We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic Escape” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge on Lake Lure

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Lodge on Lake Lure
Ranked #1 of 3 Lake Lure B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Romantic Escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed for two nights in the "Looking Glass" room. Very nice room--a studio suite really. It had a small sofa and desk, beautiful bathroom with claw-foot tub looking out over lake, and a nice little balcony. The property was beautiful and peaceful. Despite being a summer weekend, the property and the lake were relatively quite. Hardly run into anyone if you just want to relax. Breakfast was good both days.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank f1i_mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    45
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
41
234
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Brilliant place. Stayed there in June for one spontaneous night. It's more than just a B&B. Some old Inns and B&Bs are a little rickety and have noise issues. The lodge is suprisingly solid and very quiet, which was important to us. Our room had a view of the lovely green lake and mountains. Totally feels like you're in Zurich or some other expensive place looking out at the lake. Our room had a soaking tub situated in a baywindow looking out to the water and everything was so well appointed it felt like a resort. To top off the stay the owner is so friendly and attentive and genuinely interested in whether his guests are happy and having a good time.

Room Tip: We stayed in Looking Glass which was a corner room with soaking tub in the bay window with private b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alynasjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Basically a nice place, but communication was not up to expectable standards. While there last month, had to leave unexpectedly early as mother passed away. Contacted owners and was offered half refund and gift certificate for balance. Received refund but after calls and e-mails for certificate, no response whatsoever. Compassion and concern for guests from world traverer owners not waht I expected.

Room Tip: Air conditioning not that great--room thermostat was monitored from office. Private lakeside deck cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank william c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst B, Owner at The Lodge on Lake Lure, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
William C and his wife had booked with us for a weekend. After the first night they checked out and indicated that they had to return home due to a death in the family. Our front desk staff offered their condolences and a gift certificate for the remainder of their stay which had already been charged to their credit card. Our cancellation policies are quite clearly spelled out in our terms and it is also our policy to offer our guests a transferable gift voucher in cases such as this one. Generally, when guests depart unexpectedly, we are unable to resell their room on such short notice.
Mr. C refused to accept our offer,as he would never return to Lake Lure, expecting a full refund instead. The staff informed me a few days later when I returned to the Lodge and I personally phoned first Mrs C and later Mr. C to once again express our condolence and offer him a partial refund this time. While he didn't seem to be entirely pleased, he accepted my offer and then proceeded to write the above review.
Perhaps he was frustrated for not having received a full refund which he thought was due to him under the circumstances, but he should also consider that the livelihood of many families in this region depend on our running The Lodge as a business as well as being considerate.

Horst B. owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We spent a couple of nights at The Lodge and it was the perfect place for us. We have traveled much this summer and spent most nights at B&B's. The Lodge was a perfect mix between a B&B and a nice resort. Personal attention, but not intrusive like you sometimes get at a B&B. The owner spoke daily and always asked how he could be of assistance. Perfectly clean. Good breakfast (the dinning room was closed because of a private party), not gourmet, but very good. The Lodge sits right on the lake and has a dock, canoes and sun deck. Squirrles abound. The worm-eaten chestnut walls are great, making the rooms cozy. Nice furniture. Everyone who served was very accomdating. A great stay!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlessedTraveler00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Due to unfortunate circumstances our 25th wedding anniversary celebration had to be planned with short notice and close to home. Little did we know this gem was in our own back yard. We are only two hours away and had we known what we were missing this would not have been our first visit. Breakfast and dinner were just wonderful. The late afternoon wine and appetizer reception was perfect after a long day hiking to waterfalls. Thank you Joe for the warm hospitality and genuine effort to make our trip special. We could not have been more pleased.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuppertal, Germany
Level Contributor
522 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Indeed, a class of its own. We had stayed at the lodge in June11 during a motorcycle tour, and due to this outstanding experience last year, we routed our itinerary back again. The lodge is magnificent still: the location on the lake, the comfort (we had the African Queen this year: outstanding!), the cleanliness, the staff's friendlyness and the warm welcome we received. You'll miss something in case you do not go there ! A perfect stay !

Room Tip: All rooms are very good, however lake views are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eberhard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

We had the pleasure of traveling to the Lodge for Memorial Day weekend. This was our 2nd trip to North Carolina and our first stay at a B&B and I must say that I'm so glad we chose to stay at The Lodge. The staff is by far the friendliest we have encountered and the location of the lodge is absolutely perfect! The scenery surrounding the property is breathtaking. My husband and I took walks around the lodge and sat down by the lake and soaked in the gorgeous views. The room (Mellow Yellow) in the Lake House was just amazing and had an unobstructed view of the lake. We didn't have the opportunity to experience dinner at the Lodge because we met up with wonderful friends but we heard such rave reviews of the food. We did have breakfast and it was AWESOME!!!

Thanks to the staff at the Lodge and look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Definitely stay at the Lake House, gorgeous view and semi private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MARIA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
16.7 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
23.7 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
17.0 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#5 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
1.1 mi away
Willowbrook Inn
Willowbrook Inn
#2 of 3 in Lake Lure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Esmeralda Inn
The Esmeralda Inn
#1 of 3 in Chimney Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge on Lake Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on Lake Lure

Property: The Lodge on Lake Lure
Address: 361 Charlotte Dr, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9833
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Lure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge on Lake Lure 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge on Lake Lure is a wonderful combination of an elegant country inn and a casual bed and breakfast - an intimate environment with all the privacy you want, furnished with art, antiques and collectibles. A large, rambling structure, the Lodge is situated high on the hillside to afford a sweeping view of the lake and beyond.Built in 1938, The Lodge was originally used as a retreat for the NC State Highway Patrol and operated by them until 1968. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Lodge on Lake Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge On Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing