We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price for a family vacation weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed in Apple Valley Villas with the kids and loved the activities to do at this resort! For around $100 a night you can get an efficiency rental with kitchen, back porch, very queit area and peaceful...and LOTS to do at the resort! It is beautiful here!

Room Tip: Look at all the pictures and pick a place that has been remodeled or updated recently. Some of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cloptoncrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 332 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012

Lake Lure, NC is a half way point for everyone in the family to meet, from DE, NJ, GA and FL. We stayed at the Fairway Villas. We initially took the very curvy road which I don't suggest taking since there's an alternate route that is less curvy and not that much further to the resort entrance. Both villas we rented had a/c problems when we arrived, but the resort staffs and maintenance personnel were so great and responded so quickly to fix the a/c that it didn't even inconvenient us. The villas we rented were a little bit too far from the pools and lake, but we were able to rent golf carts at a reasonable price that we were able to check out the entire resort and had a wonderful time. Kids were able to see deers and awesome views. Good exercise distance though for walking or running since part golf course and trail with different stages to exercise (pull-up bar, push-up bar, rowing machine, etc..). There was a grocery store near by to buy whatever you forget to bring. If you decide to stay in villa(s) make sure you check the amenities that are important to you. Because the villas have different owners, one of the villas we rented was outdated and no wi-fi. But because we just used it for sleeping and the other villa we rented next to it had wi-fi and updated. We didn't mind the outdated villa since it's next to each other and we needed one of the villas to be pet friendly. The main outdoor pool was big, but needed to be cleaned since there were lots of dry leaves on the bottom. The lazy river was small and you have to bring your own floatation unless you buy it there which kind of pricey. The indoor pool was not heated even though it says heated pool. But the jacuzzi, steam room and sauna were nice. Overall everyone had a wonderful time and the resort staffs we encountered were great!

Room Tip: Check the pictures and room descriptions. The pictures and descriptions of the villas we rented were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Navarre7246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at the River Runs Through house on Rumbling Bald from 23rd June 2012 to 1st July. My party consisted of 4 adults and 4 children (My kids are 2, 4, 6 and 12yrs old). We can honestly say that we thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of our stay at the resort. Our house was superb; light, airy, very clean, comfortable and fully stocked kitchen and lots of entertainment items for the children (and adults to enjoy).

We were even lucky enough to see the deer in our backyard at least once a day. We found all the staff to be extremely helpful and go out of their way to make our stay even more relaxing and enjoyable. Especially the ladies on the front desk; the staff in the Legends Restaurant who helped us tune the TV's to watch the Euro 2012 Soccer games, the maintenance man who doubles as the Fire Marshall on the Saturday evening Marsh mellow Roast, the friendly staff who greeted us at the Pool each day, the men who run the ice cream shop and hire out the boats, the guys at the security gate and the Lodging Director Steve Rickert who went out of his way to assist me with a wifi issue.

Rumbling Bald is located in a very scenic, beautiful part of North Carolina on the north shores of Lake Lure. Plenty of fun We spent most days on the beach and then an hour or two at the pool in the lazy river. Beach was not over crowded. Plenty of chairs / sun beds. Water was lovely and beach was extremely clean.

We had lot's of fun exploring the surrounding area of Lake Lure town, Chimney Rock and Asheville.

I highly recommend Rumbling Bald to any family looking to have a safe, fun vacation in a very friendly environment. My only disappointment was not been able to get a round of golf in, due to time constraints looking after my kids.... maybe next time.

Nick P
Charlotte, NC

Room Tip: The house 'River Runs Through' was amazing. check it out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickPili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Rumbling Bald Resort is 3000+ acres of rolling mountain wilderness in the foothills of the beautiful Blue Ridge along the shores of Lake Lure in western North Carolina. Amenities for families to enjoy include 3 pools (one indoor for year round use and one with a lazy river), 2 championship golf courses, tennis courts, putt-putt, private beach, boat rentals (kayaks, pedal boats, pontoons), a wonderful lake cruise, computers, 3 restaurants, a spa (best massage I have ever had) hiking, even a church. Wildlife abounds: wild turkey and pileated woodpeckers and deer are commonplace; bears sometimes make an appearance.

The staff is friendly and helpful and the whole place has a feeling of beauty and peace and enchantment, as if removed in space and time from the stress and noise and frenetic pace of modern life.

Accommodations are many and varied. You can rent a one BR Apple Valley villa, a multi BR condo (We liked Fox Run / Fox Den units, but found the Wyndham units to be dated and cramped), or a spacious, lovely, well appointed house. Views can be spectacular: mature hardwood forest, rock-faced mountains or one of two on site lakes. Take a look at the website (www.rumblingbald.com) to see what is available and to learn about special festivities planned throughout the year. Before renting, be sure to call and ask if your house or condo is "inside the gate". That location will give you better views and you will be closer to the amenities.

Nearby are excursions like Chimney Rock (great hiking and views), Biltmore House (the largest home in America built by Cornelius Vanderbilt), artsy and scenic Asheville, Carl Sandburg's home in Flat Rock, waterfall hikes in DuPont Forest, quaint shops in Hendersonville. But there is so much fun to be had at Rumbling Bald, you can spend your entire vacation inside the resort. We loved it so much that we bought a vacation home there (sorry, it is not for rent).

Rumbling Bald is a beautiful setting for a romantic get-away for two, a family vacation, a guys or girls golf outing, a large famly reunion, a wedding, or a business retreat. Our favorite restaurant (we've never had a bad meal there) is Lakeview which looks out over Lake Lure. The more casual Legends serves good burgers and pizza and fish n chips.

Our favorite activity: after a day of hiking, relax in a zero gravity chair on the deck, watch the sun sink behind the mountain and listen to absolutely NOTHING except the sound of cicadas or bullfrogs. Then watch the stars fill up the night sky.

Room Tip: Call to make sure your rental is "inside the gate" to ensure the best views and proximity...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DandDMcCarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed in 2 bedroom townhouse above fairway villas. The accommodations were surprisingly nice for the overall price. Nice master with whirlpool, washer/dryer, large deck, and well equipped kitchen (though I would bring my own Teflon pan on future visit). Kids enjoyed the private beach and kayaking, not many folks there- felt like it was our own. Horseback riding, Chimney Rock, Lake Lure beach, and grocery store within 15-20 minutes, overall proximity was great. Will be back again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leisuretravel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Ants, roaches and spiders, oh my.

Stayed at the Terrace House in Rumbling Bald Resort (on the 11th fairway) and it was horrific. We thought we had done lots of planning for this vacation (a family reunion) and thought this house would work out great. We've learned that the Rumbling Bald management deletes negative reviews from their website so that was why the house seemed like a great find, when in fact, it is not.

To start, the house phone didn't work. We reported this each day of our 7 day stay, each time management acted like it was new information. It never did get fixed. It wouldn't have been a big deal, except cell phone coverage within the resort is spotty at best.

The house had obviously not been properly cleaned before our checkin. We checked into the property around 4pm, by the time we gave our son a bath at 7pm our feet were black from walking around barefoot on the floors. Disgusting. That would be expected if we had been walking outside barefoot, but not in a supposedly clean kitchen. We reported this, were told a cleaning crew would be sent, nothing was ever done.

The lack of phone service made reporting the bug infestation we woke up to one day a challenge. We woke up on day two to hundreds of carpenter ants swarming the main floor and kitchen. HUNDREDS. It took the majority of the day for pest control to arrive, cleaning service never did arrive. We spent the majority of the day killing bugs and cleaning. Maybe we should send a bill for our service? Not a great way to spend a vacation. Bugs were swarming my baby's bottles and toys. Unacceptable. Thankfully we had family members staying in another, relatively clean house on the property so I had somewhere to take my baby while we dealt with this issue. Had that not been the case we'd have checked out immediately and demanded a full refund.

We found roaches in the pots and pans, centipeds, caterpillars, spiders around the house - completely separate from the ant infestation. It's quite obvious the owner of this property doesn't care about pest control and the management doesn't seem to require each homeowner to keep a basic level of property maintenance. That makes renting anywhere at Rumbling Bald a crap shoot.

The driveway of this particular house also had a horribly steep, dangerous driveway. This seems like a minor complaint compared to all the bugs, dirt and lack of service.

The resort and property should be ashamed of themselves for allowing people to pay hard earned money to stay here. We will not be returning, ever, even if it was totally free.

The golf course was nice, the pool fine for kids, lake was beautiful, and spa nice. Didn't make up for the horrible accomodations and total lack of service from management. Save your money, go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Pretty views but each property is privately owned so one location might be fine and another awful, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We rented a couple of golf course view villas for a family reunion and had a ball at this resort.
Villas were a touch dated but the views were breathtaking. Enjoy the amenities at this fine family retreat, everyone from the security personnel to the waitresses was friendly and treated us all great.
The golf is awesome, plenty of wild life abounds, had to hit over a couple of deer on the 3rd hole.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lloydm70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
3.1 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
2.0 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
141 reviews
3.5 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
16.5 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#2 of 6 in Flat Rock
333 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Esmeralda Inn
The Esmeralda Inn
#1 of 4 in Chimney Rock
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure

Address: 112 Mountain Blvd, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9852
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range: $144 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure is a picturesque mountain resort situated near Charlotte, Greenville, and Asheville. The resort is nestled at the base of majestic 2,800-foot Rumbling Bald Mountain on the north end of beautiful Lake Lure. One of the Southeast's most popular wedding destinations, Rumbling Bald Resort is great for all kinds of group functions, family gatherings, golf outings, or romantic getaways. With close to 150 vacation rentals that range in all sizes and price ranges. Each home, studio and condo on the Resort property are individually owned and each site therefore has a unique personality. Our rental sites are fully furnished, but will vary in the amenities each offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumbling Bald Resort On Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing