We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This restaurant has a great atmosphere”

Jack Mackerel's Island Grill
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Kure Beach
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Kure Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
164 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“This restaurant has a great atmosphere”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The food is mostly good, however the entrees are pricey. The sandwiches are the best deal. They have a delicious hamburger and many of their other sandwiches are good too. The salads are big but expensive. The best part of the restaurant is its atmosphere. The beachy decorations and comfortable bar area make this a nice place to get a bit to eat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank livinonanisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    220
    91
    38
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Arnold
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Had shrimp dinner. A lot food for the money. Every nice and clean. Would go there again. the people where very friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Eat there all the time”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I'm picky but I do enjoy this cute island restaurant. The staff is always eager to please. We usually sit in the bar area. The fried flounder is very generous and is good. I enjoy the chowder and the burgers are great. They do a barbecue chicken sandwich that my son enjoys, I've never had it. Several times I've had the peel and eat shrimp-its just okay. We have a vacation home down the street and this place is open in the off season-thus a reason we frequent it. The lemon aid drink they serve, has alcohol, I forget the name, is lovely. Hope this helps! As of this writing they are closed for renovations. I'll be back when they re-open.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane Whitehill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolinas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I had really hoped for more.”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

First I have to say the decor and atmosphere of the restaurant is great!! Upon going in, being seated, and looking around, I could picture many satisfied returns if only the food could come close to the atmosphere. Unfortunately, it didn't happen. We were recommended the 'specials' where we were assured they were freshly prepared by their chefs. All I can say is, I believe they could have done much better, and it's nice when 'specials' don't taste like 'specials'. With that being said, this place seems like a great place to stop in and have a beer or mixed drink.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigCarolinaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great chicken tortilla (I think) soup of the day.”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We had a nice lunch here. The burger was and the homemade chips were both good. The soup of the day, however, something like chicken tortilla, was outstanding.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chaunceylawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Mackerel's Island Grill also viewed

Kure Beach, North Carolina Coast
Kure Beach, North Carolina Coast
 
Kure Beach, North Carolina Coast
 
Carolina Beach, NC
Carolina Beach, NC
 

Been to Jack Mackerel's Island Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing