We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christian Running Group has life changing experience at Rumbling balds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Reviewed August 27, 2013

In August, I coach Melvin Morrison took my Christian running group to Rumbling Bald resort and the group had a life changing experience.The team became united and many prayers were answered We bonded as a team and learned a lot about each other an the famous area of Lake Lure .
The hospitality was the best and because of it, the experience was life changing.
We meet a family who lives on the resort. While there, .I am proud to say that God shows us a need a family had who place is along the streams. We are able to get it done for the family, We build a fire pit out of big rocks and use the extra rocks to make a beautiful path along the stream around their property. It gave us a experience that will be memorable and rewarding for the rest of our lives ."(Thanks for the brownies and hospitality also)" , it changed their lives also

. The front desk was also very helpful in getting the director to come out and get the Wi-Fi at the house up and running quickly when asked.They also were impressed that our group had been one of the best groups to ever visit .
We have been visiting the resort for years and will continue to make it an annual event
.If you are looking for a place of relaxation and a rewarding vacation ,this is it !!!!!

The amenities were a big hit with our group as we went paddle boarding ,hiking, swimming and had a blast with the huge checkers ,chess sets .The one thing that was the most rewarding was the fitness course and spa .We were able to become stronger and better runners and we learned the importance of building the strong foundation and core .The Spa was very relaxing and very helped in recuperating the sore muscles after a hard workout

Rumbling Bald resort is a beautiful place that God had set aside in the mountains west of Charlotte that everyone should visit for a life changing experience .

I want to thank Kristi for being so helpful in making sure we had everything we needed .We look forward to our visit next year
.State coach of the year Melvin Morrison

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Wow, thank you for your review. What a blessing.

Sincerely,
Richard Lundy
Director of Lodging

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 332 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at the Fox Run Resort and were completely satisfied with our experience there. From the time we checked in, there were no problems.. Clean, and Cozy rooms with everything we needed! The lake, and all the amenities were just perfect!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

We appreciate your review and welcome your back anytime!

Sincerely,
Richard Lundy
Director of Lodging

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

A bunch of my college buddies decided to plan a weekend golf trip to celebrate one of our friends 40th birthday. We had previously visited Rumbling Bald and decided that Lake Lure would be a great place to return. The Rumbling Bald Resort staff helped plan out a perfect weekend of golf and relaxation. The villa was ideal for our needs and exceeded our expectations. The courses, though drenched from all the rain the days before, were in very good condition and offered many beautiful scenic views. We all had a blast and will definitely return! In fact, I am returning with my family in October for a weekend getaway.... can't wait!! Thanks, Kristi, for all your help in planning out this trip!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gjones1173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for your thoughtful review. Kristi enjoyed helping you plan your special golf weekend. We are glad you enjoyed the courses despite all the rain. Our staff works tirelessly to maintain the best playing environment possible. We look forward to your return in October and hope for some great fall weather and colors!

Sincerely,
Richard Lundy
Director of Lodging

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Loved the lake! Dirty Dancing was filmed here! Great place for a family! Scenic Lake Dinner Cruise was perfect! We stayed off the resort so I didn't comment on the rooms! The pool was clean. The lake was so beautiful and relaxing. Our three year old loved being able to float in the lake and make friends. The spa was nice and i really enjoy my massage. However, there were no showers in the spa area to clean up afterwards. My family would definitely attend again!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank TeachAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Yes, Dirty Dancing was filmed here. The ladies always like to here that. Don’t worry guys, Last Of The Mohicans was filmed here too! We welcome the return of your family.

Sincerely,
Richard Lundy
Director of Lodging

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The house is very suitable for families. We vacationed with my daughter's family, including 4 & 7 year old. This home could easily have a 5 star rating had it been better maintained and cleaner. All issues that we had were reported to the Rumbling Bald Resort Administration for resolution. They were slow to respond and we didn't feel that they had prepared the property for rental. Most issues were finally resolved toward the end of our vacation so the house may be in better rental condition now. The house is very convenient to resort activities, which kept us very busy all week. Nicely decorated and comfortable. Lake Lure is beautiful! Enjoyed just about all that the resort offers. Took the cruise which was interesting, pedal boated, paddle boarded, enjoyed the lake beach and pool. Had ice cream every day!

Room Tip: Report any problems in writing and early. Resort Admin could be a lot more responsive to issues and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwcspitfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

We truly appreciate you staying with us here at Rumbling Bald Resort. Angel house is a great rental for families. It is very popular and can require additional maintenance attention. We appreciate you bringing your concerns to us and are glad they were addressed. Our efforts at fixing those things should have been communicated to you sooner. We are glad you enjoyed the resort and welcome your return. We’ll have the ice cream ready!

Sincerely,
Richard Lundy
Director of Lodging

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had traded through RCI and anticipating time away from a deary, winter, only to find that due to it being the week before Easter, the resort was not ready to serve it's residents. We were pretty much left to find activities on our own as even the restaurants on the grounds were open on a very limited basis. We spent each day traveling to Asheville to entertain ourselves as the resort was clearly not open for business. This resort is very spread out and if you wish to use the pool or exercise facilities be prepared to drive. The unit is outdated but clean although dead roaches were found as we opened the drawers in the kitchen. The lack of activities made for a very trying week as we were unfamiliar to the area. Next time we will just stay in Asheville, since that is where we spent the majority of our time. Also it was stated there was internet access. But read the fine print. Internet access is only available in certain locations at the resort not the units. Also cell service is an issue but considering you are in the mountains, this is to be expected.

Room Tip: There are many steps in the unit and leading up to the unit in order to obtain access. If you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate and value your candid comments. The impression you had of our Resort is not that which we intend for our guests. We try to accurately describe the layout of the resort and that amenities are a short drive from most all lodging rentals. We do not manage RCI lodging rentals, but have sent your comments to them. We hope you have the opportunity to experience the Resort in the future, when you can see all the amenities and we can show you the hospitality we take pride in.

Sincerely,
Richard Lundy
Director of Lodging

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed during the dirty dancing weekend in the apple valley condos. We loved our unit and the location. I can't wait to come back during warmer weather because there's a lot to do on the resort! Close to Chimney rock and Lake Lure beach!! Great getaway!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mamabear1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

We can’t wait for you to come back as well!

Sincerely,
Richard Lundy
Director of Lodging

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
3.1 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
2 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
142 reviews
3.5 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
16.5 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#2 of 6 in Flat Rock
335 reviews
22.8 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#14 of 66 in Asheville
6,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure

Address: 112 Mountain Blvd, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9852
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range: $142 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure is a picturesque mountain resort situated near Charlotte, Greenville, and Asheville. The resort is nestled at the base of majestic 2,800-foot Rumbling Bald Mountain on the north end of beautiful Lake Lure. One of the Southeast's most popular wedding destinations, Rumbling Bald Resort is great for all kinds of group functions, family gatherings, golf outings, or romantic getaways. With close to 150 vacation rentals that range in all sizes and price ranges. Each home, studio and condo on the Resort property are individually owned and each site therefore has a unique personality. Our rental sites are fully furnished, but will vary in the amenities each offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumbling Bald Resort On Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing