We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Vintage Hotel, like "Somewhere in Time"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Certificate of Excellence
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
121 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Vintage Hotel, like "Somewhere in Time"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We booked two nights in the Lake Lure Inn because our grown children/ families were using our lake house. We had visited the Inn before but had no reason to stay before this. We were pleasantly surprised at the atmosphere and upscale amenities offered. There are vintage player pianos and music machines in mint condition in lobby and on each of the 3 floors, sitting areas on the landings, lovely paintings. The inn is closed during the weekdays off season. There was a wedding reception in the dining room but it did not bother us (the band) when we went to the bar for dessert. The room and bath were very clean. There was a coffee maker in the room although coffee and pasties were complimentary in the lobby 7-9 am.
A souvenir blue bottle of Lake Lure Inn water in the room was $6.50. I could not find any Kleenex until the second morning (it was in the medicine cabinet). Plumbing very nice, high end shower head. my only complaint is that I did not have a light to read with on my side of the bed! I mentioned this on checkout.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JosetteG200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    152
    61
    47
    34
See reviews for
180
221
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wewahitchka, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great stop over with motorcycle group,, excellent staff,, small rooms,, lots of paintings, pictures & documentary hanging in the hall ways. Kitchen was closed while we were there,, Mexican restaurant next door. Alt 74 to Asheville,,Excellent curvey road for bikers,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sawmillbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My wife and I come here as a special getaway for special occasions. This time we stayed in the "Patrick Swayze Suite" and enjoyed it very much. It's a five room corner suite with jacuzzi, kitchenette, king bed, and living room. This hotel is one of the great old hotels of the last century. It's filled with paintings, furniture, and last century charm. Really if you are looking for bright lights, cowds, and 21st century furnishings, you're in the wrong neighborhood! Here, there is a nice pool, lots of sitting areas, classic artwork, and the grounds have Grecian statues and beautiful landscaping. A player piano plays classical and early 20th century classics during dinner and you feel like you are transported to an earlier time, back to the 1920's and 30's when even a sitting US President could visit and enjoy being among his constituents. Gentlemen don't have to dress up for meals but they'll feel better wearing a sport coat to dinner. This is where the cast stayed during much of the filming of the old movie, "Dirty Dancing" but other movies were filmed in the area as well. The rooms are old but have that old elegance as well. Another treasure here are the people who work here and enjoy sharing the Inn with guests. There is also MUCH talk and interest in GHOSTS who, the staff has honestly come to believe, play little tricks on them and the guests. Nothing bad or frightening, just fun or strange. If you are looking for modern luxury go to a Hilton in some city. Here you will get a taste of what it was like for people of privilege back in 1927. This hotel is a special gem from a bygone era and a privilege to experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel have a great view of the lake and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NC7007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Three of my friends and I enjoyed a great weekend at Lake Lure Inn. The rooms were small, but had a fabulous charm and the Inn was more than we expected. The staff from the young gentleman at the entrance, the bar, the restaurant, the front desk, and the housekeeping were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The location was perfect and an awesome setting from sunrise to sunset. Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

This place is gorgeous and has that old
time charm, but the highlight is the Sunday brunch- it is amazing! The service was excellent, very friendly staff. The Inn is conveniently located to so many different attractions but is an attraction all it's own. Don't miss the apple festival nearby if you are staying Labor Day weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNSel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Hanging their hat on the movies filmed in the area, small rooms, limited food options & somewhat stuffy staff, we were just passing thru. Glorified motel with a huge price tag. Rooms comfortable but small.

Room Tip: All rooms small so pick what you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jinjiang, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

beachside hotel?
how bout a $120 a night MOTEL that labels a beautiful view of the parking lot as beachside, provides no refrigerator, claims free amenities that dont include shaving cream, doesnt even serve hot breakfast, you have to practically beg to get your room cleaned, it aint a room, its a walkway around the bed, curtains are translucent, so forget the darkness. the only smurfy things were the early pool hours and margaret the bartender.
$370 for 3 nights in a motel (that's no [--] haunted, btw)? 'nuff said. if this is your decision, its a poor 1.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank humblehueman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
0.9 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 3 in Chimney Rock
4.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
4.4 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
3.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
15.3 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
2.1 mi away
The Lodge on Lake Lure
The Lodge on Lake Lure
#1 of 3 in Lake Lure
4.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Esmeralda Inn
The Esmeralda Inn
#1 of 3 in Chimney Rock
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa

Property: The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
Address: 2771 Memorial Hwy, Lake Lure, NC 28746-6320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mtns, The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa is a haven of peace and tranquility. Our spectacular setting has long been a favorite for weddings, banquets, conferences and retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1927 Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure
Lake Lure Inn
1927 Hotel Lake Lure
1927 Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing