We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe all the bad reviews”
Review of Fox Run Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fox Run Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Reviewed May 4, 2004

My husband and I just returned from a week at Fox Run Resort at Lake Lure (4/24 - 5/1), and we had a great time. Before our trip, I read the reviews of Fox Run posted on this site, and I became very leery of our trip. I have to say, I worried for nothing.

We got our directions to the Welcome Center from AAA and found the resort with minimal effort. The staff at the Welcome Center was very friendly and very helpful. The map and directions they provided to the resort were excellent and very easy to follow.

Perhaps it was because we were there in the "off season", but we did not have to pay the $50 activity fee, and we still received the $15 per person discount at the Bald Mountain Golf Course.

My husband and I are beginner golfers, and the Starter at Bald Mountain took good care of us. When she noticed that we were feeling rushed (trying not to hold up other golfers behind us), she offered to let us come back in the afternoon to play the rest of the course when it was less crowded. We decided to keep playing, since we'd made other plans for the rest of the day, and so the Starter gave us 9 free holes of golf with an afternoon tee time the next day. In our opinion, this was above and beyond her duty, and we were extremely grateful. And she was right--playing in the afternoon was much more relaxing. I also recommend bringing your camera--the back nine at Bald Mountain's course is very pretty.

The unit we stayed in was clean and well-stocked with towels, linens, soap, dish detergent, and laundry detergent. The kitchen in particular could have used a face lift, but everything was clean and comfortable. Our biggest disappointment was not being able to burn anything but Duraflame logs in the fireplace. But otherwise, the unit was great. We could easily have slept 6-8 people in our unit, even though it was just my husband and me.

For the people who complained about the twisting, winding Buffalo Shoals Road, it's really not that bad if you follow the speed limit signs. It reminded my husband and me of the Road to Hana on Maui.

We also went to Chimney Rock Park, and my advice would be to try going in the afternoon. We were there as soon as the park opened, and while the view was still great, it was pretty hazy. Perhaps it would have been clearer in the afternoon? When the guides and the signs tell you that the Skyline Trail is difficult and strenuous, BELIEVE IT! It was a great hike, but my legs were shaking after coming down through Needle's Eye. Definitely try to plan at least 5 hours there if you want to see it all. The 3 hours we were there was not enough.

Food: We had some great meals during our vacation, but the absolute best meal we had was at the Point of View restaurant at the intersection of Buffalo Shoals and HWY 64/74a. The crab-stuffed mushrooms are amazing, and the Chicken Pierre and Shrimp Diane were fabulous.

Overall, we had a great time at Lake Lure, but I guess it's all about what you make of your trip. We were there to have a good time, and although we were one of the few couples under 40, we still had a great time.

39  Thank dhungarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 145 of 145 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Mountain Home, Arkansas
117
Reviewed November 22, 2003

The reviewer from Minnesota is all wet, in our opinion. We rented a townhouse for the third week of November, and were delighted with the accomodations as well as the scenery around the area. Of course, we Southern folks may not be as hard to please as some of the folks from "up nawth."

The only "problem" we experienced (and it was minor) was that the garbage was not picked up during our stay, and ALL the cans were full.

Thank you, Fox Run, for a great time. We love North Carolina . . . and we LIVE in a "resort" area in Arkansas, i.e. Mountain Home.

Dr. and Mrs. Charles R. Treuter

17  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
116
Reviewed September 13, 2003

September 5-11: Not a good time:I was uneasy about going to this resort as I wanted to go elsewhere but there were no vacancies in Charleston, SC. We had already deposited our time share (Marriott) and as we couldn't go to our first choice, a representative from Interval International vacation clubs really talked up Fox Run. It is really out of the way and the fact that you have to sign in off property and then go a few miles down the road to get to the villas is inconvienent, to say the least. Once on the grounds, the fun begins. Trying to find the condo on a mountain that has about 7 different complexes while watching for people and cars that are also lost and searching is not for the weak. The villa was clean and everything we needed was there so that was one plus. Unbelievable as it sounds, if you wanted to go in the pool or play mini golf, you had to pay $50 a week for the privelege of doing so;add in towel rental @75 cents per towel, plus the fact that you had to drive down the mountain to get there, and you lost your desire for a little swim real quick. Please bring as much food from your home as possible as the local grocery store is 20 miles away. And I don't mean straight miles! The roads turn and twist and many times as you are going around corners, you can look straight down to a deep gorge with no guardrails between you and the drop! It took me 2 days to get my nerve up to go it alone and drive to Chimney Rock where I was a little disappointed to find not too many local made crafts. The scenic beauty of the place is wonderful, but the extra charges and disorganization in general left us with the feeling that we would not be back there again. There are only 2 places to eat on the property and the main dining place had a wedding reception going on, so we went across the street to a walk-up and order place with a very limited menu. Point of View restaurant, about 10 miles away, is very good for dinner and on Tuesday nights they had a special, prime rib or trout for $12.95. Excellent choices. All in all, I cannot recommend Fox Run.

16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2003

Fox Run was definately not what my family expected. We went the last week of June 2003. The unit was nice, big and airy although some things need to be replaced as they are quite worn. It is located far away from any grocery stores so I would suggest bringing as much as you can foodwise. There are a couple of "convenient" store, but very high priced. I needed some Pepto Bismal for an upset stomach and paid $7.00 for a tiny bottle! I think its a big rip-off also that they charge you $50/family for and "activity fee" to use the pools, etc. They will also charge you extra if your kids want to play mini golf and forget about renting a boat...very expensive! The lake was murky looking and not very inviting, my kids would rather be in the pool. Nothing is close to this resort either...we drove up to Boone and it took us about an hour. There wasn't much to do, unless you like to play golf or hang out at one of the pools. We rented movies for night time at $3 a pop and you better not return them late or they charge you a late fee! This place seems to nickel and dime you for any extras! We ended up checking out 2 days early because we had alot of rain the last night we were there and the roof was leaking onto the T.V., furniture/carpet. We moved everything and called maintenance who told us they would be out in the morning. We never saw them and called to find out when they were coming and was told they didn't know anything about it! When we went to check out, I very nicely gave the lady at the desk this information as well as informing her if we hadn't been up after midnight their T.V, ect. would have been ruined and she told me, in a rather nasty tone, I should have called the security gate! To report a leak in the roof I asked? I called maintenance just as it advised in their little info book that is always in the room. She remained to be nasty and never offered an apology or anything. It just left a very bad taste in my mouth and my family and I would never return here.

18  Thank Cassidy528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2003

Fox Run is hard to find and directions given at check in for the town home were inadequate. There were two couples in our group and we each drove around and around Lake Lure for over an hour trying to find the place. There are about 800 townhouses in Fox Run and more with other groups, and they all wind around in the hills. The Townhouse was large, airy and everything was supplied, however wall paper was ripped, floors needed to be repaired and they had 4 leaks in the livingroom roof, which we called about and never heard answers on. The dining area at the golf course was closed because of a wedding party. We went to the one main eating place on the lake at 6:30 on a Saturday. We were number ll. At 8:30 they had finally called up to Number 3. We left, and all the places to eat were closed. ( If you go,expect a ton of driving to get simple supplies, so bring food etc with.) The Lake itself is pretty but over the 4th of July, it was scummy and did not look like it would be anything you would want to swim in. The boats are overpriced and quite small. The golf course was nice. Chimney Rock is pretty but not quite as grand as the brochures make it and when they talk about Asheville being close and the Biltmore close etc, they are a bit misleading. Nothing is close in the mountains. The spa was nice, however it is in the bathroom. We were hoping for one on the deck. They also do not have any grills near the town homes and the stove in our unit needed to be regulated as it burned everything. When we checked in we were told we could only have the place until Thursday and made plans accordingly. At check in time we were told we booked it till Saturday and needed to pay until Saturday. We also had written 3 times asking for confirmation on our stay and did not receive notice. We finally called from MN and taped the conversation. Since we had the conversation taped stating we only were staying until Thursday, they did rebate our money for the other days. We did like the size of the bedrooms and the closets and it is a nice place to have a family vacation. We had 4 adults and two children and it worked well for us. The other thing to be aware of is the heat! The humidity was terrible and it was over 90 degrees all the time we were there. The air conditioner was set at 65, it's lowest setting and it only cooled the rooms to around 87 degrees, and with the humidity that was not cool enough for those of us from the North woods. There is quite a bit of shopping in the small towns such as Chimney rock, but the home crafted items are mainly inferior products. I would recommend eating in Chimney Rock at Laura's. It is two stories, light and airy and serves homemade biscuits and apple butter that are to die for. They seem to be on top of things and the waitresses etc were good. A meal runs around 7.95 and includes 2 or 3 side dishes, that are native to the area such as fried green tomatoes, corn bread, cobblers etc. You can't eat all the food. If you have children the pony rides are nice. The ponies are walked around a scenic lake and families fish, etc. I would also recommend the pontoon rides on the lake. The price was fair and the girl guide excellent.

19  Thank Minnesotatnorthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ernnie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
4.5 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
4.8 mi away
Chimney Rock Inn
Chimney Rock Inn
#4 of 4 in Chimney Rock
32 reviews
0 mi away
Fairways of the Mountains
Fairways of the Mountains
#5 of 5 in Lake Lure
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#3 of 6 in Flat Rock
336 reviews
19.6 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
17.6 mi away
Ramada Hendersonville
Ramada Hendersonville
#5 of 11 in Hendersonville
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Run Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Run Resort

Address: 180 Herman Wilson Rd, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9338
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range: $168 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fox Run Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Fox Run Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Run Hotel Lake Lure
Fox Run Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing