We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're staying at Wyndham Fairfield down the road, your amenities are at this beautiful resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Lovely resort. We made use of the private lake for fishing - no license required; rented a canoe; enjoyed the beach, indoor swimming pool with hot tub, steam sauna and dry sauna; and restaurants - Lakeview and Legends. April vacation is the time to go - quiet and perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elizabethanbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 332 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

We were actually staying on the other side of the lake when someone mentioned the Resort for Dinner. You would never know such a beautiful place was hidden away up there. We drove around property and found a few restaurants, 2 golf courses (don't play), wellness center, beach and boat rentals. We also found out they have rental units so we can stay there next visit. Review will follow.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

After looking at a few venues, we knew we had found the one when we got to Rumbling Bald Resort! We stayed about 5 days total. As we had several guests staying at the resort, we were able to see a lot of different rooms. We stayed at the Fairway Villas. The one we stayed in was dated, but nice. Some of our family were in the "villa efficiencies," which weren't bad if you were only staying a day or two. There were some mix ups at check in so some of our family got upgraded to a house or a nicer unit for the same price, which I thought was nice of them. In the same token, we were the bride and groom and had given them quite a bit of money and didn't get a discount on our lodging or and upgrades, but that's ok. The wedding was beautiful, the food was great and we loved the experience. We can't wait to go back to enjoy it without the stress of a wedding this time!

Room Tip: When picking where you are going to stay, make sure to call and ask the location. Fairway Villas are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank New2Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We were in a two bedroom two bath unit and were very happy with everything. The staff were friendly and helpful. The grounds were lovely, the restaurants on site were good. One thing to remember is that the lower bedroom was much cooler than the rest of the unit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We have been here several times, it's well run and our November visit was lovely. Nearby Chimney Rock is a great little town with some really nice restaurants. Lots of rivers nearby, great getaway.for a weekend in NC

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank df938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We rented the 'Mountainview' home here for large family gathering. I won't go into detail about house as review is for resort. I don't know what I was expecting but the resort was just average. Our house was located high up mountain so we had to drive everywhere. I like to bike and/or walk a lot but since there is only one road going up and down with no guardrails or walking path, it is not very enjoyable. Actually, the driving to resort is a little intense and don't count on your GPS working the whole way.

The kids can't ride bikes or scooters here and couldn't play soccer in the yard due to large dangerous drop offs - quickly lost ball. We surprisingly saw little wild life - only couple of deer and one squirrel, few birds. Beware there is only satellite TV so don't expect to watch your favorite games. The pub restaurant was average - they used canned mushrooms on pizza ugh. There was indoor pool which we did not use but it looked okay for winter months. The man-made lake beach area was shockingly small and unimpressive. I would not enjoy swimming there in warm months.

The nearby Canopy Ridge zip lining was a fun way to spend a couple of hours (not cheap but kids loved it). There was big grocery store (and liquor store) a good 15 minutes away. Chimney Rock is approx. 30-minute drive away. They had cute shops and decent restaurants. If you like to hike, hike up Chimney Rock. My very active 70-yr old mother made it up so it’s very doable. There is river/stream area behind shops that the kids enjoyed. Also a good ice cream shop. My family wants to go back to area but not sure if we need to stay at this resort.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melwyjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is the second year we have stayed at Rumbling Bald Resort. WE had the same cabin, Relaxation Station. They were one short on beds, it was stated for 12 and only had 11. But it has three semi-comfortable couches. Which was fine for me. Overall, the place suited our needs to perfection. Bald mountain and Apple Valley courses were in great shape and a challenge. You do not have to leave the resort area once you arrive. The kitchen is average but functional and the washers and driers are a blessing. The bar and Pub at Rumbling Bald is friendly and offer a good choice of food. At Apple Valley you had to search for someone to wait on you. Not good. Overall, it was a fine trip and we will be going back again, next year.

Room Tip: When renting a cabin remember to bring your own essentails for cooking any special meals and an extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeRichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
3.1 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
2 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
142 reviews
3.5 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
16.5 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#2 of 6 in Flat Rock
335 reviews
22.8 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#14 of 66 in Asheville
6,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure

Address: 112 Mountain Blvd, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9852
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range: $142 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure is a picturesque mountain resort situated near Charlotte, Greenville, and Asheville. The resort is nestled at the base of majestic 2,800-foot Rumbling Bald Mountain on the north end of beautiful Lake Lure. One of the Southeast's most popular wedding destinations, Rumbling Bald Resort is great for all kinds of group functions, family gatherings, golf outings, or romantic getaways. With close to 150 vacation rentals that range in all sizes and price ranges. Each home, studio and condo on the Resort property are individually owned and each site therefore has a unique personality. Our rental sites are fully furnished, but will vary in the amenities each offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumbling Bald Resort On Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing