We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveler rating
105
52
18
6
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
105
52
18
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslakeside lodgerocking chairslake viewshuffle boardfamily vacationthe great smoky mountainspeace and quietlambuth innplan to returnking roomnice staymethodisttrailgeesevolleyballaccommodationsroses
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 190 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Have stayed there three times and family loves it. Stayed in apartments each time which are not at all fancy but clean and have kitchenette. If you want something a little more upscale then stay in one of the hotels. Beautiful lake, grounds, nice facilities, a man made waterfall where bridge is with picnic area and stream down below. To us is great place to stay and is convenient to so many attractions and cities in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Jonathan J, thank you for your review, and we are delighted that you and your family enjoy your visits to Lake Junaluska. We hoe that you will visit Lake Junaluska again soon.
Blessings,
Stephanie Drum, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Before planning a senior adult retreat for the older adults at my church, my husband and I went to Lake Junaluska to see the property. We were most impressed with everything we saw. The rooms in the hotel are being refurbished and we stayed in one of the finished rooms. The bed was very comfortable and the view of the lake out our window was breath taking. The sun setting on the lake is such a beautiful sight. Next time we will do a sunset cruise on the lake. The restaurant food was very tasty and the waitstaff were so friendly. You really felt like they were glad you were dining with them. We will be going back with our group in October. I am anxious to be in this beautiful location when the trees are spectacular. I am excited to share this with my group.

Room Tip: The rooms toward the far end from the check in counter facing the lake are bigger rooms with king beds. These rooms are worth the additional cost. You can open your shades in the evening and enjoy the setting sun.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelagent59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

travelagent59, thank you for your positive review. We are glad that you had a chance to experience the beauty of Lake Junaluska. We look forward to your return visit in October.
Blessings,
Stephanie Drum, Communications Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Lake Junaluska provided an excellent location for our annual family reunion. Our large family was able to rent out an entire building, the Lakeside Lodge, which included a large common meeting area for everyone to gather. While the place is quite dated it was clean which is the main thing and the beds were comfortable. Very nice swimming pool area. We rented a canoe and they also have paddle boats. There are also nice walking paths. We also reserved a large gazebo for a meal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

thinson, we are delighted that your family reunion enjoyed its stay at Lake Junaluska, and we hope that you can join us again soon. We are glad that Lake Junaluska provided a place where your family could gather together and enjoy the recreational opportunities such as the walking path and the paddle boats. We hope that you can join us again soon.
Blessings,
Stephanie Drum, Communications Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

My entire family and our friends loved this place! Lake Junaluska offers economically priced cabins, dorms, apartments, motel rooms, and camping facilities. During the summer it is a great place to stay while exploring the Great Smoky Mountains. The meals were simple southern dishes that were cooked in a healthy style. The room accomodations are very simple but clean (no telephones or televisions). We took day trips to the Biltmore Estates, Dolly Woods, and the Great Smoky Mountains Railroad and National Park. We shopped for handmade jewelry (from the nearby sapphire mine), arts and crafts while the men particpated in water sports (rafting, skiiing), golf, and snowboarding and skiing. Great slopes... There were plenty of activities for the kids as well.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank penntrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Penntrainer, we are delighted that your family and friends enjoyed your stay at Lake Junaluska! We are glad that you were able to take advantage of the many local and regional attractions of Western North Carolina during your time with us. Thank you for your review, and we hope you visit again with us soon!
Blessings,
Stephanie Drum, Communications Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I had the wonderful experience of visiting Lake Junaluska during the Applachian Christmas weekend activities. Lisa's review "Lake Junaluska: Jem of a Getaway" does a great job of explaining the experience. I echo her comments.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHPColumbia_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

DHPColubmia_SC, we are glad that like Lisa, you also had a wonderful experience during Appalachian Christmas weekend! We have a lot of great programs planned for 2012 including another Appalachian Christmas weekend. We hope that you can join us again soon! Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your positive experiences.
Blessings,
Stephanie Drum, Communications Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews