We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I think everyone overrates this hotel personally...the rooms are small and there was no bathtub in our room only a shower.....on the other hand though the staff were all extremely nice the food in the restaraunt was great. The couples massage was beyond amazing....I would definitely eat there or pay for services in the spa again I'm on the fence though about weather or not we would stay in the inn again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (963)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

851 - 857 of 963 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here. The hotel is full of historice decor. The hotel was very clean. The staff were very friendly. The rooms at the inn are a little small, but very clean. Internet was free. View from my room was great-direct view of Lake Lure.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side of the Inn have a direct view of Lake Lure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgravitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We came for a friends wedding which was lovely, The Hotel was built in 1927 and full of art Deco furnishings. The hotel has a very old world feel to it. The staff was great. We loved living in a part of history! Well worth the stay. Great Sunday Brunch as well.

Room Tip: rooms in front have a lovely view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBrownVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We really enjoiyed staying at the Lake Lure Inn. They were very helpful and nice during the whole stay. When we checked in, we had a room in the inn, which would have been a little small for us with our baby's play yard, so they had us move to the motor inn portion. The rooms were much bigger with plenty of room for us. The rooms were very clean.
The location is excellent, right across from the street from the beach which made it easy to take the baby down or run up to the room to get something without worrying about walking through the old hotel in our swimsuits. Not that you have to even go tot the beach, with the nice old pool they have. It may not be new looking, but it is clean and nice to use just to cool off.
We wnet over 4th of July, and we got to enjoy their barbeque buffett. I thought it was going to be a picg picking, but it actually was a nice sit down meal with a lot of options, including several gluten free choices.
My only complaint was that, being in the motor lodge section, we had neighbors sitting out front of their room smoking. No matter what, some of the smell would waft into our room.

Room Tip: Suites in the motor lodge are different sizes, some with jaccuzi tubs, some with shower only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piratejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was a classy stay at a historic inn. The rooms are small, as to be expected with a historic inn. Everyone I interacted with on staff were courteous and helpful. The bar was more than adequate, and the food was good but not spectacular. Wonderful location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bz3rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This hotel has retained it's feeling from "way back when" in the 1920's when it was built and such a huge tourist draw.It IS old. If you are looking for new and modern and all that jazz, go to a Hampton Inn or whatever. If you want something different, in the mountains and with a great location then go somewhere else.

Our room had new bedding, was clean, nice TV and the bathroom had been recently updated and was really nice. One drawback was the wall unit AC was *right* next to a bed. It wasn't a big deal for us (I just slept with our daughter and my husband scooted way over to get away from the AC).

The pictures and artifacts lining the hallways are wonderful. We learned a lot about the Lake Lure history. Admittedly, some of the portraits in the hall are CREEPY!! My daughter was convinced the eyes were following her (huge Harry Potter fan there !) but not in a bad way.

We did not stay for breakfast or eat there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrt55857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed in the 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa in May 2012. The location of the hotel is perfect right in front of the lake. The main building where the restaurant is located is really beautiful.

We had the motel rooms behind the main building. These are definetly less attractive than the main building. Rooms are a bit runned down. Bed is old not in particular good shape but it is allright for 1 night. Free wifi in the room.

We were also in the restaurant for dinner which was quite nice. Dishes are not very expensive (around 20USD), wine list is interesting as well. It was very nice to dine on the terrasse with a view on the lake. The people at the reception and at the restaurant were very nice and friendly.

Overall, you should really go in this hotel for what it represents in terms of history not really for the rooms which are a bit outdated.

By the way, there are some pictures of Dirty Dancing in the room to remind you why lots of people come here also! For the die hard fans of Dirty dancing, you should go while it is still possible to the real stairs where Baby was carrying her watermelon! just PM me if you want details of the location! (hotel was not able to provide such info!)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank florent1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
0.9 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
120 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
142 reviews
13.3 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#2 of 6 in Flat Rock
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
2.1 mi away
The Esmeralda Inn
The Esmeralda Inn
#1 of 4 in Chimney Rock
606 reviews
1 mi away
Riverside Lodge at Chimney Rock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa

Address: 2771 Memorial Hwy, Lake Lure, NC 28746-6320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range: $99 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mtns, The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa is a haven of peace and tranquility. Our spectacular setting has long been a favorite for weddings, banquets, conferences and retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1927 Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure
Lake Lure Inn
1927 Hotel Lake Lure
1927 Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing