We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE it :)”
Review of Sand Dunes Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kure Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sand Dunes Motel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kure Beach
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LOVE it :)”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

You guys are ridiculous. It is clearly the Sand Dunes MOTEL, located in laid back Kure Beach. If you want to complain about how it does not accomodate you like a five star hotel would, then why don't you stay in a five star hotel? That would make more sense than bash this awesome place. I have been staying at the Sand Dunes for a long time and I wouldn't want to go anywhere else because the staff is the greatest and it is perfect for the laid back environment. I absolutely love it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    28
    8
    11
    11
See reviews for
54
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We have been coming to this hotel for 18 years with only missing a couple years. We are looking forward to next year. If you want a dump, stay at the hotel down by the pier, had to stay there last year as the Sand Dunes was booked, will never go back there, will plan my stays with the Sand Dunes ahead of time. Tom and his family have always treated us like family. Yes, the bathrooms are small, but you're on vacation deal with it. The Sand Dunes is a castle compared to others. Love Tom and the who crew.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Pre-paid for this place in order to attend the Seafood & Blues festival in Kure Beach, When we checked in, the room stank of cigarette smoke. There was no detectable WiFi signal in any part of the room, though "Free WiFi" was on the sing out in front, and on the web site. We asked to be moved. After paying an "upgrade fee" we were moved to a room in the adjacent Admiral's Quarters, which was guaranteed smoke free and to have WiFi. The new room was in no better shape - 3 of the 5 lighting fixtures in the room didn't work. There were 2 TVs, but only one cable connection. The other was useless. In one corner of the back room, I found a spot where there was a WiFi signal, but there was no signal anywhere else. They fooled me once, but I won't be back.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkOnBoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kure Beach hotels

Denton, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Ocean front and nice staff are the only nice things about this motel. Huge bugs on balcony and grounds, although I didnt see them in the room, it still felt dirty. Paid for two nights but only stayed one. Will not go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fiveforone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Over priced for what you get. Needed many repairs. Very small bathroom. Toilet leaking and not working properly. Ocean view obscured by parked cars, bugs. However, friendly staff, great location. Will not go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCGIRL1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mount airy, nc
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We've been staying at sand dunes for 12 years and we love it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travel_mama37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltillo, Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the sand dunes for my birthday and our anniversary this past July. My husband has kidney stones so we took two bottles of pain medicine. On our 35th anniversary somebody took all my husband's pain medicine from our room while we were gone, just the meds not the bottles. We talked to everybody and nothing was ever done. We still haven't heard from the manager/owner. My husband has called several times with no results.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kure Beach
2.2 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
419 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
3.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
0.4 mi away
Moran Motel
Moran Motel
#4 of 6 in Kure Beach
44 reviews
2.8 mi away
Drydock Motel
Drydock Motel
#11 of 19 in Carolina Beach
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Dunes Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Dunes Motel

Property: Sand Dunes Motel
Address: Route 421, PO Box 132, Kure Beach, NC 28449
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Kure Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kure Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Sand Dunes Hotel Kure Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing