently connected to the main hotel -- room was small, but adequate for the two of us and bed very comfortable. The hotel is full of period pictures, antiques and such. You can actually stay in bungalows where they filled the movie as Johnny's cabin and Baby's Bungalow (see pics). The whole area is amazing to sight see through with the mixture of old/new, simple/extravagant. Great restaurants on/off the lake. Great boat ride tour of the lake and areas where movie was filmed -- 6pm time is best for cooler breezes and setting sun! One drawback, if you call it that, the hotel restaurant/bar is not open all the time so we did not get to eat there, but we did catch the bar happy hour one evening and the young bartender was very entertaining, sharing stories/information about the area/hotel. Lots of touristy shopping/souvenir type stores just up the road. Another drawback was the public beach opposite the hotel ... once it closes for the evening it fills up with geese in the water and on the beach ... I think they prepare the beach area for guest, however I would still be wary about stepping foot over there with my kids!! Overall, we spent two days in this area and absolutely enjoyed every minute, truly like we stepped back in time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSVance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    235
    89
    59
    37
See reviews for
300
358
18
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed at this for a "destination wedding" and they did a very good job, food was very good, service excellent, etc. We stayed in a motor lodge room at the rear of the hotel. Very clean, good mattress, small bathroom and a smaller shower. Everything worked fine; however, be aware that WiFi internet access is spotty to non-existent. They really need to fix that. The Lake Lure area has very limited cell phone service, virtually none for Verizon

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teblom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We were married here in June of 2013. The inn itself has a lot of charm and dates back to 1927. Many eclectic antiques are on display throughout the hotel. The grounds are attractive but the scenery of the surrounding mountains is breathtaking. The staff has been mostly friendly, I witnessed one small incident that disappointed me but certainly is not enough to make me complain about the hotel. The accommodations were excellent. I stayed in a king suite on the beachside part of the hotel before the wedding. The room was spacious and comfortable. After the ceremony we stayed in the Patrick Swayze Suite which is awesome. I definitely recommend staying at the Lake Lure Inn. If you are planning a wedding, consider the LLI and all of its amenities, also ask for Patrick B. to be your planner. He was attentive and fulfilled all of our requests.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stopped by Sunday June 16th (Father's Day) to have a drink in their beautiful bar. Not only was the restaurant closed but the bar was closed as well. Asked someone at the front desk why and they said "not enough business to keep it open."

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We've stayed before in the off season and had a nice time. This time mid June arrival on a Saturday. Things were busy on Saturday but overly so. A wedding on site shut down the pool and restaurant, no big deal. The issue I had was that on Sunday the place was completely empty. No spa services, bar or other amenities. Monday was the same way so we ended up just checking out despite the comfortable room.

The foreign gentleman that checks you in makes you feel like he's doing you a favor by just talking with you. He needs to go

Room Tip: Just a very average, overpriced place to stay with a nice view (outside of your room).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank romingnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed in the motor lodge at the rear of the hotel, room was very clean, king size bed, wonderful mattress and sheets, 2 styles of pillows firm and soft, bathroom looked newly remodeled except paint need touching up a place or two. We were there on Sunday night and the dining room/bar in this 1927 hotel was closed but the lobby/dining areas are very nice and we are sorry we missed that experience. Overall a good experience, the property is in a cove of a beautiful mountain lake, we also took a boat tour of the lake that was cool but very enjoyable and close to the hotel, a small store/ .gas station and little strip center building with a restaurant built in the same style is there also. There is also a restaurant at the end of the motor lodge called the Smokehouse that had a good breakfast, We will stay there again if we get through there hopefully when the restaurant is open.

Room Tip: Some reviews are complaining about small rooms, just stay in the motor lodge probably built in the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roamer7456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I recently attended a wedding at the Lake Lure Inn with my wife. After reading some reviews we tried to stay elsewhere but my wife was convinced by her best friend the bride that we should stay at the Inn. I don’t want to sound like a snob. We don’t live far and are fairly simple people. But after what we spent for the room and the condition of the stay I would have to say that the Inn doesn’t care about anything other than the weddings.

When we checked in to the Inn the room we got in the main building smelt like a combination of musty closed in and animal matter. Our request for a different room was met with an excuse that the Inn was full. There were multiple weddings. Even though we went to attend the wedding, we were hoping for a wonderful romantic stay. All we could think about while in the room is the possible germs that hid behind the smells. The housekeeping did try to air freshen the room but this only made it worse.

The wedding at the Inn was really nice. But other than attending a wedding there is NO way we would ever return. Maybe they should renovate. If they are booking so many weddings they must want to preserve the building. Overall my wife and I give it thumbs’ down.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
0.9 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
112 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
136 reviews
15.4 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
2.1 mi away
The Esmeralda Inn
The Esmeralda Inn
#1 of 4 in Chimney Rock
586 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lodge on Lake Lure
The Lodge on Lake Lure
#1 of 3 in Lake Lure
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa

Property: The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
Address: 2771 Memorial Hwy, Lake Lure, NC 28746-6320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mtns, The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa is a haven of peace and tranquility. Our spectacular setting has long been a favorite for weddings, banquets, conferences and retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1927 Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure
Lake Lure Inn
1927 Hotel Lake Lure
1927 Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing