We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Summer Vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Dora, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Summer Vacation!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We love staying at Bald Mountain Resort! Been vacationing here for over 25 years. Dancing on The Green is a beautiful home. Very spacious and beautiful view. Love the porch swing after a day of golfing! However, we were a bit disappointed with the maintenance and upkeep of the place. Cleaning people need to pay closer attention to spider webs in and around the doors and windows and cleaning of bathrooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us all these great years. Our housekeeping staff is renewing our focus on the exterior of rentals. I am confident when you return again next year:) you will see noticeable improvement in that area. We welcome you back anytime.

Sincerely,
Richard Lundy
Director of Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    89
    31
    26
    19
See reviews for
130
56
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

My siblings, our families and our parents (and in-laws) drove from all over the USA for a week at Rumbling Bald. We had never been to this part of NC before. We rented 2 houses, one from Lake Lure Realty (Sleepy Hollow Cabin) and one from the resort itself. The one from Lake Lure Reality was much better. It was higher end, had much better mattresses and AC that worked. Plus, our realtor, Robert, was basically at our beck and call. He even got our car started when the battery died.

The lake was good for toddlers who could walk into the water and play around. My brother was disappointed that there was no good place for distance swimming and the tiny leeches really started to gross us out by the 4th day. The pool was nice, but no where for laps except when it was adult only time (which was nice to have). The "lazy river" was a big scam - it was just part of the pool. I was really disappointed about that.

Wish there were more restaurants to choose from. The food at the only 2 was just OK. Also would be nice if there was a little store in the resort.

The did have nice activities for families and for the kids. The mountains were pretty, but the lake (man made) was a bit lacking (of course - I live in MI and I am surrounded by beautiful real lakes). Ashville was more than an hour away and there was nothing to do in the surrounding area.

We aren't sure if we would return. It was nice enough. Our house (Sleep Hollow) was great and it was nice to have the lake, pool, tennis. There really is no where to walk or ride a bike.

The staff that we interacted with at the Cabana was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Book a house through a realtor not through the resort. Lake Lure Realty was great! House much bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amoelba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your stay with us. We value and appreciate your comments. We aim to satisfy and exceed the expectations of every guest and are glad you overall had a good time. All of our houses are different, some being more updated than others. We strive to meet and exceed our guests lodging expectations. We have passed your comments along to our staff and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Sincerely,
Richard Lundy
Director of Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our Church Group of 33 want to thank Debi Earley and the entire fine staff at Rumbling Bald for our recent Golf Getaway - our 5th consecutive year. Thank you so much for all your wonderful support, flexibility and accomodations (Condo housing, Golf Course and Restauant Service) for our recent 2013 Bethlehem Church Men’s Golf Getaway. I have heard nothing but positive comments from the Men since we have returned home. We had a fantastic time of fellowship and fun at the beautiful Rumbling Bald Resort and look forward to coming back next year...and hopetully on into the future.

Thanks again and may The Lord richly and abundantly Bless each and every one of you!

Woods J. Martin

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woods_Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and for your many compliments! It is of utmost importance that our guests are treated well and happy. Debi and the rest of our staff fondly look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Richard Lundy
Director of Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

What a disappointment, especially for $200 per night. A hole in the living room wall, an air conditioner that was not working, another air conditioner with a filthy filter that spewed dirt onto the bed since the air conditioner cover was not to be found, mold on bathroom walls, cigarette burn in the sofa, broken grout and water stains on the walls in the master bath, a porch that hadn't been swept in some time, grimy kitchen counters, and lamps that did not work. This unit was tired, poorly kept and yet advertised to us as 'updated.' Other family betters had better units. I guess that it doesn't pay to make reservations months in advance.

Room Tip: Don't go sight unseen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amb17042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your recent visit to Rumbling Bald Resort. Each of our units are unique and different however they should each meet a standard of quality you expect. I wish we could have had the opportunity to offer you another room. We hope you return and thank you again for your stay with us.

Sincerely,
Richard Lundy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just returned from our first trip to Rumbling Bald and all I can say is wow.
I had won an overnight stay in a 2bdrm 2 bath Villa, Dinner Cruise, and 4 rounds of golf. I called and Deb in reservations was fantastic. She put us in a great villa overlooking Rumbling Bald course. It was clean and comfortable. We had dinner at Lakeview Restaurant instead of the boat because of not enough people had signed up, but no problem, the service in the restaurant made up for our little disappointment, and we sat on the terrace overlooking Lake Lure.
We managed to squeeze in 9 holes before dinner at a very reasonable rate.
Got up Saturday morning and played 18 at the Apple Valley course which was also beautiful. Lunch was at the 19th hole Luna Del Sol. The only disappointing thing I could say was I only spent 1 night.
We will be back!

Room Tip: Just tell Deb what you're looking for and she will help. There are families, weddings, full time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We appreciate your thoughtful review and are thankful you chose to visit us. Our staff strives to provide a level of customer service reflective of the southern hospitality you should expect. Your comments were shared with our staff and it made their day! Thank you and we look forward to your next visit to Rumbling Bald.

Sincerely,
Richard Lundy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have been vacationing at Rumbling Bald for several years and always enjoy it. The kids love the pool and beach area and the golf courses are always in great shape. Debi Earley in reservations has always been extremely helping in making sure our accommodations are exactly what we want.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Our reservations staff is committed to service and doing our best to see that each of our guests leaves having had a most memorable and special stay. We are grateful you chose to visit us year after year. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Richard Lundy
Lodging Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Had a wonderful experience at Rumbling Bald Resort. Beautiful area in the mountains. We were greeted by friendly, welcoming staff who took great care of us and answered all of our questions. Stayed at Apple Valley, which is a very short drive to the main area where all the activities are. Our room was very clean and comfortable. They had towels, sheets, soap, shampoo, blankets and pillows. We had no problems at all. The resort has many amenities and the food at the restaurants were very delicious. Lakeview Restaurant is a must. Again, friendly staff. Golf courses were very nice, although we did not play. We enjoyed the scenic lake cruise. I would recommend the resort to anyone. We are already planning our next trip to come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aruba512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your gracious comments. I am thankful for your stay and that you were able to experience many of the wonderful things about Rumbling Bald. Your comments were shared with our staff and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Richard Lundy
Director of Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
3.1 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
2.0 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
18.5 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#5 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Esmeralda Inn
The Esmeralda Inn
#1 of 3 in Chimney Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
2.4 mi away
Willowbrook Inn
Willowbrook Inn
#1 of 3 in Lake Lure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure

Property: Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
Address: 112 Mountains Boulevard, Lake Lure, NC 28746
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure is a picturesque mountain resort situated near Charlotte, Greenville, and Asheville. The resort is nestled at the base of majestic 2,800-foot Rumbling Bald Mountain on the north end of beautiful Lake Lure. One of the Southeast's most popular wedding destinations, Rumbling Bald Resort is great for all kinds of group functions, family gatherings, golf outings, or romantic getaways. With close to 150 vacation rentals that range in all sizes and price ranges. Each home, studio and condo on the Resort property are individually owned and each site therefore has a unique personality. Our rental sites are fully furnished, but will vary in the amenities each offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumbling Bald Resort On Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing