We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another awesome trip! Can't wait for 2012!"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another awesome trip! Can't wait for 2012!"”
Reviewed July 8, 2011

I organize a golf trip for 12-16 guys every spring. This was our 8th year at Rumbling Bald. We love the courses, the houses and most importantly, the service. We are treated so well and the staff is very accommodating to all of our trip requests. You should expect to pay big money for such atmosphere, amenities and service. However, you'll be happy to know everything is VERY reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Always check the number of beds and full baths! Having a large group of guys, we prefer our own bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmmeleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    97
    32
    30
    23
See reviews for
145
61
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Stayed in Fairway Villa 0205. Had a screened-in porch on the back that overlooked Bald Lake, and a deck on the front that had a nice view of Bald Mountain golf course. The screened-in porch with the beautiful view of the lake was the Best! The condo had 2 bedrooms, one upstairs and one downstairs, with 2 queen beds in each. Condo could use some updating, but it was fine The pool and the lake were both within walking distance of our condo, which was nice. We took a 1.5 hour pontoon boat tour of Lake Lure, which we enjoyed. Afterwards we had dinner at the Lakeview restaurant, in the resort. Met Ronnie, the restaurant manager, we enjoyed talking with him very much. Also, enjoyed lunch at Larkins on the Lake.. Made it to Chimney Rock State Park several times, did a lot of hiking there, it is a beautiful park, not far from the resort.
Enjoyed the pool several times but never made it to the Spa.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeenieFromTheBurgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

My family and I w stayed at this resort 2 years ago and we were so happy with our stay and our lake house we could not wait to come back. The resort has everything you would need...a great pool, spa, beach and boat rentals. There is no denying that the amenities are fantastic.
The house we stayed in, Lakeview Retreat, had much to be desired. After driving 8 hours from Florida we walked into a house that had not been cleaned. NONE of the beds had been made and the comforters and pillows were thrown on the floor. The house is all wood flooring on the main floor and upstairs with carpeting on the stairs...the carpet was FILTHY!!!! It was quite obvious that at some point in time it had been beige carpeting but was now practically black and stained. In the corners of the stairs where there was no carpeting there was caked on dirt and grime. The hard wood floors themselves were also dirty and you could tell had not been swept or mopped. One of the back doors coming from the deck inside had a broken handle. Upon showing it to the maintenance staff they stated that it should have already been fixed...it remained unfixed for our whole stay. We retured right to the check in area and notifyed the staff and they sent one person to take car of this 3 story home. We then had to leave and return a couple of hours later. By the time we got back it was 9pm. We also had to kids with us one being a 3 year old. Of course when we returned nothing had been cleaned so we went to office in the morning. Again people were sent, this time 4, and we pointed out things that were wrong...cobwebs everywhere, shower that would not drain in the master bedroom, dirty floors, leaking freezer, no toilet paper, 4 towles for 8 people, etc. Upon returning this time the floors were still disgusting and had not been vaccumed, swept or mopped, there were still cobwebs and the shower still did not drain. At this point we were tired of bringing things to the attention of the staff b/c obviously they were not going to be fixed. They did remove our $100 housekeeping fee but i would rather have paid that and had the job done right. I myself ended up vaccuuming the home and trying to mop with the dirty mop we had.
The people that own this home should be ashamed that thier home looks like this. I personally would be embarrassed for my carpets and floors to look like that.
As I stated before the resort had wonderful amentities, restaurants and great places to visit within resonable driving distance.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linny3376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staley, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Year after year our golf group returns to this resort and we are never disappointed. The courses are amazing, the condos are top shape, and the amenities are perfect. We have also vacationed here with other couples and just by ourselves and found the same to be true. Rumbling Bald is without a doubt one of our most favorite vacation locations. The restaurants are diverse in menu selections and ambiance. The only drawback, if I had to think of one, is that the resort is not near the "main" area of the city of Lake Lure. That being said, we never feel the need to leave the resort due to the level of amenities and activities.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csmoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

20 golfers from Canada made their annual late March Trek down south. We stayed in the Fairway Villas, right on the golf course, and really enjoyed our accommodations. Not one golfer had a complaint regarding the rooms, which is a first in over 10 years. The 4 separate beds was a big plus, as opposed to the usual RCI setup. We always pack a room box ( good frying pan oven mitts etc.....) but are rooms we fully equipped and the was no need for our extras.
Although we had nightly rain and the courses were soggy, we managed to get 5 rounds of golf in. The course layouts are challenging and a good test of golf. The golf staff was excellent and addressed our needs.
When booking rooms and golf, the rep's were the best that I have ever dealt with. They addressed our needs in a very prompt and professional manner. Overall, the staff at the resort were great to us and did a couple of things that were above and beyond anything we'd experienced before.
The Legends went out of their way for our closing party.
One thing you have to keep in mind. This resort is gorgeous but quite isolated but the peace and quiet outweighs the isolation. We didn't take advantage of most of the resort amenities, other than golf and the lounges.
Yes we will be going back!!!!!

Room Tip: Fairway villas offer golf and or Lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wdoyle56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2011

I want to take this opportunity to thank Celeste and her staff at Rumbling Bald Resort. This is our second straight year of going there for our golf tournament and like the first year EVERYONE THOROUGHLY enjoyed themselves. If you got a group of guys who love golf and like beautiful scenery at an affordable price, then please try Rumbling Bald. You will not be disappointed. Thanks again Celeste. See you next year!!!!!

Kevin D. Charlotte n.c.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kld3069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopatcong, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

My wife and I traveled to Lake Lure for a good friend's wedding recently, and the Rumbling Bald Resort was the chosen lodging for the wedding party and other principal or out-of-town guests. I'll have to say that it is a beautiful place. But that alone does not make for a great experience.

The first sign of trouble was when the attendant at the check-in desk gave us the wrong directions to our villa (Apple Valley). Also, the map she gave us was horribly not to scale and did not have road names or major non-resort landmarks (in other words, it was useless). After half an hour of going down the wrong roads, we ended up asking a maintenance worker how to get the Apple Valley villas (he got it right). These villas are generally nice, but are more than a mile from the main resort compound, where the pool, guest services, and restaurants are located. This is something to keep in mind if you have kids that will want to go to the pool.

When we got into our room, it was clean and tidy...but there was no toilet paper. I called the desk to report this, and they asked if I could come by and pick up the toilet paper. I told them no way in hell I was going to drive 1.5 miles to correct *their* mistake.

Also, each villa is owned by a different private party, so decorating and technological amenities vary greatly. For example, our room had an old CRT television and no WIFI or any other type of networking hookups, and looked like it was decorated by octogenarian golfers. Another couple that was there for the wedding had a very nicely (modern) decorated villa. So it's a crapshoot. Be sure to ask for a villa that has networking if this is important to you. Oh, and there is no 3G services anywhere in Lake Lure, and even basic cell service is spotty at best. The resort advertises that they have WIFI, but it's only guaranteed in the main guest services/check in building.

I realized late Friday night that my villa key worked great for the lock built into the doorknob, but that it would not open the deadbolt. My wife had gone to bed earlier in the evening (she is a very heavy sleeper) and locked the deadbolt, so I could not get into my room and had to stay with another of the wedding guests. This is just sloppy property management.

Friends who also stayed in the Apple Valley the same weekend reported that their rooms were not clean when the checked in, ranging from cigarette butts in the toilet, a cigar put out in a glass of scotch on the counter, to not having linens on the bed. But other friends reported no issues at all. So it seems to be an issue of gross inconsistency.

For the amount of money paid for the room, I expected much better service. Rumbling Bald was an all-around disappointment, with a few minor bright spots. I can say that the bacon, egg, and cheese biscuit I had for breakfast at the resort's tiny little "Legends" grill was excellent. Oh, and the pool was pretty nice. Otherwise, the place was dragged down by incompetence and mediocrity.

Avoid this place. There are other places to spend your money in Lake Lure.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fwhitesides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
3.1 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
3.5 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
112 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 66 in Asheville
1,197 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Esmeralda Inn
The Esmeralda Inn
#1 of 4 in Chimney Rock
586 reviews
22.8 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 66 in Asheville
6,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure

Property: Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
Address: 112 Mountain Blvd, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9852
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure is a picturesque mountain resort situated near Charlotte, Greenville, and Asheville. The resort is nestled at the base of majestic 2,800-foot Rumbling Bald Mountain on the north end of beautiful Lake Lure. One of the Southeast's most popular wedding destinations, Rumbling Bald Resort is great for all kinds of group functions, family gatherings, golf outings, or romantic getaways. With close to 150 vacation rentals that range in all sizes and price ranges. Each home, studio and condo on the Resort property are individually owned and each site therefore has a unique personality. Our rental sites are fully furnished, but will vary in the amenities each offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumbling Bald Resort On Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing