We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Sureno Mexican - CLOSED

El Sureno Mexican
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
bonaire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Very Friendly, good food with good prices. Was clean and in good shape. Across the street from the lake with outdoor seating.Good bar choices.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank debra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food great people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

enjoyed a nice mexican meal on the back porch by the river. real nice folks! cant wait to go back and see them again

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank denis s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Moved and have a new name: El Lago”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

This restaurant has moved to the shopping center right across from the beach (next to Lake Lure Inn). It has a new name: El Lago. We had a wonderful dinner there...the food was fresh, with obviously from-scratch tortillas and salsa. Our family had the beef burritos, cheese dip, pollo loco (excellent with fresh veggies, etc.), and the shrimp tacos w/ crunchy shell. All were very tasty and fresh. Our waitress was very attentive and friendly ,and we were also asked numerous times by different servers if we needed anything. The restaurant had a A rating for inspection (96.8), so hopefully, it's cleaner than other reviews have mentioned at the old location. This was the best dinner we had in Lake Lure: better than many of the "nicer" restaurants that are ranked higher for the area! Authentic southwestern food and a very convenient location make this a must for Mexican food-lovers--it's also the only Lake Lure Mexican restaurant. Good Mexican beer selection and margaritas, too!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank l4grem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Huge Portions for dinner and an extensive menu! staff is friendly

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank MARIA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No longer in business”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

We were hoping to eat here last week, because we had enjoyed the food last year, but as of May, 2012, it is closed.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianne457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sureno Mexican also viewed

Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
 
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
 
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing