We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Friendly Service”

Jack Mackerel's Island Grill
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Kure Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Durham, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Food, Friendly Service”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We really enjoyed our food eating in their open-air upper level dining area which has a view of the ocean over the intervening roof tops. Friendly wait staff & the food was delicious with generous portions. Our party ate a Tsunami Tuna Salad, a Seafood Chowder, a Flounder Platter and a Scallop Platter. Will happily go back again for another meal. Followed our meal with a stroll on the Kure Beach pier which is the oldest pier on the Atlantic seaboard. Very enjoyable evening!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank waw4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    233
    93
    38
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We enjoyed Jack MacKerals Island Grill so much that we went two times out of three nights we were in town. The service was outstanding, food selection great and pricing was very reasonable.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good seafood”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Good food,quick service, a little crowded but it was a Friday night. Nice to walk on the pier after dining.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank moesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch and was pleased with the selections and service. The margaritas was cheap, big and tasty. My Cubana sandwich was clearly made with the very tasty carolina pork. All selections were the right size and delicious.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ltaylor767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, FL
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We arrived at approximately 6:00 pm with a party of 5 and we were seated immediately. We were acknowledged by our server & she advised she would be with us momentarily. Our server, Kimmie, was pleasant and most efficient. She routinely refilled our beverages without asking. We felt extremely fortunate to be made aware of their 40% off entrees special for this evening. Three of the five had broiled seafood platters (flounder, scallops & shrimp) (broiling was assessed a small additional charge) which came with fries & cole slaw. Did not really want fries but as it turned out they were very tasty. The others had chicken parm & pasta primavera. The dinner rolls were warm and accompanied by honey butter. Everyone was very pleased with their meal & the service we received.

Service by Kimmie was exceptional and we truly enjoyed our dinners. To have a 40% discount on our entrees was a nice surprise.

What a great find in Kure Beach would definitely visit again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glendawpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Mackerel's Island Grill also viewed

Kure Beach, North Carolina Coast
Kure Beach, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Jack Mackerel's Island Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing