We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife, 2 adult sons, 1 daughter-in-law, and I stayed in the Brown House (named for the owners and not the color) for a week in July. The house was located at the edge of the lake with its own paddle-boat. The view was fantastic and the house was everything we wanted for a vacation retreat. The food and service at the on-site restaurant was excellent, especially "prime-rib night". We took the luncheon Lake Lure cruise offered and it was very entertaining to hear the history. We used the pool, spa, kayaks, and tennis courts on-site. We did horseback riding, zip-line, and visited the famous Lake Lure Inn, Grandfather Mountain, and Chimney Rock on various day trips. The Rumbling Bald Resort staff were very friendly and helpful and when we had a couple of minor maintenance issues they responded immediately. I highly recommend the Resort as a wonderful place to "get away from it all".

Room Tip: Get a lake front house for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 335 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband, 15 year old daughter, 74 year old mother and I stayed at a Stonecrest Villa, overlooking the golf course for 4 days. The villa was beautiful, clean and very well equipped, I have not a single complaint. We were not on the main resort which meant a short drive to the amenities and restaurants but there was a lovely pool in our area. We would return at a moments notice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My family and I stayed at this resort during memorial day in a quail cove property. But it needed a carpet cleaning BAD. Cream rugs that looked brown. My fiancé and I stayed in the basement room that you could only access by walking through the master bedroom. It was really musty smelling with dead bugs on the floor ( including a cockroach ). Grossed me out and I would go to sleep telling myself to pretend I was camping outside. I was paranoid that roaches would crawl into my luggage. We kept the windows open to air it out and the smell never went away after 3 days. I even sprayed everything with Lysol. I do like the resort amenities which include stand up kayaking. I think what you have to do is inspect your room before you commit to it or see if they will let you switch if at check in if you aren't happy.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed in a cabin at the resort for a wedding this past weekend! The weather was beautiful and our cabin was well maintained, fully equipped and very spacious. The resort also accommodated the wedding reception and did a wonderful job. Lots of activities at the pool and beach as well as restaurants on site. The resort takes some time to get to and involves lots of curvy roads but the drive is worth it. The scenery is beautiful!! Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XBG531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed in Apple Valley Villas with the kids and loved the activities to do at this resort! For around $100 a night you can get an efficiency rental with kitchen, back porch, very queit area and peaceful...and LOTS to do at the resort! It is beautiful here!

Room Tip: Look at all the pictures and pick a place that has been remodeled or updated recently. Some of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cloptoncrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Lake Lure, NC is a half way point for everyone in the family to meet, from DE, NJ, GA and FL. We stayed at the Fairway Villas. We initially took the very curvy road which I don't suggest taking since there's an alternate route that is less curvy and not that much further to the resort entrance. Both villas we rented had a/c problems when we arrived, but the resort staffs and maintenance personnel were so great and responded so quickly to fix the a/c that it didn't even inconvenient us. The villas we rented were a little bit too far from the pools and lake, but we were able to rent golf carts at a reasonable price that we were able to check out the entire resort and had a wonderful time. Kids were able to see deers and awesome views. Good exercise distance though for walking or running since part golf course and trail with different stages to exercise (pull-up bar, push-up bar, rowing machine, etc..). There was a grocery store near by to buy whatever you forget to bring. If you decide to stay in villa(s) make sure you check the amenities that are important to you. Because the villas have different owners, one of the villas we rented was outdated and no wi-fi. But because we just used it for sleeping and the other villa we rented next to it had wi-fi and updated. We didn't mind the outdated villa since it's next to each other and we needed one of the villas to be pet friendly. The main outdoor pool was big, but needed to be cleaned since there were lots of dry leaves on the bottom. The lazy river was small and you have to bring your own floatation unless you buy it there which kind of pricey. The indoor pool was not heated even though it says heated pool. But the jacuzzi, steam room and sauna were nice. Overall everyone had a wonderful time and the resort staffs we encountered were great!

Room Tip: Check the pictures and room descriptions. The pictures and descriptions of the villas we rented were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Navarre7246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at the River Runs Through house on Rumbling Bald from 23rd June 2012 to 1st July. My party consisted of 4 adults and 4 children (My kids are 2, 4, 6 and 12yrs old). We can honestly say that we thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of our stay at the resort. Our house was superb; light, airy, very clean, comfortable and fully stocked kitchen and lots of entertainment items for the children (and adults to enjoy).

We were even lucky enough to see the deer in our backyard at least once a day. We found all the staff to be extremely helpful and go out of their way to make our stay even more relaxing and enjoyable. Especially the ladies on the front desk; the staff in the Legends Restaurant who helped us tune the TV's to watch the Euro 2012 Soccer games, the maintenance man who doubles as the Fire Marshall on the Saturday evening Marsh mellow Roast, the friendly staff who greeted us at the Pool each day, the men who run the ice cream shop and hire out the boats, the guys at the security gate and the Lodging Director Steve Rickert who went out of his way to assist me with a wifi issue.

Rumbling Bald is located in a very scenic, beautiful part of North Carolina on the north shores of Lake Lure. Plenty of fun We spent most days on the beach and then an hour or two at the pool in the lazy river. Beach was not over crowded. Plenty of chairs / sun beds. Water was lovely and beach was extremely clean.

We had lot's of fun exploring the surrounding area of Lake Lure town, Chimney Rock and Asheville.

I highly recommend Rumbling Bald to any family looking to have a safe, fun vacation in a very friendly environment. My only disappointment was not been able to get a round of golf in, due to time constraints looking after my kids.... maybe next time.

Nick P
Charlotte, NC

Room Tip: The house 'River Runs Through' was amazing. check it out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickPili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
3.2 mi away
Chimney Rock Inn
Chimney Rock Inn
#4 of 4 in Chimney Rock
32 reviews
3.1 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
2 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#2 of 6 in Flat Rock
336 reviews
18.5 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
21.3 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure

Address: 112 Mountain Blvd, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9852
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range: $145 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure is a picturesque mountain resort situated near Charlotte, Greenville, and Asheville. The resort is nestled at the base of majestic 2,800-foot Rumbling Bald Mountain on the north end of beautiful Lake Lure. One of the Southeast's most popular wedding destinations, Rumbling Bald Resort is great for all kinds of group functions, family gatherings, golf outings, or romantic getaways. With close to 150 vacation rentals that range in all sizes and price ranges. Each home, studio and condo on the Resort property are individually owned and each site therefore has a unique personality. Our rental sites are fully furnished, but will vary in the amenities each offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumbling Bald Resort On Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing