We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lodge on Lake Lure
Ranked #2 of 3 Lake Lure B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights there on June 21 @ 22 enjoying the refreshing ambiance and gracious hospitality of this most comfortable lake retreat. This is a "go back to place" that we hope to visit several times each year

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjszapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 352 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at this lodge last summer and are sorry that we have not written about it as we think about it quite a bit. First of all, anyone aspiring to run a lodge should stay here. And then those who are thinking of finding an out of the way place to go swimming and boating should seriously consider coming here. The owners are charming and old-world hospitality reigns. Whenever we drive through lush American landscapes, we ultimately debate whether it is as pretty as the Lake Lure area. Lake Lure generally wins. And the owners of the Lodge get a grateful, albeit late, thank you.

Room Tip: You want a waterfront room. Period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanT472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The Lodge at Lake Lure was a wonderful place to stay. The owner was a most gracious host and the staff very accommodating. The view was awesome, food wonderful and room extremely nice. We will definitely be back. The area has many things to see and do. All around great vacation.

Room Tip: We stayed in the African Queens. Plenty of room and wonderful deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whblab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband, myself and our 11 year old daughter stayed here for two nights this month. We hadn't even heard of Lake Lure before, but were on a road trip from Austin, TX and took the recommendation from John at the Canopy Ridge Farm right up the road from the lodge. From the moment we got there we were all awestruck by the beauty and serenity of the grounds. Upon check in we were greeted and shown to our room, the Roman Holiday. We had a beautiful view of the lake from our deck. The bathroom was the highlight for us, taking a hot bath in the clawfoot tub while watching the sunset through the windows was absolute heaven. We dined there both nights - one was a prefixe menu, the other night you ordered from the menu. The chef they have is very talented and you can tell there is great care put into the ingredients. Everything was fresh and cooked to perfection - we highly recommend eating here as well. In the morning the breakfast provided was delicious and be sure to enjoy it on the deck, weather permitting. We just can't say enough great things about Horst and his staff and we can't wait to go back. Our stay here was absolutely the highlight of our two week trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rene c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Imagine that a place existed where your heart and soul could reconnect, a place that allows escape from a hectic pace and where diamonds dance upon the water. This is exactly what we discovered at The Lodge. We encountered an exceptional staff who anticipated our every need and a most gracious owner Horst. Horst allowed us to bring the first dog ever permitted to stay at The Lodge, our miniature schnauzer "Rascal". Rascal and his owners enjoyed jaunts to the scenic boathouse and the winding trails laced into the terrain around The Lodge. The Secret Garden, our little slice of heaven, was the perfect retreat with it's own private balcony nestled in the treetops. The view will be forever etched in our memories! Thank you Horst for allowing our "Rascal" to be the first but certianly not last, dog to be welcomed at The Lodge. Please know the kindness, the atmosphere, the food and the tranquility will not soon be forgotten! See you again this fall!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ffejmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was our second wonderful visit to the Lodge. We had stayed there about 10 years prior and knew we wanted to return. Picture a lovely lodge tucked in a hillside overlooking a beautiful mountain lake. We stayed in the lake house and loved the deck overlooking the grounds and the lake. The room was spotless and comfortable. We enjoyed meeting the friendly owner and drinking his fine wine in the evenings. Morning breakfast was elegant and delicious. We hope to return soon. The location is excellent for sightseeing too. Very close to Chimney Rock and not too far to the lovely town of Brevard. Close to Pearson's Falls too.

Room Tip: We stayed in Plantation Rose - beautiful. The lake house is separate from the main lodge and we lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We wanted to treat our three daughters to a very special weekend and to celebrate graduations. Knowing that in a few years they will marry and family dynamics will change, we wanted our " Lake Lure " weekend to be a very special and memorable family time.
I called months ahead and talked with someone to advice to the best rooms for us and decided the girls would stay in Africa Queens and my husband and I would stay in the adjoining Plantation Rose. Perfect choice as both rooms open up to a shared balcony with a breath-taking view of the lake.
I set up a snack area in the girls' kitchenette and their room had ample space for them to spread out. The girls were quite impressed with the more modern look and art. Our Plantation Rose room was just beautiful and reminded me of our room we loved in Paris.
At 5 pm, appetizers and wine are served (owner's private vineyard) and because the weather was so perfect, we strolled on down to the deck on the lake. The view was spectacular! Then back to the room to change for dinner (dress is casual) at their Treetops Restaurant. The meals are delicious and service impeccable. We ate dinner both nights there and can not imagine going anywhere else. The breakfasts were so delicious and my husband, who loves to start his day with a great breakfast, was a happy man.
What do you do all day with 3 girls? Upon recommendation from the staff, we took a trail ride which was such a fun adventure with Tammy deserving very bit of her tip. Chimney Rock was fun during the day and ending with a late-afternoon Boat Tour.
We didn't want to leave and our girls said the weekend was dreamy. What a memory. (Plus I came out as the master of planning a wonderful time).
And the good news...my husband wants to take just me back. Ha.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper level facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
2.1 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
2.8 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
142 reviews
3 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
4.2 mi away
The Esmeralda Inn
The Esmeralda Inn
#1 of 4 in Chimney Rock
606 reviews
1.1 mi away
Willowbrook Inn
Willowbrook Inn
#1 of 3 in Lake Lure
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge on Lake Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on Lake Lure

Address: 361 Charlotte Dr, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9833
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Lure
Price Range: $155 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge on Lake Lure 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge on Lake Lure is a wonderful combination of an elegant country inn and a casual bed and breakfast - an intimate environment with all the privacy you want, furnished with art, antiques and collectibles. A large, rambling structure, the Lodge is situated high on the hillside to afford a sweeping view of the lake and beyond.Built in 1938, The Lodge was originally used as a retreat for the NC State Highway Patrol and operated by them until 1968. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Lodge on Lake Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge On Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing