We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous location - the perfect mountain-lake getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lodge on Lake Lure
Ranked #2 of 3 Lake Lure B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
atlanta, ga
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Gorgeous location - the perfect mountain-lake getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

Get a room with a view of the lake and a private porch.Well worth it. Rooms and bathrooms were updated, very comfortable and top of the line. We were on the lower level and would have been perfect except for hearing the people in the room above us, but only for one night, and that's what you accept when you stay in a historic property. Walk out on the boathouse and enjoy the million dollar view from it. Then take one of the inn's canoes out on the lake. Don't miss the complimentary afternoon wine and appetizers. Breakfast was delicious every morning. They seem to have thought of everything.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dts55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    45
    16
    5
    7
See reviews for
42
235
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Conover, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

The Lodge on Lake Lure was a lovely place to stay for our anniversary but pricey!!! We started out our stay with a massage that was very relaxing. Once finished, we ventured out to explore the lodge and grounds. Our bedroom was fairly large with a king bed, private deck and a fireplace that ofcourse we didn't use since it was August. The bathroom was unique with clawfoot tub and seperate shower and two pedastal sinks. A large bay window that overlooked the lake was also in the bathroom. The decoration was not fancy but very comfortalble. It was very clean also. The greatroom and other sitting areas were large with lots of sitting areas so you could relas outside your room if you chose too. Breakfast was served from 8-9:30 and was very nice. The only negative I would say about our visit was that we felt the management was not very friendly. They spoke if you had a question but didn't really acknowledge you as their guest. I feel in a place like this the owners/managers should go out of their way to make you feel at home and this just wasn't the case. Both my husband and I noticed this. Still all in all it is a great getaway!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suegirlnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
132 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

The Lodge on Lake Lure is idyllic for a peaceful short or not so short vacation. The pictures in their website were true to what we found and from the moment we arrived I could not wait to discover the property. Had a quiet time sitting by the water edge and admire the scenery and I must say that it took my breath away. The only thing that spoiled it was that we had quite a bit of rain almost from start to finish of our vacation but even so the beauty of the area is unquestionable. I posted a few pictures in my Facebook page and many of my friends wanted to know where I took them. Last but not least, the staff greets you and makes you feel at home from the moment you check in until you leave the lodge. I hope to go back in the future and will and have recommended to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angiefl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
159 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

A group of our pilot friends flew into this area for the 4th. One of the group members has a house on Lake Lure and recommended the Lodge. We were thrilled with our accomodations and the wonderful breakfasts we enjoyed each day. The Lodge sits on Lake Lure and our friend was able to pick us up each day by boat. Some of us stayed in the Lodge, which is older and more rustic (but still beautiful). We stayed in the lower building just next door. This building has 4 units and is a bit more modern. There are full wrap-around decks on the ground and upper floor, but you never feel like the adjacent guest is on top of you. The rooms are romantic and roomy. Bathrooms were super big (except the shower, which my husband complained didn't have a decent shelf to put your shampoo on. There is a gas-burning fireplace in the room, but the gas was turned off for the summer. Big, comfy beds, pillows and comforters. Really nice!

The main lodge breakfast room overlooked the lake with big picture windows. Each morning we were treated to semi-sit-down service, made to order omelets, fresh scones and coffee, tea, juices. The fresh fruit was served in a parfait glass on white table cloths.

This place is not cheap, especially on a holiday weekend. I believe the prices go down on non-holiday dates.

Take someone special for a romantic weekend. It's really worth it!!

PS: Although they said the entire lodge was wireless, our new IPAD would not work in our room or the breakfast room. Ditch the computer for the weekend!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscriminatingDiva08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, NC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2010

The Lodge on Lake Lure is a nice, quiet well appointed bed and breakfast. My wife and I spent a very relaxing weekend there the first weekend in June. Our room had a private deck that over looked beautiful Lake Lure. The views were wonderful and the area was very quiet. I would think the views would be even nicer in the fall when the leaves change. Our room also had a large (big enough for two) claw foot tub with a bay window overlooking the lake. The Lodge provided their own blend of bath salts. The view helped start an afternoon habit of a nice hot tub soak after a day around the lake or the mountains. The Lodge has a nice boat house with a sun deck that was the perfect place to catch some sun or read a book. There were also canoes available on a first come first serve basis. They also had a wine social everyday that brought out many of the guests for wine, pick ups and pleasant conversation. The Lodge has a Butlers Pantry with tea, coffee and home made goodies. Breakfast was a highlight. They would have a small menu each morning of freshly prepared entries that were as tasty and well presented as many fine dining establishments I've visited. The Lodge also has a huge classic great room and very pleasent outside areas. I could see how they maintain a very nice wedding business. My only (minor) complaint is if you are in a downstairs room you may hear folks stirring in the morning heading to the dining room. Overall I consider the Lodge a first class get away for some relaxation and reconnecting.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firstaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeway, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

My husband and I booked here at the last minute after viewing the website and were not disappointed. We both teach school and were looking for peace and quiet and found it. The staff was absolutely wonderful and the food was plentiful and superb. The view from our room overlooking the lake was wonderful. The inn was spotless. We look forward to a return visit in the fall.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank workaholic001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Trail, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

We went to celebrate our fifeteenth anniversary. It was so relaxing and peaceful. It was everything we were looking for. The room was great we stayed in the honeymoon suite private balcany. Loved the organic and green products in the rooms. The happy hour and pantry was always fully stocked with sweet treats to have. The breakfast was out of this world!!! We will be back for sure. An awesome experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pitalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
2.1 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
16.8 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
17.0 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#5 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 3 in Chimney Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
1.1 mi away
Willowbrook Inn
Willowbrook Inn
#1 of 3 in Lake Lure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge on Lake Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on Lake Lure

Property: The Lodge on Lake Lure
Address: 361 Charlotte Dr, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9833
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Lure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge on Lake Lure 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge on Lake Lure is a wonderful combination of an elegant country inn and a casual bed and breakfast - an intimate environment with all the privacy you want, furnished with art, antiques and collectibles. A large, rambling structure, the Lodge is situated high on the hillside to afford a sweeping view of the lake and beyond.Built in 1938, The Lodge was originally used as a retreat for the NC State Highway Patrol and operated by them until 1968. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lodge on Lake Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge On Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing