We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded and comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lodge on Lake Lure
Ranked #1 of 3 Lake Lure B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Foster City, California
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Secluded and comfy”
Reviewed August 12, 2008

Wonderful place for a romantic getaway - the lodge is set up above the lake with wonderful views. Kathy, the general manager, was very friendly and had great information about local places. We booked a garden view room and it was very comfortable, well equipped and supplied bathroom too.

Afternoon tea and evening cocktails are provided in addition to a cooked to order breakfast.

  • Liked — Relaxed atmosphere, comfy publc rooms
  • Disliked — Bathtub shower curtain - a little clingy
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOBX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    46
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
42
245
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2008

This was our second visit to the Lodge on Lake Lure and we found it as charming as we did the first time. The lodge has spectacular views of the lake, with lots of places to sit outdoors and inside to take advantage of the sights. The Lodge offers wine and snacks every evening and a wonderful cooked to order breakfast in the morning. The staff was very helpful and attentive.

  • Liked — Overall experience
  • Disliked — Walls are a bit thin
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NC-travel19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manning, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2008

My wife and I spent our Second Anniversary at the Lodge. The staff was wonderful and the room and view was great. A nice time of the year to come and enjoy the Lodge and Mt's. The breakfast's were Great and they will fix what you want!

  • Liked — The Lodge and Location
  • Disliked — No resturant
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank davesgolf1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2007

We just spent June 25-29 at The Lodge on Lake Lure. It was everything we hoped for from the information listed on the Lodge's website. We almost changed our reservation based on a previous review, but decided we would try it. We were definitely not disappointed and hence, we are writing this review!

The hotel is managed by several German and Swiss owners. Gisela, one of the Germans, was very "motherly" and made sure that we were always having an enjoyable stay. Kathy, in the front office, was very helpful and efficient, as well.

Accomodations: We stayed in the Lakeview room which has a fabulous, beautiful, and immaculately clean European-style private bath with both clawfoot tub and separate glass shower. The view from both the bathroom and bedroom was also very pretty. The room can be a bit noisy, as it is located on the lower floor and sound does travel. We enjoyed watching a video one evening and found the room lighting adequate for reading.

Food: The breakfasts are WONDERFUL! First, a breakfast bar with fruit, muffins, bread, bagels, cereal, etc followed by your choice of the day's menu, including entrees such as blackberry or blueberry French toast, banana pancakes, raspberry crepes with again, your choice of bacon, sausage, oatmeal, and any number of eggs! We were never hungry until about 3 in the afternoon after such a selection. The "teas" are brought out at 2pm and remain for the entire night. Treats were chocolate chip, peanut butter, oatmeal raisin, craisin, pound cake, macaroons.
Wine and cheese featured your choice of Chardonnay, Merlot, and Zinfandel with vegetables, dips, crackers, at least 5 varieties of cheeses, chips, and salami slices. Several nights this WAS our dinner! We recommend trying the restaurant Point of View near the Dam Marina for dinner. Great trout, cloth napkins and a nice view!

Activities: We are canoe fanatics, so this was the place for us. There are 3 Old Town canoes available for use and there was never any trouble obtaining one. We canoed at least an hour a day and covered the entire southern portion of the lake. You do have to watch out for the boats, but they are pretty considerate and slow down for you. There is also a grand piano in the Great Room and the lodge allows "well-behaved" children.

  • Liked — Canoe access
  • Disliked — Room noise
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank aviat0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2007

Just got back from a weekend at Lake Lure Lodge. Although the last poster mentioned a change in ownership to my best knowledge the lodge is still owned by the same person. Yes they have discontinued dinner and the pontoon boat ride but that's about it.

We never had a problem getting wine and actually were brought more before we had finished the current glass. We got several cheeses, crackers, and a thin sliced ham, and other nibble food in the afternoon.

Lake Lure area is not known for it restaurants but personally I think eating is over rated when I'm attempting to relax. No they dont have WiFi but it's the last place I want to see a computer.

My wife and I have stayed there every June for several years now and still find it the perfect place to just chill out.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank Bigslamntee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2007

It appears from previous reviews that the change in ownership at the Lodge on Lake Lure has invited some changes to the amenities. One we did not expect was for the restaurant to be gone, as one of the reasons we chose to stay there were the very positive reviews of the dinners (this was our first time there). Apparently it was decided to close the dining room just last month. This, along with the disappearance of the pontoon boat rides suggests a slow slide in the quality of lodge, at least in terms of amenities, considering that rates have not changed accordingly.

Breakfast is still served and is good. Afternoon "tea" is a help yourself affair out of the pantry in the back of the kitchen with mainly leftover pastries, some cookies from breakfast and iced tea - no sandwiches or anything substantial. Evening appetizers are simply cheese and crackers accompanied by cheap jug wines which the servers seem reluctant to pour even if you request it (not that you would want more than one!). One nice touch is that the kitchen is open all night if you wish to make yourself a cup of tea or sneak a late night cookie.

Business travelers be advised that there is good cell phone service in the area, but there is no computer access at the lodge. You must bring your own laptop. The receptionist we dealt with during our stay was not always available when needed for questions and did not go out of her way to be particularly generous in her enthusiasm to assist. - she always seemed harried, or was not in the office at all. When we checked in we were given only a cursory tour of the lodge and nobody took us to our room or asked if we needed assistance with our luggage. We were pretty much on our own.

The accomodations themselves were comfortable, and if you get a balcony overlooking the lake it is very private and restful. The bathrooms appeared to be recently updated and very modern. Bedside lighting is practically non existant, however, and although the TV is cable, it is a small portable with a very poor picture. We did not watch it very much anyway because it really is a place for quiet contemplation. If you have I choice, however, I would recommend a room on the top floor. We were on the main level and could hear every creak, step, murmer and flush in the room above.

Word of warning, if you are in any way, shape or form a foodie, Lake Lure is not for you. None of the restaurants within 20 miles of the place are particularly enticing. On the other hand, if you are looking for a destination to totally relax and enjoy a beautiful lake setting, this is will fit the bill.

  • Liked — Setting
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank A36traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeking, Front Office Manager at The Lodge on Lake Lure, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
The Lodge on Lake Lure appreciates your comments. We would like for everyone to be aware that we have new restaurant hours. Dinner service is now availabe Friday and Saturday evenings beginning at 6:30pm. Wine is available for purchase during this time. Our new executive chef Andrew King will be preparing a 2 and 3 course meal. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2006

As an update to my review below, I'm sorry to report that The Lodge is no longer doing pontoon boat tours of the lake. Apparently this went by the wayside when the ownership changed to outside ownership with an onsite manager rather than owners living on the premises. I am sad to see this perk gone as it was really a magical part of the experience.

We took friends from England over to The Lodge for dinner and a night's stay in July and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The chef had changed, but the food was still excellent. I recently attempted to book two rooms for one night again in mid-November for guests coming from Scotland, but was rather rudely rebuffed. Reservations informed me that The Lodge requires a two night minimum stay and though this has always been their policy, apparently now they are not interested in any variances from the rule. So be advised, it will be two nights or nothing.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Salt Water Diva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
2.1 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
3.0 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
112 reviews
16.8 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
136 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
1.1 mi away
Willowbrook Inn
Willowbrook Inn
#2 of 3 in Lake Lure
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge on Lake Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on Lake Lure

Property: The Lodge on Lake Lure
Address: 361 Charlotte Dr, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9833
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Lure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge on Lake Lure 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge on Lake Lure is a wonderful combination of an elegant country inn and a casual bed and breakfast - an intimate environment with all the privacy you want, furnished with art, antiques and collectibles. A large, rambling structure, the Lodge is situated high on the hillside to afford a sweeping view of the lake and beyond.Built in 1938, The Lodge was originally used as a retreat for the NC State Highway Patrol and operated by them until 1968. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Lodge on Lake Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge On Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing