We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”

Jack Mackerel's Island Grill
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Kure Beach
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

This is a very friendly establishment, nice bar and a good vibe going on. We ate here four or five times and our feelings are mixed. Firstly the burgers are really great, excellent in fact. Also the snow crab pot was good value and very good, as good as anywhere in Kure beach. The issue is the shrimp and clam dishes where everything is fried heavily. I guess when we go to a seafood resteraunt we expect large shrimp in shells, lobster and oysters in shell also but here we didn't get this. Perhaps our expectations are top high but with the Shucking Shack in Carolina Beach able to do this, I think Jack Macks are missing an opportunity to do mainstream excellent seafood with shells on. Still it's a nice place and we went back many times so please don't take this as negative, just it could be more positive!

Helpful?
Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    220
    91
    38
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great Patio outside, food was good. Service was a little slow but they were packed. I wish the upper area had a bar, that would put this place into the excellent catergory

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Atravelinghokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great service and good food!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We took a ferry from Southport to Kure Beach, I found this place using trip advisor. We were seated immediately, and our server promptly greater us and took our drink orders. I had a passion fruit Margarita that was yummy. We had a crab dip appetizer, it was good but could have used some Old Bay to spice it up. The menu was large so we asked for suggestions, she recommended the Blackened Grouper and BBQ Shrimp. My husband ordered the fish he loved it, I had the BBQ Shrimp. The shrimp were big, wrapped in bacon, smothered in a tasty sauce and grilled to perfection! The server was attentive and very pleasant. We will return when in the area again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liss888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Decent food in a very nice rural town”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

A bit pricy for what I got (fried shrimp) but definitely better than Big Daddy's across the street. Sitting upstairs had a great view, but the service was slow (especially the drink refills). Salads were above average. If there is one good place to go in Kure Beach, this is it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoCharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun choice, a bit pricey”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We were traveling in a big group and were looking for a restaurant that could accommodate us all. Jack MacKerels has a large menu but most of the seafood items were pretty pricey. I got the mahi mahi, which was good. My husband really liked the broiled scallops as well. Everyone in our party was fairly pleased with the food quality, but the majority of the items were fried unless you wanted to pay more to have them broiled. Service was not bad, but also not fantastic. All in all, the experience was just so-so, which I remembered from the last time I visited.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 155KerryS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Mackerel's Island Grill also viewed

Kure Beach, North Carolina Coast
Kure Beach, North Carolina Coast
 
Kure Beach, North Carolina Coast
 
Carolina Beach, NC
Carolina Beach, NC
 

Been to Jack Mackerel's Island Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing