We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family reunion that pleased everyone!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lodge on Lake Lure
Ranked #1 of 3 Lake Lure B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Georgetown, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family reunion that pleased everyone!”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Finding a mutually acceptable and appealing location for 23 people with ages ranging from 87 years to 16 months is never easy! After the first phone conversation I knew the excellent staff at The Lodge would work with us to make this a memorable and relaxing getaway for our annual trip. We all loved that the rooms were updated, yet not generic, with European bath/shower elegance. Horst and Rebecca strived to make each guest's experience memorable for all the right reasons: easiness of enjoying The Lodge and lake, regional hiking trails and horseback riding info, as well as, fresh local vegetables and fruits to accompany the outstanding meals. So where do we go next year?? Easy answer....we are booked at The Lodge on Lake Lure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Totsie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst B, Owner at The Lodge on Lake Lure, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Totsi and family, we are indeed looking as much forward to hosting your family ,as your family is looking forward to reunite at the Lodge again. Over the past years we have hosted a good deal of corporate events, family outings and other group events, but yours was very special. We thank you for the accolades and praises you sang about the Lodge and us. Most of this is due to our wonderful staff which makes it all happen behind the scenes, but an equal amount of praise is also due to every member of your family which made it easy for us to give our best. In the end it was like an extended part of our "Lodge Family" that was leaving. You are all welcome anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    46
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
42
239
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

First time to Lake Lure, visiting for Olympiad. Lodge at Lake Lure exceeded all expectations. Stayed in Plantation Rose room. Delightful. Had dinner both nights. Menu though limited was sophisticated and excellently prepared. Live in owner seems really interested in making it a first class experience. He is succeeding

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank swimmerjohn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst B, Owner at The Lodge on Lake Lure, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Swimmerjohn,
It's gratifying to receive such a glowing review which is a further incentive to strive for consistency and further improvements. We are particularly pleased that both of you liked our dinner offer which we revived after a period of closing. We wish there were more high quality alternatives around the lake, and we hope that with the support by our guests and some permanent residents, we will be able to offer even more exciting dining. Certainly our Chefs Michael and Christian are up to the challenge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Great spot. Great staff. Great feel. Would gladly return. Rooms were very nice. Location of property was spectacular. Advice was given about things to do as well as places to eat in the area. Lake Lure is a gem. The owner, Horst Brunner and his staff make you feel right at home from the outset. We were there for three nights & wished we were there for longer. The lake was so nice. The area is so peaceful. We hope to make it back very soon. Lake Lure is one of those places in the United States that is still quiet, yet beautiful. We love discovering new locations that attract us for more. Activities galore, from water activities to hiking, zip lining. Just not enough time to do it all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abraham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We spent three nights at this property and loved it. The Lodge is beautifully decorated and maintained. Our room was clean and up to date. Our breakfasts were beautifully served and tasted great. We had one evening meal there and it also was superb. But the main thing that stuck out for us was the staff -- from the gracious host to his wonderful staff. EVERYONE we had contact with, from the grounds staff to the wait staff -- everyone -- was warm and friendly. We are going back.

Room Tip: We had the "Birdie" room, one of the least expensive. Windows with no view. But we were a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rustic16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was our fifth visit over a period of years. With each visit the bed and breakfast improves. The food was excellent and the staff helpful. We took friends with us this visit and they also had a wonderful experience. We stayed in the Jewel Box room and loved the covered balcony!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank falco-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed two nights in the Admiral's Cup room and were very pleased with the room (especially the spacious, "updated but quaint" bathroom with both shower and claw-foot tub); the view from the private balcony; and the food (full breakfast, gourmet snacks throughout the day and evening, and wine and h'ors d'oeuvres each afternoon). The lodge is rustic and cozy yet nicely furnished and maintained with not a bit of the shabbiness I sometimes associate with B&B establishments. The property and surrounding area is absolutely beautiful. I will definitely plan another getaway there!

Room Tip: Recommend choosing a room with a private balcony and/or lake-front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Everett R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston, sc
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is our third visit and our first since the renovations. We stayed for four nights and enjoyed every day. We stayed in the Admiral's Cup room which overlooks the lake and has a private balcony. The room is spacious and the view is beautiful. Even though we were there at the height of the summer season, sitting on the balcony was peaceful and quiet. The food is amazing. Breakfast are something to look forward to. We ate dinner at the lodge on Friday night and the food was delicious. It is farm to table concept and everything is so fresh. Happy hours are fun.

We went to Chimney Rock and Asheville and swam in the lake and relaxed on the dock. The innkeeper and staff are friendly and accommodating. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Request a room with a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsb80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
2.1 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
16.8 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
17.0 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#4 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 3 in Chimney Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
1.1 mi away
Willowbrook Inn
Willowbrook Inn
#2 of 3 in Lake Lure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge on Lake Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on Lake Lure

Property: The Lodge on Lake Lure
Address: 361 Charlotte Dr, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9833
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Lure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge on Lake Lure 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge on Lake Lure is a wonderful combination of an elegant country inn and a casual bed and breakfast - an intimate environment with all the privacy you want, furnished with art, antiques and collectibles. A large, rambling structure, the Lodge is situated high on the hillside to afford a sweeping view of the lake and beyond.Built in 1938, The Lodge was originally used as a retreat for the NC State Highway Patrol and operated by them until 1968. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotel.de so you can book your The Lodge on Lake Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge On Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing