We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest B and B I have ever stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lodge on Lake Lure
Ranked #1 of 3 Lake Lure B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Nicest B and B I have ever stayed in!”
Reviewed July 9, 2010

A group of our pilot friends flew into this area for the 4th. One of the group members has a house on Lake Lure and recommended the Lodge. We were thrilled with our accomodations and the wonderful breakfasts we enjoyed each day. The Lodge sits on Lake Lure and our friend was able to pick us up each day by boat. Some of us stayed in the Lodge, which is older and more rustic (but still beautiful). We stayed in the lower building just next door. This building has 4 units and is a bit more modern. There are full wrap-around decks on the ground and upper floor, but you never feel like the adjacent guest is on top of you. The rooms are romantic and roomy. Bathrooms were super big (except the shower, which my husband complained didn't have a decent shelf to put your shampoo on. There is a gas-burning fireplace in the room, but the gas was turned off for the summer. Big, comfy beds, pillows and comforters. Really nice!

The main lodge breakfast room overlooked the lake with big picture windows. Each morning we were treated to semi-sit-down service, made to order omelets, fresh scones and coffee, tea, juices. The fresh fruit was served in a parfait glass on white table cloths.

This place is not cheap, especially on a holiday weekend. I believe the prices go down on non-holiday dates.

Take someone special for a romantic weekend. It's really worth it!!

PS: Although they said the entire lodge was wireless, our new IPAD would not work in our room or the breakfast room. Ditch the computer for the weekend!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscriminatingDiva08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    46
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
42
245
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stanley, NC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2010

The Lodge on Lake Lure is a nice, quiet well appointed bed and breakfast. My wife and I spent a very relaxing weekend there the first weekend in June. Our room had a private deck that over looked beautiful Lake Lure. The views were wonderful and the area was very quiet. I would think the views would be even nicer in the fall when the leaves change. Our room also had a large (big enough for two) claw foot tub with a bay window overlooking the lake. The Lodge provided their own blend of bath salts. The view helped start an afternoon habit of a nice hot tub soak after a day around the lake or the mountains. The Lodge has a nice boat house with a sun deck that was the perfect place to catch some sun or read a book. There were also canoes available on a first come first serve basis. They also had a wine social everyday that brought out many of the guests for wine, pick ups and pleasant conversation. The Lodge has a Butlers Pantry with tea, coffee and home made goodies. Breakfast was a highlight. They would have a small menu each morning of freshly prepared entries that were as tasty and well presented as many fine dining establishments I've visited. The Lodge also has a huge classic great room and very pleasent outside areas. I could see how they maintain a very nice wedding business. My only (minor) complaint is if you are in a downstairs room you may hear folks stirring in the morning heading to the dining room. Overall I consider the Lodge a first class get away for some relaxation and reconnecting.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firstaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeway, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

My husband and I booked here at the last minute after viewing the website and were not disappointed. We both teach school and were looking for peace and quiet and found it. The staff was absolutely wonderful and the food was plentiful and superb. The view from our room overlooking the lake was wonderful. The inn was spotless. We look forward to a return visit in the fall.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank workaholic001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Trail, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2010

We went to celebrate our fifeteenth anniversary. It was so relaxing and peaceful. It was everything we were looking for. The room was great we stayed in the honeymoon suite private balcany. Loved the organic and green products in the rooms. The happy hour and pantry was always fully stocked with sweet treats to have. The breakfast was out of this world!!! We will be back for sure. An awesome experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pitalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

My wife and I stayed three nights in the separate building at the lodge for our first anniversary. Every detail was thought of. The breakfast was fantastic, evening wine was great and there was always a good supply of snacks and drinks in the pantry. The views were so relaxing. Take a spin around the cove in the canoes. Chimney rock was a great day trip for us. If you do nothing else while here, make reservations for the dinner cruise at the Rumbling Bald Resort. It will not be forgotten.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tacomajason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

We loved our visit to Lake Lure, NC and especially our stay at the Lodge on Lake Lure. It seems the innkeepers and staff thought of everything. They remembered every request we made over the phone before we arrived. Their wine and hors d'oeuvre hour was full of choices and very well displayed. The view of the lake was spectacular from our room and the boat house was just a short walk down. We used the canoes to float down the river in serene beauty. We will definitely return to visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2010

My wife and I just enjoyed a wonderful weekend "we-treat" at the Lodge. The setting was perfect for just getting away and relaxing. Breakfast was outstanding and the afternoon wine and cheese was a great way to unwind from a days hiking at Chimney Rock Park. We look forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNTraveler93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
2.1 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
3.0 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
112 reviews
16.8 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
136 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
1.1 mi away
Willowbrook Inn
Willowbrook Inn
#2 of 3 in Lake Lure
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge on Lake Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on Lake Lure

Property: The Lodge on Lake Lure
Address: 361 Charlotte Dr, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9833
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Lure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge on Lake Lure 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge on Lake Lure is a wonderful combination of an elegant country inn and a casual bed and breakfast - an intimate environment with all the privacy you want, furnished with art, antiques and collectibles. A large, rambling structure, the Lodge is situated high on the hillside to afford a sweeping view of the lake and beyond.Built in 1938, The Lodge was originally used as a retreat for the NC State Highway Patrol and operated by them until 1968. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lodge on Lake Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge On Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing