We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What's not to like?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Strada at Lake Lure

La Strada at Lake Lure
Ranked #2 of 25 Restaurants in Lake Lure
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: La Strada is a romantic Italian restaurant overlooking beautiful Lake Lure. Come visit us and surround yourself with plush mountains and a picturesque lake while you dine on our elevated covered terrace. Lake Lure received its name because it was said that the scenery and peacefulness lured you back time after time. We hope our rich family traditions and vintage recipes will have the same affect. In 1974 La Strada opened the first of several locations in Charlotte, North Carolina. Starting as a small family business specializing in New York style brick oven pizza and traditional Italian cuisine; word quickly spread about the great food and La Strada became a Charlotte favorite. After over 35 years of serving great food in Charlotte, La Strada and the original family members came to Lake Lure with their family recipes offering one of the most varied and unique menus in the area. There’s something special for everyone!
Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What's not to like?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Food was very good (lasagna). Service was quick and personable. We never came in contact with the manager so can't comment on the alleged rudeness. Prices were reasonable and actually a bit less expensive then nearby restaurants. Lots of choices on the menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nascar9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    694
    278
    110
    24
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Food but ....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Love the view from the porch! Great food but it has gotten a bit pricey over the past few years, so we don't go there as often as we used to. The Parmesan Encrusted Shrimp appetizer is fantastic as are the Italian dishes.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worse experience ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

The owner went psyco on us when we complained about a dish that was greasy and gummy. Looked and tasted like boil and bag fare. I feel sorry for the wait staff that need the work and have to endure this hot head. We were entertaining a guest and were so embarrassed by the episode. We will never eat there again. Ever.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank pat h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jmazur1217, General Manager at La Strada at Lake Lure, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We have had no complaints such as this that have been handled by any of our management.
If it had occurred, we would have been more than happy to accommodate with a different selection as replacement or removal from the bill if a selection is not eaten. In our 40 years in business, nearly all of our guests have found this policy reasonable and acceptable.
We believe this review to be the wrong restaurant or a fictitious event invented by someone with motive. We invite you to dine with us and decide for yourself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Continued Excellence with La Strada”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Having been a customer for 30+ years at the Charlotte location I was very excited to visit the Lake Lure restaurant. In addition to beautiful views, food did not disappoint. Pizza and lasagna were fantastic. Lake Lure location has even bigger menu then I expected. Looking forward to my next visit and trying to figure out what I should try next... maybe the chicken parm. High quality food and good customer service made this a very enjoyable evening and will keep me coming back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Evan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great pizza,mean manager”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Went with the family for the first time. Pizza was excellent. So was the chicken parm. The lasagna was just so so. The manager seemed to be a jerk though. He yelled at our server in front on us.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Smitty1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Strada at Lake Lure also viewed

Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
 
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to La Strada at Lake Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing