We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First condo we were given - apple valley villas no 56 - looked like was furnished with cast offs for a college student's room no”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Reviewed May 9, 2013

So far a bad start. Were told we had wifi; we didn't and needed it for work reasons. No phone in condo; had to go to street to use cell. Apparently some condos are run down but cost same as other units. Couldn't get us wifi because those units were not cleaned and the cleaning staff had gone home for the day. Given another condo that had average furnishings. Hope golf course is better experience!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHR6301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. It is our goal to provide you with lodging that exceeds your expectations. I followed up with our staff and am thankful we were able to offer you a villa which provided better Internet access. I hope you enjoyed golf and the rest of your stay. We wish to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,
Richard Lundy
Director of Lodging

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 332 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

We rented an efficiency condo in Apple Valley Villas for a family wedding weekend. The keys did not open the unit. Unit was re-keyed for new season but no one bothered to see if they worked. Unit smelled musty and moldy. Outside porch light was broken which was dangerous coming home in dark, on steps and in pouring rain. No blow dryer in unit, which was annoying as we had called resort several days ahead verifying this. Starter supply of soap, toilet paper, Kleenex, but we were given a half dollar size bar of soap for three nights. Resort after hours guest services didn't answer phone, so we drove back to registration to deal with problems. Complaints of broken porch light ignored. Would we have been ignored if someone had fallen coming home at night? I thought the lake area was beautiful and exercise room was well equipped. Had we not been attending a wedding, we would have checked out and found somewhere else.

Room Tip: No room service. You are given a set of towels for each person for length of stay. You need to ask i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

I am the new lodging director of Rumbling Bald and want to personally apologize for these experiences during your stay. The porch light has been fixed and we at work on the other maintenance issues. Thank you for bringing these to our attention. Generally, we provide a starter set of supplies and you may request additional supplies at no charge. We hope you visit again, confident that you will enjoy your stay.

Sincerely,
Richard Lundy
Director of Lodging

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've been up to Rumbling Bald for a guys weekend of golf the last two years. This place is awsome. The first year we stayed in a villa right on the Bald mountain course and the second year we had 7 guys and rented the Terrace House. Both had plenty of room, centrally located and walking distance to the pro shop and both restaurants. The pool table in the house was a plus. Legends Pub is also great for an after round drink on the back deck and dinner too. Golf courses are great. Bald Mountain is right on the main grounds and Apple Valley is only a mile away. Courses are not overly difficult and offer a very fair test of golf for all different types of golfer. My group varied from about a 20 to an 8 handicap and everyone loved both courses. Great scenery on both as well. Both times we were there in September and courses were in great shape even after the hot summers. Ask for Debi when you set up your trip. She was extremely knowledgeable about the resort and was very helpful with her recommendations on a place for our group to stay. She also set up all the tee times for us which was awesome. Definitely a great place to go you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Anything on the golf course is always nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 72ChrisA72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at Fox Run unit 28. The unit was very nice, despite finding a dead roach near the door. The welcome handbook actually mentions that there are wood roaches in the area, but that they would not survive long indoors even if they made it inside. This held true for our visit as we did not encounter another one during our week long stay. We went with our 2 kids and another family of 4. We stayed very comfortably and felt no lack of privacy. Unit 28 has 2 terraces offering a very nice view of Rumbling Bald Lake.

I don't golf, but the resort sits on a golf course so I'd imagine it would be a great place for golfers to visit. Even so, there were many activities on-site. Unfortunately, I felt the resort tried to nickel and dime us a bit. For example, towels at the pool were $1 a piece. The minigolf course cost $5 per person. This spring has been rather cold and it was still very chilly when we visited and it was still very early in their season. That kept us from taking advantage of such amenities as the outdoor pool, which featured a mini-lazy river that my kids were excited about or the small beach. Some of the restaurants were still closed. I'd recommend visiting a little later in the season when the weather is a bit warmer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yuan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I brought up a few good friends for a Spring Golf outting to the Rumbling Bald Resort. I would have to say that we were all more than pleased with our entire trip, service, lodging, and food. We stayed in 406 Condo and would highly reccomend it to anyone as it over looks the #1 green from the front at Rumbing Bald and the Bald Mountain Lake out the back. Very nice upstairs Condo for 4 individuals or even 4 couples. Food at Legends was great, especially the Prime Rib special Saturday night. Service from everyone was also great in every area from Checkin, Pro Shop, Starter, Waitress, and even to Checkout. We could not have been happier other the rainout on Sunday but we knew that was possible before coming. We ALL will make this an Annual trip if not Semi-Annual with possibly even more people.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grady D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Overall everything was in mint condition. The only thing I didn't like was the bottom of the shower curtains about six inches up had minor mold which the cleaning person should have caught and replaced. Other than that we had a great view of the #1 green and the back over looked the lake so it was an awesome trip. I will do this again and request the same room.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EngineerDye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Last September was the 27 Annual Bogey Retreat for 8 guys from Cinti., 6 of them have made all 8. All to this same resort. What more can I say, 2 great golf courses and great accomodations made via our friendly reservationist Debbie Early. Its a great place to start a tradition of your own. We can't wait to go back for the 28th Annual next September, booked the dates before we left last year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
3.1 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
2 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
142 reviews
3.5 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
16.5 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#3 of 6 in Flat Rock
335 reviews
22.8 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#13 of 66 in Asheville
6,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure

Address: 112 Mountain Blvd, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9852
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range: $142 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure is a picturesque mountain resort situated near Charlotte, Greenville, and Asheville. The resort is nestled at the base of majestic 2,800-foot Rumbling Bald Mountain on the north end of beautiful Lake Lure. One of the Southeast's most popular wedding destinations, Rumbling Bald Resort is great for all kinds of group functions, family gatherings, golf outings, or romantic getaways. With close to 150 vacation rentals that range in all sizes and price ranges. Each home, studio and condo on the Resort property are individually owned and each site therefore has a unique personality. Our rental sites are fully furnished, but will vary in the amenities each offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumbling Bald Resort On Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing