We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and Charming Lodge on Lake Lure, NC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lodge on Lake Lure
Ranked #2 of 3 Lake Lure B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 17, 2009

My wife and I recently stayed at The Lodge on Lake Lure, NC and had a wonderful stay at this Bed-n-Breakfast. The view of the lake was amazing. The staff was very attentive and proactive in meeting our needs and requests. As a frequent traveler, I highly recommend The Lodge on Lake Lure.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VLVAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 351 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2009

We recently visited The Lodge on Lake Lure with another couple and had a wonderful trip. It was so serene and beautiful! It was close enough to visit The Biltmore in Asheville but far enough away do nothing but relax and enjoy the scenery. It was fantastic. I would highly recommend the Inn to anyone. The food was fantastic and the staff so friendly. They go out of their way to keep their guests happy. Our room faced the lake and it was so nice to sit and watch the moon over the water and hear the crickets. I wish I could go there next weekend!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palmal75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2009

We spent four nights at the Lodge in the Magnolia Room. The balcony offers a view of the lake and the beautiful grounds. The room was very comfortable and furnished with antiques. The common areas are spread out and allow for privacy. The breakfast each morning is cooked to order and delicious. The late afternoon appetizers and wine are also delicious including at least one hot dip as well as cheese and crackers. This afternoon event allows for fellowship among guests and we met several enjoyable couples and shared a couple nights out with one of them.

This trip is our first to stay at Lake Lure but we will definitely be back for another stay at the Lodge. The hospitality was perfect.
We were celebrating our wedding anniversary during the stay so the inn providied complimentary champaigne for our special day.

The complimentary canoes are fun for a few hours out on the lake to relax and enjoy the mountain views. The grounds are well manicured with lovely flowers and vines.

Don't miss this special place.

Thank GraceWSt_Augustine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We absolutely loved our stay at the Lodge on Lake Lure. It was very beautiful and peaceful. Our room had a view of the lake and Chimney Rock Mountain. I have travelled all over the world and can't think of any place I have stayed that was any nicer. Our room was very cozy - immaculate & the bath was to die for. The soaking tub overlooking the lake was the ultimate luxury. We enjoyed the "wine @ 5" with snacks as well as the first class breakfast. I will definitely come again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zackwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

The woman who runs this lodge likes kids who are "seen" but not "heard." There is a grand piano in the lodge, but as she pointed out "it is only for children who have had years of lessons!" Some adults were instructed to not let their 14 year old children be unaccompanied without an adult in the lodge. Thankfully this was not an issue for our family. She has lots of mean-spirited quips to make, but mostly stays out of your way.

Our room was extremely small, it had a king bed and a pull out bed for one child. We were not told that the room only accommodated 3 people until after we arrived. However, we were charged an additional $38.00 per child for, "extra towels and their breakfast." I thought $300 dollars a night seemed extremely excessive for the level of service and the unpolished room decor.

This hotel's major asset is the lake setting. We enjoyed the lake location and the restful nature of the hotel. The lodge great room is spectacular and some of the staff are approachable and good-natured. I found the food at Lake Lure to be deep friend and not healthy and fresh. My recommendation is to go to Asheville to eat. It's only a 40 minute trek through the mountains, but well worth the entertainment.

We were later told that sometimes the $38/kid fee is waved - but it wasn't for us. I believe the fee is totally unfair and jacks up the price to an unreasonable amount. I think this is a wonderful place for a couple who wants romance but not for a family with kids.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jomary46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

This was our first time to stay at a Bed & Breakfast. The Lodge is a perfect place to stay if you want to get away from crowds and traffic. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Every morning breakfast was served in the dining room overlooking Lake Lure. We stayed in the Library room, which was very nice. I especially enjoyed sitting out on the shady, private deck, reading and just enjoying the beautiful lake and mountains. I would recommend this place for couples. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MimiLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2008

This place is amazing. We booked two nights. With taxes and fees it was $440.00 total. There are a few cheaper rooms but we wanted a lake view. Even so, plan on a minumum of $175.00 total a night. There are two buildings. The main lodge and an older home about 30 feet away converted with several rooms. The latter has interconnected doors and would be perfect for family gatherings. We booked a room with a large shared deck and a lake view just off the main lodge in the second building. Although a shared deck there is plenty of room and we were alone everytime we sat out. The bed was ever so cozy and comfortable we didn't want to get up in the morning. Very quiet area and the staff are wonderful. Always helpful even after probably answering the same questions a 1000 times before. Breakfast is included and the dining area has a wonderful 5 star view of the lake. Real china and cloth napkins make you feel special. One morning it was fresh blue berry pancakes and another omelets. Plus all the other self serve choices, juices, cereal, toast, muffins etc. you can help your self. Lots of cozy secluded places to hide if you want and just enjoy a good book . Down the hill is a beautiful boat house deck where we enjoyed our included evening snacks and wine. Lots of little extras like stamped postcards in your room and free B&B Book. As animal lovers we enjoyed Ms. Elle and Cocoa the Lodge's outdoor cats. Cocoa hangs out near the boathouse and will be glad to show you the canoes. The cats kind of just show up but don't bother you unless you want. They seem to know who would like to pet them and who wouldn't. Free use of a canoe was a great way to get out on the lake and enjoy the beautiful homes and mountian scenes. Several near by restaurants and an huge Ingals store with large deli within 3 miles. We loved Larkins restaurant right on the lake and the Ingalls store is 1/2 mile east of Larkins. If you are infirmed in any way keep in mind it is about a 150 feet down hill to the lake. They have paths but if you have medical problems it may be difficult. OK, you may want to know was it worth the price? You bet and we will return!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mar12321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
2.1 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
2.8 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
141 reviews
3.0 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
#3 of 11 in Hendersonville
498 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
4.2 mi away
The Esmeralda Inn
The Esmeralda Inn
#1 of 4 in Chimney Rock
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge on Lake Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on Lake Lure

Address: 361 Charlotte Dr, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9833
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Lure
Price Range: $155 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge on Lake Lure 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge on Lake Lure is a wonderful combination of an elegant country inn and a casual bed and breakfast - an intimate environment with all the privacy you want, furnished with art, antiques and collectibles. A large, rambling structure, the Lodge is situated high on the hillside to afford a sweeping view of the lake and beyond.Built in 1938, The Lodge was originally used as a retreat for the NC State Highway Patrol and operated by them until 1968. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Lodge on Lake Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge On Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing