We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Certificate of Excellence
SC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We rented the 'Mountainview' home here for large family gathering. I won't go into detail about house as review is for resort. I don't know what I was expecting but the resort was just average. Our house was located high up mountain so we had to drive everywhere. I like to bike and/or walk a lot but since there is only one road going up and down with no guardrails or walking path, it is not very enjoyable. Actually, the driving to resort is a little intense and don't count on your GPS working the whole way.

The kids can't ride bikes or scooters here and couldn't play soccer in the yard due to large dangerous drop offs - quickly lost ball. We surprisingly saw little wild life - only couple of deer and one squirrel, few birds. Beware there is only satellite TV so don't expect to watch your favorite games. The pub restaurant was average - they used canned mushrooms on pizza ugh. There was indoor pool which we did not use but it looked okay for winter months. The man-made lake beach area was shockingly small and unimpressive. I would not enjoy swimming there in warm months.

The nearby Canopy Ridge zip lining was a fun way to spend a couple of hours (not cheap but kids loved it). There was big grocery store (and liquor store) a good 15 minutes away. Chimney Rock is approx. 30-minute drive away. They had cute shops and decent restaurants. If you like to hike, hike up Chimney Rock. My very active 70-yr old mother made it up so it’s very doable. There is river/stream area behind shops that the kids enjoyed. Also a good ice cream shop. My family wants to go back to area but not sure if we need to stay at this resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melwyjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    89
    31
    26
    20
See reviews for
130
57
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashvillle, TN
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is the second year we have stayed at Rumbling Bald Resort. WE had the same cabin, Relaxation Station. They were one short on beds, it was stated for 12 and only had 11. But it has three semi-comfortable couches. Which was fine for me. Overall, the place suited our needs to perfection. Bald mountain and Apple Valley courses were in great shape and a challenge. You do not have to leave the resort area once you arrive. The kitchen is average but functional and the washers and driers are a blessing. The bar and Pub at Rumbling Bald is friendly and offer a good choice of food. At Apple Valley you had to search for someone to wait on you. Not good. Overall, it was a fine trip and we will be going back again, next year.

Room Tip: When renting a cabin remember to bring your own essentails for cooking any special meals and an extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeRichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Annual golf weekend was fantastic. Our first time to this resort and it turned out to be a great place for our trip. Courses were in great shape, the reservation staff were ready to meet every request, the food at the resort restaurants was outstanding. Golf villas were perfect for our group. Right on the course and close to the clubhouse. Amy wait to go back!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
162 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Went on vacation September 7- September 13th of 2013. Now i know this is a little off season (which is the way we like it) but at Rumbling Bald, you would have thought it was winter. The lazy river, and the pools were all closed down because it was after labor day - but every was still 88 degrees. Normally we go away later in September, and every resort still has all of the stuff open.

The only pool open was an indoor pool, which was disappointing because you couldn't enjoy the nice weather. Aside from that they offered, some games, which we decided to play tennis, and they charged you! 6 dollars, each couple - kind of crazy if you ask me....

If you are planning to just play golf on the resort than this maybe the place for you, but we were here trying to explore western North Carolina, and relax... and it didnt suite well for that.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. Please forgive us if you were under the impression that all of our amenities would be open for your stay. Traditionally, some of these close after Labor Day. We welcome your return when you can experience all that Rumbling Bald Resort has to offer.

Sincerely,
Richard Lundy
Director of Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

In August, I coach Melvin Morrison took my Christian running group to Rumbling Bald resort and the group had a life changing experience.The team became united and many prayers were answered We bonded as a team and learned a lot about each other an the famous area of Lake Lure .
The hospitality was the best and because of it, the experience was life changing.
We meet a family who lives on the resort. While there, .I am proud to say that God shows us a need a family had who place is along the streams. We are able to get it done for the family, We build a fire pit out of big rocks and use the extra rocks to make a beautiful path along the stream around their property. It gave us a experience that will be memorable and rewarding for the rest of our lives ."(Thanks for the brownies and hospitality also)" , it changed their lives also

. The front desk was also very helpful in getting the director to come out and get the Wi-Fi at the house up and running quickly when asked.They also were impressed that our group had been one of the best groups to ever visit .
We have been visiting the resort for years and will continue to make it an annual event
.If you are looking for a place of relaxation and a rewarding vacation ,this is it !!!!!

The amenities were a big hit with our group as we went paddle boarding ,hiking, swimming and had a blast with the huge checkers ,chess sets .The one thing that was the most rewarding was the fitness course and spa .We were able to become stronger and better runners and we learned the importance of building the strong foundation and core .The Spa was very relaxing and very helped in recuperating the sore muscles after a hard workout

Rumbling Bald resort is a beautiful place that God had set aside in the mountains west of Charlotte that everyone should visit for a life changing experience .

I want to thank Kristi for being so helpful in making sure we had everything we needed .We look forward to our visit next year
.State coach of the year Melvin Morrison

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Wow, thank you for your review. What a blessing.

Sincerely,
Richard Lundy
Director of Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arden, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at the Fox Run Resort and were completely satisfied with our experience there. From the time we checked in, there were no problems.. Clean, and Cozy rooms with everything we needed! The lake, and all the amenities were just perfect!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We appreciate your review and welcome your back anytime!

Sincerely,
Richard Lundy
Director of Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

A bunch of my college buddies decided to plan a weekend golf trip to celebrate one of our friends 40th birthday. We had previously visited Rumbling Bald and decided that Lake Lure would be a great place to return. The Rumbling Bald Resort staff helped plan out a perfect weekend of golf and relaxation. The villa was ideal for our needs and exceeded our expectations. The courses, though drenched from all the rain the days before, were in very good condition and offered many beautiful scenic views. We all had a blast and will definitely return! In fact, I am returning with my family in October for a weekend getaway.... can't wait!! Thanks, Kristi, for all your help in planning out this trip!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gjones1173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your thoughtful review. Kristi enjoyed helping you plan your special golf weekend. We are glad you enjoyed the courses despite all the rain. Our staff works tirelessly to maintain the best playing environment possible. We look forward to your return in October and hope for some great fall weather and colors!

Sincerely,
Richard Lundy
Director of Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
3.1 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
2.0 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
18.5 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#4 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Esmeralda Inn
The Esmeralda Inn
#1 of 3 in Chimney Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
2.4 mi away
Willowbrook Inn
Willowbrook Inn
#2 of 3 in Lake Lure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure

Property: Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
Address: 112 Mountain Blvd, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9852
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure is a picturesque mountain resort situated near Charlotte, Greenville, and Asheville. The resort is nestled at the base of majestic 2,800-foot Rumbling Bald Mountain on the north end of beautiful Lake Lure. One of the Southeast's most popular wedding destinations, Rumbling Bald Resort is great for all kinds of group functions, family gatherings, golf outings, or romantic getaways. With close to 150 vacation rentals that range in all sizes and price ranges. Each home, studio and condo on the Resort property are individually owned and each site therefore has a unique personality. Our rental sites are fully furnished, but will vary in the amenities each offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumbling Bald Resort On Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing